Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
1234.872345
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I'm excited about GPLC and how they are doing great things in the community. Their organization has helped several people such as myself. Their staff were very helpful, respectful, and caring. I hope only the best for Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council. You really are an amazing non profit organization.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I attend classes at GPLC and I love it! They are really helping me to achieve my goal in obtaining my GED. I hope to have it before the end of this year. I want to attend the graduation celebration that I hear about so often. Sadly, I was not able to attend their 10th graduation event last Friday, at Macy's due to another commitment. But I'm excited to hear they celebrate their students. You are number one GPLC in serving adults!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they need more money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

On Friday, September 5, 2014 I attened the graduation celebration which was the 10th annual GED grauation for The Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council and it was the nicest graduation I have been to. Everyone was so very happy and the graduates were over willmed with joy and love. This was my first time going to this event and I am so very glad I went. Everyone did a great job. (GPLC, GOOD LOOKING OUT.)
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I was fortunate to be able to take the 2013 GED tests and pass it at GPLC! I will attend the graduation on September 5. I'll dawn my cap and gown proudly. I'm happy I did it! Now I am in nursing school. WOW!

There is now the 2014 version which I heard is so different and much harder.
Thank you GPLC staff, you are a GREAT organization!
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of GPLC. While I lived in Pittsburgh, I volunteered as an ESL tutor, and it was a wonderful experience. The training I received when beginning, plus having a mentor tutor and a great supervisor helped me feel at ease going into my first session. The tips and extra materials GPLC provided me for my classes were immensely helpful. I also loved that there was assessment of each student, so that I knew what to focus on, and also whether or not my students were progressing.

On a whole other level, I just loved working with my students—they were extremely dedicated to learning English, and it encouraged me to be as equally dedicated to teaching them. I would recommend volunteering through GPLC to anyone interested.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council's downtown center continues to do great things in helping people like me enhance on their skills that were dormant for so long. I started the program recently and I'm enjoying learning. I was referred by a friend and she said I would not be dissappointed and I'm not. They have an excellent team. To you the staff at GPLC, I say thank you.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I think GPLC is a very helpful program I have been here for 3 months and caught up on a lot of things I forgot when I was in high school. Your can really achieve your goals by coming here and going threw the process of this program.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I called GPLC this year.. I want a better future for myself.. I have 2 kids and I want them to know no matter how old or hard things are you can always make a better life and future for yourself.. I like my teacher she helps me out a lot and she makes understand things a lot better.. so I think is a best place for people to go to better themselves im glad I came here..
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

I called GPLC in 2009 to inquire about GED classes. At first I was nervous and I didn't know what to expect. Because I didn't think I would be able to learn after having brain surgery. While talking on the phone to a staff person and explaining my situation I still was nervous. The staff person eased my concerns by encouraging me to give it a try. I did! While attending the orientation I was still so nervous. The staff that administrated the test was very nice and undertanding. He made me feel comfortable and unashame. He told me to do my best. When I started classes they helped me a lot. Being in class I was encouraged by my classmates and teacher. I was learning! As I was learnin, I became so excited about working even harder to achieve my goal. The goal of getting my GED. I'm continuing my studies at GPLC and looking forward to passing the GED test and participating in their GED graduation one day. Thank you to all the GPLC staff!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think their doing a great job of helping people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I have been a member of the Advisory Board for many years and have the utmost faith in the leadership and work of GPLC. They know what needs to be done, and they DO it.

Being able to read is one of God's greatest gifts to man. Whether born in an English-speaking country or learning English
as a foreigner, the ability to read will enriches every aspect of life.

Any person who is lucky enough to be taken under the wing of GPLC is lucky indeed and will be forever grateful.

Patricia Prattis Jennings

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers