Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
March 19, 2013

more

March 19, 2013

GPLC provides a valuable service to people who wish to develop their English language skills, and I would recommend the organization to anyone interested in this kind of volunteer work.

My own experience has been in the area of English as a Second Language (ESL). As a GPLC volunteer since
2008, I’ve worked for varying lengths of time with eleven advanced ESL students, eight from Eastern Asia and three from Eastern Europe, sometimes one-on-one and sometimes in small groups. My students have been, without exception, interesting, personable, conscientious, and appreciative. Meeting with them has been intellectually stimulating as well as a lot of fun for me.

In return for a minimal amount of monthly reporting, GPLC provides lots of support—training, resources, area coordinators, student information and needs assessments, a “mentor” service involving more experienced tutors, and a wide variety of networking and ongoing development activities, both locally and on a wider scale. On a day-to-day basis, the tutor has a lot of freedom to structure lessons as appropriate, based on the needs, proficiency level and learning style of the students. My lesson preparation time has varied in relation to the relative formality of the approach best suited to my students’ goals.

ESL tutoring involves some time and work, but I’ve found that any investments I’ve made have been amply rewarded in many ways. If you’re attracted to the idea of helping people from other countries learn more about our language and culture, and if you’d like to broaden your own horizons by getting involved with some very interesting people from other parts of the world, then GPLC may be the ideal volunteering opportunity for you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013

more

March 4, 2013

Working for GPLC as a volunteer ESL tutor has been a great experience for me. Over the past seven years I’ve tutored many different students. They have all been enthusiastic learners who have inspired me in countless ways. While leading busy lives, the students are still able to find time to study English and they are always eager and willing to work hard. Often our meetings are the only occasion the students have for practicing their English in a non threatening setting and they are grateful and appreciative for this opportunity. I cherish the connections and relationships that I have made through tutoring. The professional staff of GPLC is very helpful about assisting tutors with resource material and other support. My local coordinator is wonderful and offers encouragement when needed. Attending monthly “Tutor Talks” is informative and a good way to meet other tutors and brainstorm new ideas. If you are looking for a meaningful way to make a contribution to your community, please consider contacting GPLC. You do not have to be an education expert but merely have the desire to make someone’s life a little easier. Volunteering with GPLC is enjoyable, extremely rewarding and just a whole lot of fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013

more

February 11, 2013

I've been a tutor with GPLC for 3 years. I wanted to give back and have a true life-changing impact for someone. The organization has helped me achieve that and more. The folks at GPLC are an amazing group of highly-committed individuals who are truly invested in the improving education in region.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

After 30 years as an English teacher, I chose to volunteer with GPLC in retirement. Four years ago. I took their ESL training. It has been wonderfully fulfilling work. Several students have commented that, in addition to gaining language skills, they are pleased to actually know an American. Many have few real relationships with Americans because their English isn't really good enough to engage in conversations beyond the superficial. Students in this program have told me they feel encouraged by their tutors and thus find the courage to engage more fully in American life. GPLC support is excellent and volunteering with them is entirely worthwhile!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

I have been a volunteer ESL tutor for the GPLC for six years. I volunteered because I want to give back and help immigrants learn English which they really need living here. The GPLC takes in and tests potential students and prepares a professional analysis of their English needs and goals with recommendations for class plans and suggestions that might work well with the students. They also provide texts to use and are available for suggestions to solve problems, etc. the staff that I have dealt with is very professional and dedicated to help the students. They are amiable, intelligent and go out of their way to help us tutors do the best that we can for our students. Tom Harter

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 30, 2012

Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council is a great organization, providing satisfaction and fulfillment for both its volunteers and its students. I've been an ESL tutor with them for almost three years an... more

February 8, 2013

I've been an ESL tutor with GPLC for 3 years now and it's the most rewarding and important thing I do. Besides the wonderful feeling I get from helping people who want to learn English, I also enjoy the fact that I'm helping to create a good impression of America and Americans. I currently tutor 8 students, and our twice-weekly classes are something I look forward to. No matter what kind of a mood I'm in when I leave for class, I'm always in a great mood when I get there.
GPLC is a great organization, the best I've ever volunteered with. The training and support they provide makes it easy to make a difference in someone's life. Get involved--it won't take long for you to wonder why you waited so long!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2012

Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council is a great organization, providing satisfaction and fulfillment for both its volunteers and its students. I've been an ESL tutor with them for almost three years and have been impressed with the training and support their dedicated staff offers on a continuing basis. The organization is truly making a difference not only in individual lives but in the world. Having worked with other volunteer organizations in the past, I feel GPLC is THE BEST!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

I have volunteered with GPLC for 4 years. Initially I worked with a young woman who was trying to pass her GED. Next I was assigned to work with a man who has learning disabilities as well as suffering from a brain injury due to a car accident. We have been together for 3 years, and it has been a most rewarding albeit frustrating experience. He is difficult and demanding, but we have developed a very strong relationship. GLPC and their district supervisors have been most supportive and have provided us with ample materials. If you are someone who enjoys a hands-on experience, I highly recommend volunteering with GPLC. Cary Reed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Volunteering as an ESL tutor is the most rewarding volunteer work I've ever loved. I plan to continue to volunteer with GPLC because they give me the freedom to do what I love in a way that is comfortable for me and the population we serve. THe student and I0 choose the time and place most convenient for us to meet. I create the lessons and the connection with the student. As a volunteer I have the freedom to work with my tutee in what ever capacity he or she needs, whether it be practicing making phone calls or how to interview for a job. The Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council has offers so much support to tutors. There are opportunities for development, exchange of cultural ideas, and interchange of teaching methods. The best part about working with this organization is that the volunteers, over the course of several months, are able to see sustainable change in their students and know how they have contributed to the mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

I must say, it brings me great joy to volunteer as a telephone conversation partner for Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council. Gplc is a wonderful non-profit organization that goes the extra mile to strengthen literacy skills for it's students. Also, the organization gives great tools for it's staff and volunteers. It is my goal to continue to have a "can-do" attitude and to go the extra mile for the students of Gplc. Tamyka Ramsey

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2011

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2010

I've been volunteering with GPLC for about four years, and matched with three native English-speaking adults, longest and most recently with a man in his 40s who has dyslexia and never learned to read... more

September 30, 2011

I've volunteered for GPLC for about six years, steadily for the past 3 1/2, most recently tutoring a local man who started out reading at a first-grade level. He has slowly progressed, and aside from providing space for us to meet GPLC has been consistently helpful and responsive to requests for materials and other assistance, and proactive in offering additional help and promoting staff development.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the assistance it has rendered in materials, advice, curriculum-building and other support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can't think of anything I'd change

November 20, 2010

I've been volunteering with GPLC for about four years, and matched with three native English-speaking adults, longest and most recently with a man in his 40s who has dyslexia and never learned to read. Over the past two and a half years we've met twice weekly and he's made slow but steady progress. GPLC provides the space for us to meet and has been helpful and responsive with requests for tutoring materials and other assistance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing my students become more confident and capable in life as well as being better readers

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can't think of anything i'd change

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers