Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

The Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council is a great organization to be a part of. The staff goes far out of their way to see that students succeed and grow during their time here. I have seen GPLC change many lives and know they will only continue to change lives of adults around Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

My friend attended the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council in 2012 and 2013. In 2013 she reached her goal to enhance in her math skills after being out of school for many years. She always had so many positive things to say about the program, and staff. I'm happy that she was able to find a program that helped her. And she didn't pay anything. So kudos to a wonderful organization that helped my friend. Keep up the wonderful work GPLC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See that they would not have to worry about funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I had a wonderful experience as a student of GPLC.
Last fall I was panicking about whether I could pass the GED on my own, and feeling a little lost about the whole process since they were changing the format of the GED in 2014. I searched online for local help and found GPLC. I went downtown
a couple time for orientation (going over the rules) and a placement test (just to gauge where I was at in Math and English skills) before I was placed in a class I attended twice a week for the next few months. Easy!
I was the victim of an illegitimate homeschooling "education" and I really did not have the math background I needed to pass the GED; on top of that, I'd never taken a standardized test in my life, so I needed guidance. I like math though! I love how there's a journey and a system and a clear answer. The teacher was great about giving clear instructions and examples so that difficult math problems became easy math problems. Every single class, I learned something new.
I was able to take the GED and pass all 4 tests! The GPLC paid the cost ($30 per test) through their scholarship program, which is very generous. (I actually donated that amount back to them during Pittsburgh's annual Day of Giving, but that's a secret.)
Navigating adult education on your own is daunting. I was really relieved to find GPLC and get some guidance through the process.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add later evening class hours. If you have a 9-5 job, getting to the evening class that starts at 5pm doesn't really work. Even just moving it to 6pm would be great.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I want to thank the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council because they are giving me a well needed education and are very patient with me. They are helping me fulfill my dreams of getting my GED so I can go onto some sort of other schooling. My goal is to become a Veterinarian Technician.

For all you do for me and others, I say thank you GPLC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

My story is that I attended an ABE orientation session in 2013 at the Homewood Library. After completing the test, I was informed that my scores where too low too go ahead and take the GED test. It was suggested that I attend FREE classes at GPLC. I did! I started Jan. 2013 and I continued all year twice a week for the year. I was placed in a classroom in the downtown center. My instructor was Ms. Rachel. She worked with me. She didn't allow me to give up. She pushed me and I pushed myself. Finally, on December 6, 2013, I took the GED test and passed! I will be attending the graduation ceremony on Friday, September 5, 2014 at Macy's on the 11th floor in the auditorium.

In conclusion I want to say that through all of this, I was homeless, but determined to reach my goal. I thank God for the staff at GPLC and the free literacy services they offer. They make it possible for others to reach their goals, just like me. Thank you GPLC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like for the government to provide more funding so that they can serve all those that are in need of working to improve their lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

In 2013 I became a student at GPLC. I entered the GED preparation program so that I could soon take the GED tests. I struggled in math and writing mostly. The journey was long and hard. But I was able to overcome because of the teacher's that were able to make me understand what I was learning. Their ability to break the lessons down were so helpful too me. I want to especially thank Kate who was one of the volunteers at GPLC that assisted in the class with learning word problems. She was amazing! She helped me learn how to figure out the problems. Luke was my main instructor. He played a big part also. I additionally worked with a gentleman from Urban League where I first started working on my GED. He encouraged me to attend GPLC. What a life changing experience! Thank you Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council for giving me another chance to reach my goal. Thanks to GPLC, I am now attending CCAC majoring in Software Development and Socialwork.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Before coming to GPLC I had no ability to speak English at all. Now that I can communicate much better with people, I feel more confident. Now that I'm attending the ged class so that I can take the ged tests and attend CCAC for the nursing program. Thank you GPLC for helping me to turn my dreams into reality.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Hi! I am a 43 year old student, that is very thankful for the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Program. If it wasn't for them I wouldn't be able to get my diploma. They are wonderful, very encouraging happy people who enjoys helping others. There are hundreds of thousands of people out there that need diplomas and need adult education brush up, and this is the place that can help. I thank the lord for my teacher because he is calm,helpful, and he encourages you. Thank you GPLC and God Bless you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I'm a student of GPLC and I'm so glad that they gave me the chance to complete my school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I' m a student of G P L C. I am so thankful for all the teacher's at Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council for the help . They have helped me in many ways.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers