Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.870975
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I want to thank the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council because they are giving me a well needed education and are very patient with me. They are helping me fulfill my dreams of getting my GED so I can go onto some sort of other schooling. My goal is to become a Veterinarian Technician.

For all you do for me and others, I say thank you GPLC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

My story is that I attended an ABE orientation session in 2013 at the Homewood Library. After completing the test, I was informed that my scores where too low too go ahead and take the GED test. It was suggested that I attend FREE classes at GPLC. I did! I started Jan. 2013 and I continued all year twice a week for the year. I was placed in a classroom in the downtown center. My instructor was Ms. Rachel. She worked with me. She didn't allow me to give up. She pushed me and I pushed myself. Finally, on December 6, 2013, I took the GED test and passed! I will be attending the graduation ceremony on Friday, September 5, 2014 at Macy's on the 11th floor in the auditorium.

In conclusion I want to say that through all of this, I was homeless, but determined to reach my goal. I thank God for the staff at GPLC and the free literacy services they offer. They make it possible for others to reach their goals, just like me. Thank you GPLC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like for the government to provide more funding so that they can serve all those that are in need of working to improve their lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

In 2013 I became a student at GPLC. I entered the GED preparation program so that I could soon take the GED tests. I struggled in math and writing mostly. The journey was long and hard. But I was able to overcome because of the teacher's that were able to make me understand what I was learning. Their ability to break the lessons down were so helpful too me. I want to especially thank Kate who was one of the volunteers at GPLC that assisted in the class with learning word problems. She was amazing! She helped me learn how to figure out the problems. Luke was my main instructor. He played a big part also. I additionally worked with a gentleman from Urban League where I first started working on my GED. He encouraged me to attend GPLC. What a life changing experience! Thank you Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council for giving me another chance to reach my goal. Thanks to GPLC, I am now attending CCAC majoring in Software Development and Socialwork.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Before coming to GPLC I had no ability to speak English at all. Now that I can communicate much better with people, I feel more confident. Now that I'm attending the ged class so that I can take the ged tests and attend CCAC for the nursing program. Thank you GPLC for helping me to turn my dreams into reality.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

Hi! I am a 43 year old student, that is very thankful for the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Program. If it wasn't for them I wouldn't be able to get my diploma. They are wonderful, very encouraging happy people who enjoys helping others. There are hundreds of thousands of people out there that need diplomas and need adult education brush up, and this is the place that can help. I thank the lord for my teacher because he is calm,helpful, and he encourages you. Thank you GPLC and God Bless you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I'm a student of GPLC and I'm so glad that they gave me the chance to complete my school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I' m a student of G P L C. I am so thankful for all the teacher's at Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council for the help . They have helped me in many ways.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

GPLC is a place where I learned English as a second language. The Teacher's are very good and kind. The student's are helpful too. At GPLC I studied there for my citizenship. I became a citizen on March 21, 2014! I plan to attend GED classes at GPLC soon, so that I can take the GED tests. My goal is to get my GED diploma. I would like to participate in GPLC's GED graduation one day.

Thank you GPLC for everything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

This program really helped me with my work. The actually take the time to help heir students understand the work before they have to take to the test. My goal was to finish the program with in seven months and I did. I really got a better understand on the work. I was't rushed either when I didn't understand something I told my teacher and she took the time to help me. I'm really thankful that I got a chance to come to this program. Thank for allowing people to come, grow and be able to continue going to school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything since I like the way that it is now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council helped me to change my lilfe by allowing me to participate in their free literacy program. I walked through the doors of GPLC in 2012 for GED prep classes. I attended the classes 4 times a week. The learning atmosphere was exceptional. The teachers are amazing in teaching each lesson. All because of GPLC, I was able to accomplish my GED goal. I recommend their agency to those that are interested in pursuing their education. Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council you are doing great things!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers