Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.852465
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

I chose G.P.L.C.(Greater Pittsburgh Literary Council ) after looking into many other programs. It was quite easy for me to see that G.P.L.C. was the right fit for me. G.P.L.C was very encouraging and that helped me in my obtaining my G.E.D. My instructor, Kathy, was very key to me starting college classes. I have made the dean's list two semesters in a row and I am entering my last full semester at C.C.A.C. I would like people to know just how necessary that organizations such as G.P.L.C. are in guiding people to adult education with a good foundation. I wish to thank G.P.L.C. for all of their continued support in my goals. Thanx!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

I love volunteering with GPLC! The Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council has given me a wonderful opportunity to give back to my community and also pushed me to grow as an individual. GPLC prepares their volunteer tutors very well, providing training courses and mentoring. The staff is incredibly helpful too; whenever I have questions or concerns, my coordinator is always there to help. I would highly recommend this organization to anyone interested in tutoring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

I registered for the Adult Basic Education (Literacy) workshop in October 2009, which I thought was tremendous, and went on to focus on GED preparation. I tutored a GED student for more than two and a half years until my student passed this August. When my student passed, it was very difficult to stop smiling for several days! Very few things are comparable to helping someone finally accomplish a lifetime education goal. I plan to continue tutoring GED with GPLC in the future, because we are quite literally opening up lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

To do adult tutoring has been a goal of mine for many years. My motivations are twofold -- remembering the pain of being a square peg in a round hole in elementary school, and having gained confidence and momentum, realizing much has come because I have had access to more than my share of resources.

My experience with GPLC has been very rewarding. After a few evenings of tutor training, my regional coordinator matched me with my first student. Each student comes to the tutor ready to succeed. First of all, if they went to GPLC to ask for help, you know they are ready to learn. I am now on my 3rd student, and have found this to be true every time. GPLC has also worked to prepare the student. Each student is tested to determine her/his exact needs, and an education specialist provides the tutor with a description of those needs and the materials to use in working with them.

In each case the materials have been very helpful. Yet, it has also been fun, as I get to know the student, to find other materials that really spark the student's interest and fuel the journey.

I was a bit worried about where we would meet. But it has not been a problem. Tutors are asked to meet their student in a public facility which is convenient for both student and tutor. So, in each case, my GPLC coordinator has found a library and cleared the way for us.

It is so wonderful to get to know these fantastic people who come to GPLC to learn and better themselves, and ready to work hard. It's really fun for both student and tutor. You can see each student open, over time, like a flower, and I find my spirit lifted being a part of the journey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Now retired, I spent 30 years in organization development. Today all organizations are asked to do more with less. Yet, I have never gotten lost in the shuffle at GPLC. Yes. Their staffers are taxed with a great deal of responsibility. Yet, they are also highly qualified and motivated toward helping volunteers get what they need to be successful. They are very appreciative of volunteers as a resource.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I've been a GPLC volunteer for 7 years, working with both Adult Basic Education and ESL students. I enjoy watching ABE learners discover that literacy is the path to an understanding and appreciation of a much larger world. Students find themselves working at the polls on Election Day, watching and understanding TV shows they would have ignored before coming to GPLC, knowing they can make good choices at the grocery store because they understand food labels, reading "for fun" -- in short, expanding their lives. With ESL students, I enjoy interpreting American culture and watching them discover that the American dream is for them. Being a GPLC volunteer is a good way to "give back", make new friends and have fun.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 26, 2011

After relocating to Pittsburgh a few years ago, I tried several volunteer organizations, but none provided me with the training and professional development opportunites like that of the Greater Pitts... more

September 9, 2013

As a volunteer, I want my time to be used wisely and not wasted. I want to know that I have had an effect on the organization and I also want the experience to be interesting for me. As a volunteer ESL tutor for three years with the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council, I have found all of this and more.

I know that I have made a big difference in my students' lives as they adjust to their new country and culture. I have helped them get their drivers' licenses, pass the GED test, get better jobs, and prepare for the citizenship test.

My students have taught me as well. They have taught me about their countries and cultures and they have helped me understand the world a little better. Their paths to America have humbled me and made me even more appreciative of my own life.

Volunteering with the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council has been a very rewarding experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2011

After relocating to Pittsburgh a few years ago, I tried several volunteer organizations, but none provided me with the training and professional development opportunites like that of the Greater Pittsburgh LIteracy Council. I have been an ESL (English as a second language) adult tutor with GPLC for over a year and my experience has been personally very rewarding. Volunteers are treated as an important part of the organization and we are reminded of that through monthly meetings, workshops, and continuing professional development opportunities. You do not need to be an expert in English grammar to be a tutor. Training just takes 12 hours of your time and is spread out over 4 days at convenient locations. There is also no expense to the volunteer other than their own transportation to the classes. After training, volunteers are matched with students and then meet with them 4 hours a week at a place and time mutually agreed upon. Each student is evaluted by a staff member of the organization and then given a "prescription" for achieving their goals to become more skilled at conversation, reading, and writing. We are given textbooks to use with our students, but we are also encouraged to introduce our students to everyday American culture--and that is where it is especially fun. Currently, I have a Rwandan and an Italian student. I think I learn as much from them as they do from me. In the past year, besides helping them improve their language skills, I have seen them through driver's license tests, attended the wedding of one, helped another with job applications and interviews, and celebrated when they landed their first American jobs. They are now looking forward to their next goals and, eventually, becoming American citizens.
For me, personally, being part of their progress has been a wonderful experience. They are not just my students, they have become my friends. Through them I have developed an even deeper appreciation of my country and I look forward to the day when I watch them sworn in as new citizens of the United States.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in my students' successes and progress in adapting to American life and culture. They have expressed to me many times how helpful our meetings are to them. For four hours a week they have the chance to make conversation with someone who listens to them, teaches them, and encourages them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this time, I really don't have any suggestions. I am impressed with the organization as a whole. It seems well-organized and is responsive to both the tutors and students.

March 19, 2013

more

March 19, 2013

GPLC provides a valuable service to people who wish to develop their English language skills, and I would recommend the organization to anyone interested in this kind of volunteer work.

My own experience has been in the area of English as a Second Language (ESL). As a GPLC volunteer since
2008, I’ve worked for varying lengths of time with eleven advanced ESL students, eight from Eastern Asia and three from Eastern Europe, sometimes one-on-one and sometimes in small groups. My students have been, without exception, interesting, personable, conscientious, and appreciative. Meeting with them has been intellectually stimulating as well as a lot of fun for me.

In return for a minimal amount of monthly reporting, GPLC provides lots of support—training, resources, area coordinators, student information and needs assessments, a “mentor” service involving more experienced tutors, and a wide variety of networking and ongoing development activities, both locally and on a wider scale. On a day-to-day basis, the tutor has a lot of freedom to structure lessons as appropriate, based on the needs, proficiency level and learning style of the students. My lesson preparation time has varied in relation to the relative formality of the approach best suited to my students’ goals.

ESL tutoring involves some time and work, but I’ve found that any investments I’ve made have been amply rewarded in many ways. If you’re attracted to the idea of helping people from other countries learn more about our language and culture, and if you’d like to broaden your own horizons by getting involved with some very interesting people from other parts of the world, then GPLC may be the ideal volunteering opportunity for you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013

more

March 4, 2013

Working for GPLC as a volunteer ESL tutor has been a great experience for me. Over the past seven years I’ve tutored many different students. They have all been enthusiastic learners who have inspired me in countless ways. While leading busy lives, the students are still able to find time to study English and they are always eager and willing to work hard. Often our meetings are the only occasion the students have for practicing their English in a non threatening setting and they are grateful and appreciative for this opportunity. I cherish the connections and relationships that I have made through tutoring. The professional staff of GPLC is very helpful about assisting tutors with resource material and other support. My local coordinator is wonderful and offers encouragement when needed. Attending monthly “Tutor Talks” is informative and a good way to meet other tutors and brainstorm new ideas. If you are looking for a meaningful way to make a contribution to your community, please consider contacting GPLC. You do not have to be an education expert but merely have the desire to make someone’s life a little easier. Volunteering with GPLC is enjoyable, extremely rewarding and just a whole lot of fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013

more

February 11, 2013

I've been a tutor with GPLC for 3 years. I wanted to give back and have a true life-changing impact for someone. The organization has helped me achieve that and more. The folks at GPLC are an amazing group of highly-committed individuals who are truly invested in the improving education in region.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

After 30 years as an English teacher, I chose to volunteer with GPLC in retirement. Four years ago. I took their ESL training. It has been wonderfully fulfilling work. Several students have commented that, in addition to gaining language skills, they are pleased to actually know an American. Many have few real relationships with Americans because their English isn't really good enough to engage in conversations beyond the superficial. Students in this program have told me they feel encouraged by their tutors and thus find the courage to engage more fully in American life. GPLC support is excellent and volunteering with them is entirely worthwhile!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers