Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

It was 2009 and I finally decided to get my GED. It’s important to know that I dropped out of middle school and I didn’t learn anything while I was there. The only math problem I learned was two groups of black people plus two opposite neighborhoods equals violence and no education. So when I practiced for my GED I knew nothing but basic elementary stuff. Still I taught myself to multiple and with the help of my mom and brother I learned division. That’s all I knew when I got to GPLC.

Ms. Anita was my teacher and she taught me everything I know about math. We started out with decimals then worked our way up to Geometry. The math was tough and confusing, but what was more confusing than the math was trying to figure out how Ms. Anita made learning it so easy. Not only would she explain it the whole class on the board, she would also sit with her students one on one and make sure we all understood the work before she moved on. Ms. Anita is a great teacher, but even a greater person, and the time I spend in her class is something that I’ll never forget.

After Ms. Anita’s class I would go to Rachel’s class for reading and writing. There was two things I liked about Rachel’s class. One it was fun, and two there was no math. Rachel would sometimes start class off by letting us write essays, afterwards she would go over the essay and correct it for you and show you what you did wrong. When we did reading we would take turns reading out loud, then go over the answers together. Rachel did what a lot of teachers struggle to do or just chose not to do. She made learning fun and she made me look forward to going to school each day. I was told that my score of 710 in the reading section of the GED test was one of the highest scores in the country and almost a perfect score. That wouldn’t have been possible without Rachel.

GPLC isn’t just two teachers. The way I feel about my two teachers is the way other GPLC students feel about their one, two, or three teachers or tutor. GPLC is filled with great wonderful, amazing people from the teachers in class to Ms. Gail at the front desk. My advice to people thinking about going to GPLC is to trust and believe in these people because the second you walk through that door, they believe in you. Thank you GPLC!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I'm excited about GPLC and how they are doing great things in the community. Their organization has helped several people such as myself. Their staff were very helpful, respectful, and caring. I hope only the best for Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council. You really are an amazing non profit organization.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I attend classes at GPLC and I love it! They are really helping me to achieve my goal in obtaining my GED. I hope to have it before the end of this year. I want to attend the graduation celebration that I hear about so often. Sadly, I was not able to attend their 10th graduation event last Friday, at Macy's due to another commitment. But I'm excited to hear they celebrate their students. You are number one GPLC in serving adults!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they need more money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I was fortunate to be able to take the 2013 GED tests and pass it at GPLC! I will attend the graduation on September 5. I'll dawn my cap and gown proudly. I'm happy I did it! Now I am in nursing school. WOW!

There is now the 2014 version which I heard is so different and much harder.
Thank you GPLC staff, you are a GREAT organization!
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council's downtown center continues to do great things in helping people like me enhance on their skills that were dormant for so long. I started the program recently and I'm enjoying learning. I was referred by a friend and she said I would not be dissappointed and I'm not. They have an excellent team. To you the staff at GPLC, I say thank you.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I think GPLC is a very helpful program I have been here for 3 months and caught up on a lot of things I forgot when I was in high school. Your can really achieve your goals by coming here and going threw the process of this program.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I called GPLC this year.. I want a better future for myself.. I have 2 kids and I want them to know no matter how old or hard things are you can always make a better life and future for yourself.. I like my teacher she helps me out a lot and she makes understand things a lot better.. so I think is a best place for people to go to better themselves im glad I came here..
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

I called GPLC in 2009 to inquire about GED classes. At first I was nervous and I didn't know what to expect. Because I didn't think I would be able to learn after having brain surgery. While talking on the phone to a staff person and explaining my situation I still was nervous. The staff person eased my concerns by encouraging me to give it a try. I did! While attending the orientation I was still so nervous. The staff that administrated the test was very nice and undertanding. He made me feel comfortable and unashame. He told me to do my best. When I started classes they helped me a lot. Being in class I was encouraged by my classmates and teacher. I was learning! As I was learnin, I became so excited about working even harder to achieve my goal. The goal of getting my GED. I'm continuing my studies at GPLC and looking forward to passing the GED test and participating in their GED graduation one day. Thank you to all the GPLC staff!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think their doing a great job of helping people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at GPLC. It was a life changing experience. I am so happy for all the help I received from the staff. Thank you all for being so kind. I continue to work on bettering myself so that I can pass it on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

I enjoy my tutoring sessions at the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council. I've been attending there six years now. I love it! When I first started I was in a class at the downtown center. After receiving a job at one of the UPMC Hospitals, I continued my studies with a tutor. I'm learning alot and working really hard to reach my GED goal. GPLC has helped me in so many areas. I'm just thankful for the free classes they have. Thank you GPLC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing because it is in line with their mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers