Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
117 Reviews
1234.931625
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I volunteered with a group from my organization. It was amazing to see the amount of work that they do to accomplish their mission! It was an eye-opening experience, and the services they provide our community is invaluable. Great job!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Very food. Much good. Wow. 10/10 would recommend
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

I have volunteered out at the Food Bank for several years now. It has always been a wonderful experience, with a great team who is extremely helpful, and knowing that you are making a difference for someone's life! We have done assembly lines, repacking everything from cereal to frozen chickens, and sorted donations coming from all over. I will keep coming as long as I can stand!
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I volunteer for GPCFB as often as I can. They are a great organization that provides aid to individuals and food banks. I am proud to serve them. Every volunteer experience I've had has been very, very well organized, but still fun. I've done Produce To People, repacking, the Fall Food Drive, and collecting donations at the Holiday Market in Pittsburgh. I highly recommend volunteering with and/or donating to them. Very rewarding!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make no changes. Excellent organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

This review reflects my experience with the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank while conveying the positive impact it has had upon me on a personal level. I have volunteered periodically at the Food Bank mainly within the repacking and Produce to People efforts. I have also attended a tour and presentation and have helped individuals link to this resource through past employment posts. In addition, I have donated, when able, to this organization as I identify with its' purpose.

I read the newsletter communications regularly and I do believe that the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank has established themselves in many events and happenings to extend the mission in the local community. I do believe that this is probably one of the best ways for the organization to meet its goals as it reaches donors in an indirect manner, for example, reduced admission fee(s) with donation of goods, etc. As a person who has worked with individuals with needs, my only concern is that policies and procedures continue to be adhered to and that people that do receive resources are the ones that truly need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

I have volunteered at the food bank for about three years. It is a great asset to the Greater Pittsburgh Area and it is always searching for new ways to reach the people who need its services. The staff is made up of people whose primary concern is serving the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have been serving at the food bank in a volunteer capacity for almost 3 years. I found them to be an organization that manages its funds very well and makes themselves a part of the Pittsburgh community. I always feel like I've done something very useful when I leave to go home. I love helping them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I have had the opportunity to volunteer with the food bank for approximately 4 years, and it has been time very well spent. Their volunteer coordinators are engaging, and maintain excellent contact with the volunteers, and their distributions are always very organized. Best of all, is that I get the opportunity to witness first hand what my time contributes to, and to recognize the impact that I may have on someone else's life. I thank the food bank for giving me the opportunity to serve my community in this way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

As a member of the GPCFB speaker's bureau I have had an opportunity to visit some of the agencies that the food bank supports, to help distribute food directly to people that need help with feeding their families, and to provide information to children and adults about how widespread poverty and hence food insecurity is in our region as well as in all of our country.
My experience has shown me that GPCFB is an excellent well-run organization that is providing a critical service to help families that are struggling just to get by. It's shocking that, in the United States of all places, so many people suffer from hunger. I have learned that the dedicated people of GPCFB do a terrific job in helping to mitigate that problem.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I have been volunteering at the foodbank through my employer(University of Pittsburgh) for about 8 years. It only takes a few hours a month but the look of appreciation on the faces of the individuals standing in line for food to feed their families is heartwarming. It makes me look forward to retirement when I can spend more time there. It also makes me realize how fortunate I am to be in a position to help them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers