Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.931035
| 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have been serving at the food bank in a volunteer capacity for almost 3 years. I found them to be an organization that manages its funds very well and makes themselves a part of the Pittsburgh community. I always feel like I've done something very useful when I leave to go home. I love helping them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I have had the opportunity to volunteer with the food bank for approximately 4 years, and it has been time very well spent. Their volunteer coordinators are engaging, and maintain excellent contact with the volunteers, and their distributions are always very organized. Best of all, is that I get the opportunity to witness first hand what my time contributes to, and to recognize the impact that I may have on someone else's life. I thank the food bank for giving me the opportunity to serve my community in this way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

As a member of the GPCFB speaker's bureau I have had an opportunity to visit some of the agencies that the food bank supports, to help distribute food directly to people that need help with feeding their families, and to provide information to children and adults about how widespread poverty and hence food insecurity is in our region as well as in all of our country.
My experience has shown me that GPCFB is an excellent well-run organization that is providing a critical service to help families that are struggling just to get by. It's shocking that, in the United States of all places, so many people suffer from hunger. I have learned that the dedicated people of GPCFB do a terrific job in helping to mitigate that problem.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I have been volunteering at the foodbank through my employer(University of Pittsburgh) for about 8 years. It only takes a few hours a month but the look of appreciation on the faces of the individuals standing in line for food to feed their families is heartwarming. It makes me look forward to retirement when I can spend more time there. It also makes me realize how fortunate I am to be in a position to help them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I've been volunteering at the food bank since I retired six years ago. Usually I repackage food, but I don't really know until I get there, which is fine by me. I've met many caring employees and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Selective Insurance Company of America provides employees with a paid day off each year in order to provide community service to an organization of the employees choice. A group of employees have used the last four years to donate their time to this organization. They make sure that their volunteers know the purpose of the organization by taking time to discuss the services that they provide and tour the facility. The projects the volunteers are involved with make an immediate impact to those in need. One can only feel a sense of accomplishment at the end of the day knowing what you've done has helped touched many lives. Pittsburgh is lucky to have The Greather Pgh Community Food Bank care about those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

The Foodbank runs a program called Produce to People that provides fresh produce and other items (meat and some canned goods) directly to people who need it at distribution events around the area. My son and I volunteered for the program several years ago through my work. I was super impressed by the program. It was well run and kept a large team of volunteers busy and productive. The program provided volunteers with an opportunity to interact with people getting food. Overall it was great experience and both my sons and I have been a regular volunteers since then. The people from the foodbank are great for this program -- sincere and knowledgeable of the program but low-key and never righteous. I really value this experience. In my time volunteering, I have been impressed over and over by the basic goodness of all people. The clients help each other because they can and because others need it. I have watched neighbors help each other get food. I have seen strangers give each other rides to the program. People take care of each other -- family, friends, neighbors and at time strangers -- because it is what people do. I always feel extremely fortunate to get to be just one more person helping out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I became aware of the food bank 9 years ago when our Girl Scout Troop toured the facilities. We returned a short time later to repack food items. For Several years I would attend volunteer events with my troop, family or by myself. We see so many children in our community that are hungry and if just a few hours a month can help someone in need it will always be time well spent. They are well organized and ready to go, all we have to do is reserve that we are coming and show up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure they always had the funds to pay for the trucks that transport the food.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I have only been volunteering with this organization for a few shot months,but have been welcomed and have been welcomed whole heatedly. The neatest thing I've done so far for this organization is to help with produce to people and they partnered up with Grow Pittsburgh to pass out seedlings, starter plants, and even buckets of soil to help the needy try to grow some vegetables for themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have not been involved in enough activities yet to make a fair statement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Great organization with great people! They're very efficient with volunteer's time & energy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers