Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

I called GPLC in 2009 to inquire about GED classes. At first I was nervous and I didn't know what to expect. Because I didn't think I would be able to learn after having brain surgery. While talking on the phone to a staff person and explaining my situation I still was nervous. The staff person eased my concerns by encouraging me to give it a try. I did! While attending the orientation I was still so nervous. The staff that administrated the test was very nice and undertanding. He made me feel comfortable and unashame. He told me to do my best. When I started classes they helped me a lot. Being in class I was encouraged by my classmates and teacher. I was learning! As I was learnin, I became so excited about working even harder to achieve my goal. The goal of getting my GED. I'm continuing my studies at GPLC and looking forward to passing the GED test and participating in their GED graduation one day. Thank you to all the GPLC staff!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think their doing a great job of helping people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I have been a member of the Advisory Board for many years and have the utmost faith in the leadership and work of GPLC. They know what needs to be done, and they DO it.

Being able to read is one of God's greatest gifts to man. Whether born in an English-speaking country or learning English
as a foreigner, the ability to read will enriches every aspect of life.

Any person who is lucky enough to be taken under the wing of GPLC is lucky indeed and will be forever grateful.

Patricia Prattis Jennings

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at GPLC. It was a life changing experience. I am so happy for all the help I received from the staff. Thank you all for being so kind. I continue to work on bettering myself so that I can pass it on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

I enjoy my tutoring sessions at the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council. I've been attending there six years now. I love it! When I first started I was in a class at the downtown center. After receiving a job at one of the UPMC Hospitals, I continued my studies with a tutor. I'm learning alot and working really hard to reach my GED goal. GPLC has helped me in so many areas. I'm just thankful for the free classes they have. Thank you GPLC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing because it is in line with their mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014


It's with much appreciation that I say "thank you GPLC". This program is really about serving and helping to make a change in the lives of those that walk through those doors looking to find help. I needed help in my math so that I could take the math part of the GED test. I was lacking in
understanding of doing word problems. They confused me. I was afraid of them. I would read the problem over and over all to no avail in how to attack the problem. Once I started class, I was reluctant about answering questions because of the fear of having the wrong answer. I continued to attend class, complete my homework assignments and work hard to master the problems. My teachers were incredible. They believed in me. I'm so happy I continued to go to class. What a difference it made. After being in the program for a couple of years even leaving and returning later, I obtained my goal in passing the math part of the GED test. I'm a product of GPLC. To all the staff thank you for your help. Now, I'm attending CCAC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Although it's my third month with GPLC, I love to have a class with my tutor. Other than the English class, it is also a good chance to learn about the place I live. I thank so much to all the members of GPLC who gave me an opportunity to learn.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have been going to GPLC for about three years for their English lessons. This way I can speak with native speakers to better understand the culture and idiomatic expressions. My ultimate goal is to keep my job as a customer service rep at work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

GPLC has great programs and tutors who help me improve my English and give me lots of good experiences!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I came to GPLC in 2012 to learn English. I attended class regular. I was learning the English language and also making friends. My teachers were helpful and willing to help me overcome the barriers that I was facing. After ESL classes, I transitioned into ABE classes to prepare for my GED. I am now taking GED classes. I hope to one day achieve my goal in getting my GED.

I am really grateful for GPLC. Thank you GPLC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I attended GPLC in 2013. It is a great program and the teachers and volunteers are very helpful. I recieced my GED within a few months from hard work and the understanding from the volunteers. I am very satisfied and greatful for all the help and classes they provided me with. I highly recommend GPLC. They have outstanding staff, great classes, and if you don't understand they are always willing to help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More students to attend and participate in this awesome program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers