Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.935785
| 1 2 3 4...11 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Great staff, easy to work along side! The Food Bank does so many wonderful things for the community. It's an honor to serve the people with this agency. - Alana D., Morningside

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank is a spectacular organization to volunteer with, because they conduct many different engaging events connecting those in needs with the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

Working with the Pittsburgh Food Bank staff has been one of the great experiences in my life. I retired wanting to do something with meaning in my life. I wanted to give back. But the surprise, there are so many doing more than I had ever imagined. I became the coordinator of a local food pantry with about 110 families, we have since, thru the help of the Pittsburgh Food Bank, grown to several hundred.
The help and support provided insured our success. The advise, continuous follow up through Sue Smith and Sherry Gilchrist and their staff have been instrumental in our growth and our service to so many in our community. We are so thankful each and every month that we can learn from their experts, we can continue to grow and give to our community the help they so desperately need, and we have a support system in place for every problem and need. I just cannot say "thank you, thank you, thank you" enough!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I have given donations to the Food Bank over the years. However, this year for the first time I volunteered during their Fall Food Drive at a local Giant Eagle. I was amazed at how responsive people were to the human factor. I handed out pamphlets with suggested foods and asked people to make a donation. My granddaughter and I were there for about 4 hours. The response was overwhelming. Even the store employees were astonished at how generous people were. We filled about 5 grocery carts during those hours. I will do this each year from now on and will look for other opportunities to be that human face for the Food Bank.

Alison Jones

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I initially became familiar with the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank (and others in the local vicinity) through my occupation. I have volunteered, at times, with packaging and the Produce to People program. I have also attended an informational workshop at the facility which I found most helpful and useful. I think as change in the atmosphere of our society is constant; a program as such that provides a vital resource to individuals is of utmost value and importance. I do read the e-mails and participate in some of the activities, etc, when able.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I don't have a sad story to tell. I am just one of many who donate to the Pittsburgh Food Bank because of all the wonderful things they do to help those in need. I have been very fortunate in my life and simply want to help those who have not been as lucky. I urge all those sitting down to a great family meal today to think about those who will not, then DONATE!

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank I am given the privilege of contributing to the community of mankind. It is an honor to assist the less fortunate and I am always humbled by the thankfulness shown. No one knows when misfortunate will strike and people need to know that the basic right of food should not be a worry or the loss of dignity. The Food Bank restores the dignity of a family by making sure parents are able to feed their children, helps students struggling with the cost of education feed themselves, and cares for the mentally challenged members of our society. I consider the Community Food Bank a necessity for a healthy community and a thriving society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2011

I have participated in the monthly distribution of Produce to People and I am very impressed by the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank's commitment to the individuals it serves. Prior to each distribution event, the volunteer co-ordinator sets the tone by reminding us of who our customers are and the importance of making each and every customer feel welcome so that she or he will return. A returning customer means a household that is helped; a customer who feels unwelcome may result in a child or adult going hungry.

The events, from the volunteer side, are well organized and the volunteers are given explicit instructions about what is expected.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This dedication to making sure that individuals do not go hungry was exemplified when, after a busy evening of distributing food and cleaning up an individual arrived late- no matter, under the direction of the supervisor, the volunteers made sure that individual did not go away empty handed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No change suggested

February 24, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 24, 2011

I donate fairly regularly to the food bank, and would like to take the next step and volunteer on some kind of regular basis. I was able to take part in a gleaning a few summers ago, where I helped to harvest fresh vegetables, and really loved the experience. For me, being able to go to more gleanings would be a really enjoyable way to make a tangible impact in my community, and a great way to get more involved in a purely physical aspect. It is one of my goals for the upcoming summer, and by writing a review I hope to make it become a reality.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Fighting hunger, especially by avoiding food waste, is one of my favorite ways to make a difference in the world, and one in which I'd like to be more involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase public awareness of food waste, and increase opportunities to donate non-perishable items in several locations (to make it more likely that people not waste unwanted or ill-considered groceries!).

February 24, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 24, 2011

I am aclient of one of the local pantries served by Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank and have had only positive experiences with it in the last 5 years that I have used it. I am also a volunteer at my local pantry for the last 3 years. The food I receive is good and nutricious and goes a long way in extending my food budget. Every volunteer and employee I've met has been wonderful and extremely helpful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing more people being helped, more people volunteering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers