Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

It was 2009 and I finally decided to get my GED. It’s important to know that I dropped out of middle school and I didn’t learn anything while I was there. The only math problem I learned was two groups of black people plus two opposite neighborhoods equals violence and no education. So when I practiced for my GED I knew nothing but basic elementary stuff. Still I taught myself to multiple and with the help of my mom and brother I learned division. That’s all I knew when I got to GPLC.

Ms. Anita was my teacher and she taught me everything I know about math. We started out with decimals then worked our way up to Geometry. The math was tough and confusing, but what was more confusing than the math was trying to figure out how Ms. Anita made learning it so easy. Not only would she explain it the whole class on the board, she would also sit with her students one on one and make sure we all understood the work before she moved on. Ms. Anita is a great teacher, but even a greater person, and the time I spend in her class is something that I’ll never forget.

After Ms. Anita’s class I would go to Rachel’s class for reading and writing. There was two things I liked about Rachel’s class. One it was fun, and two there was no math. Rachel would sometimes start class off by letting us write essays, afterwards she would go over the essay and correct it for you and show you what you did wrong. When we did reading we would take turns reading out loud, then go over the answers together. Rachel did what a lot of teachers struggle to do or just chose not to do. She made learning fun and she made me look forward to going to school each day. I was told that my score of 710 in the reading section of the GED test was one of the highest scores in the country and almost a perfect score. That wouldn’t have been possible without Rachel.

GPLC isn’t just two teachers. The way I feel about my two teachers is the way other GPLC students feel about their one, two, or three teachers or tutor. GPLC is filled with great wonderful, amazing people from the teachers in class to Ms. Gail at the front desk. My advice to people thinking about going to GPLC is to trust and believe in these people because the second you walk through that door, they believe in you. Thank you GPLC!
October 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 11, 2013

I've been a GPLC volunteer for 7 years, working with both Adult Basic Education and ESL students. I enjoy watching ABE learners discover that literacy is the path to an understanding and appreciation... more

October 3, 2014

I've volunteered for about 8 years. The students learn a lot and so do the volunteers. My time with GPLC is always among the highlights of my week.
September 11, 2013

I've been a GPLC volunteer for 7 years, working with both Adult Basic Education and ESL students. I enjoy watching ABE learners discover that literacy is the path to an understanding and appreciation of a much larger world. Students find themselves working at the polls on Election Day, watching and understanding TV shows they would have ignored before coming to GPLC, knowing they can make good choices at the grocery store because they understand food labels, reading "for fun" -- in short, expanding their lives. With ESL students, I enjoy interpreting American culture and watching them discover that the American dream is for them. Being a GPLC volunteer is a good way to "give back", make new friends and have fun.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I'm excited about GPLC and how they are doing great things in the community. Their organization has helped several people such as myself. Their staff were very helpful, respectful, and caring. I hope only the best for Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council. You really are an amazing non profit organization.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I attend classes at GPLC and I love it! They are really helping me to achieve my goal in obtaining my GED. I hope to have it before the end of this year. I want to attend the graduation celebration that I hear about so often. Sadly, I was not able to attend their 10th graduation event last Friday, at Macy's due to another commitment. But I'm excited to hear they celebrate their students. You are number one GPLC in serving adults!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they need more money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

On Friday, September 5, 2014 I attened the graduation celebration which was the 10th annual GED grauation for The Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council and it was the nicest graduation I have been to. Everyone was so very happy and the graduates were over willmed with joy and love. This was my first time going to this event and I am so very glad I went. Everyone did a great job. (GPLC, GOOD LOOKING OUT.)
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I was fortunate to be able to take the 2013 GED tests and pass it at GPLC! I will attend the graduation on September 5. I'll dawn my cap and gown proudly. I'm happy I did it! Now I am in nursing school. WOW!

There is now the 2014 version which I heard is so different and much harder.
Thank you GPLC staff, you are a GREAT organization!
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of GPLC. While I lived in Pittsburgh, I volunteered as an ESL tutor, and it was a wonderful experience. The training I received when beginning, plus having a mentor tutor and a great supervisor helped me feel at ease going into my first session. The tips and extra materials GPLC provided me for my classes were immensely helpful. I also loved that there was assessment of each student, so that I knew what to focus on, and also whether or not my students were progressing.

On a whole other level, I just loved working with my students—they were extremely dedicated to learning English, and it encouraged me to be as equally dedicated to teaching them. I would recommend volunteering through GPLC to anyone interested.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Greater Pittsburgh Literacy Council's downtown center continues to do great things in helping people like me enhance on their skills that were dormant for so long. I started the program recently and I'm enjoying learning. I was referred by a friend and she said I would not be dissappointed and I'm not. They have an excellent team. To you the staff at GPLC, I say thank you.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I think GPLC is a very helpful program I have been here for 3 months and caught up on a lot of things I forgot when I was in high school. Your can really achieve your goals by coming here and going threw the process of this program.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I called GPLC this year.. I want a better future for myself.. I have 2 kids and I want them to know no matter how old or hard things are you can always make a better life and future for yourself.. I like my teacher she helps me out a lot and she makes understand things a lot better.. so I think is a best place for people to go to better themselves im glad I came here..
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers