Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.877785
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of GPLC. While I lived in Pittsburgh, I volunteered as an ESL tutor, and it was a wonderful experience. The training I received when beginning, plus having a mentor tutor and a great supervisor helped me feel at ease going into my first session. The tips and extra materials GPLC provided me for my classes were immensely helpful. I also loved that there was assessment of each student, so that I knew what to focus on, and also whether or not my students were progressing.

On a whole other level, I just loved working with my students—they were extremely dedicated to learning English, and it encouraged me to be as equally dedicated to teaching them. I would recommend volunteering through GPLC to anyone interested.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council's downtown center continues to do great things in helping people like me enhance on their skills that were dormant for so long. I started the program recently and I'm enjoying learning. I was referred by a friend and she said I would not be dissappointed and I'm not. They have an excellent team. To you the staff at GPLC, I say thank you.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I think GPLC is a very helpful program I have been here for 3 months and caught up on a lot of things I forgot when I was in high school. Your can really achieve your goals by coming here and going threw the process of this program.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I called GPLC this year.. I want a better future for myself.. I have 2 kids and I want them to know no matter how old or hard things are you can always make a better life and future for yourself.. I like my teacher she helps me out a lot and she makes understand things a lot better.. so I think is a best place for people to go to better themselves im glad I came here..
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

I called GPLC in 2009 to inquire about GED classes. At first I was nervous and I didn't know what to expect. Because I didn't think I would be able to learn after having brain surgery. While talking on the phone to a staff person and explaining my situation I still was nervous. The staff person eased my concerns by encouraging me to give it a try. I did! While attending the orientation I was still so nervous. The staff that administrated the test was very nice and undertanding. He made me feel comfortable and unashame. He told me to do my best. When I started classes they helped me a lot. Being in class I was encouraged by my classmates and teacher. I was learning! As I was learnin, I became so excited about working even harder to achieve my goal. The goal of getting my GED. I'm continuing my studies at GPLC and looking forward to passing the GED test and participating in their GED graduation one day. Thank you to all the GPLC staff!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think their doing a great job of helping people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I have been a member of the Advisory Board for many years and have the utmost faith in the leadership and work of GPLC. They know what needs to be done, and they DO it.

Being able to read is one of God's greatest gifts to man. Whether born in an English-speaking country or learning English
as a foreigner, the ability to read will enriches every aspect of life.

Any person who is lucky enough to be taken under the wing of GPLC is lucky indeed and will be forever grateful.

Patricia Prattis Jennings

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at GPLC. It was a life changing experience. I am so happy for all the help I received from the staff. Thank you all for being so kind. I continue to work on bettering myself so that I can pass it on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

I enjoy my tutoring sessions at the Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council. I've been attending there six years now. I love it! When I first started I was in a class at the downtown center. After receiving a job at one of the UPMC Hospitals, I continued my studies with a tutor. I'm learning alot and working really hard to reach my GED goal. GPLC has helped me in so many areas. I'm just thankful for the free classes they have. Thank you GPLC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing because it is in line with their mission.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014


It's with much appreciation that I say "thank you GPLC". This program is really about serving and helping to make a change in the lives of those that walk through those doors looking to find help. I needed help in my math so that I could take the math part of the GED test. I was lacking in
understanding of doing word problems. They confused me. I was afraid of them. I would read the problem over and over all to no avail in how to attack the problem. Once I started class, I was reluctant about answering questions because of the fear of having the wrong answer. I continued to attend class, complete my homework assignments and work hard to master the problems. My teachers were incredible. They believed in me. I'm so happy I continued to go to class. What a difference it made. After being in the program for a couple of years even leaving and returning later, I obtained my goal in passing the math part of the GED test. I'm a product of GPLC. To all the staff thank you for your help. Now, I'm attending CCAC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Although it's my third month with GPLC, I love to have a class with my tutor. Other than the English class, it is also a good chance to learn about the place I live. I thank so much to all the members of GPLC who gave me an opportunity to learn.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers