Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.93755
| 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I've been volunteering at the food bank since I retired six years ago. Usually I repackage food, but I don't really know until I get there, which is fine by me. I've met many caring employees and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Selective Insurance Company of America provides employees with a paid day off each year in order to provide community service to an organization of the employees choice. A group of employees have used the last four years to donate their time to this organization. They make sure that their volunteers know the purpose of the organization by taking time to discuss the services that they provide and tour the facility. The projects the volunteers are involved with make an immediate impact to those in need. One can only feel a sense of accomplishment at the end of the day knowing what you've done has helped touched many lives. Pittsburgh is lucky to have The Greather Pgh Community Food Bank care about those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

The Foodbank runs a program called Produce to People that provides fresh produce and other items (meat and some canned goods) directly to people who need it at distribution events around the area. My son and I volunteered for the program several years ago through my work. I was super impressed by the program. It was well run and kept a large team of volunteers busy and productive. The program provided volunteers with an opportunity to interact with people getting food. Overall it was great experience and both my sons and I have been a regular volunteers since then. The people from the foodbank are great for this program -- sincere and knowledgeable of the program but low-key and never righteous. I really value this experience. In my time volunteering, I have been impressed over and over by the basic goodness of all people. The clients help each other because they can and because others need it. I have watched neighbors help each other get food. I have seen strangers give each other rides to the program. People take care of each other -- family, friends, neighbors and at time strangers -- because it is what people do. I always feel extremely fortunate to get to be just one more person helping out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I became aware of the food bank 9 years ago when our Girl Scout Troop toured the facilities. We returned a short time later to repack food items. For Several years I would attend volunteer events with my troop, family or by myself. We see so many children in our community that are hungry and if just a few hours a month can help someone in need it will always be time well spent. They are well organized and ready to go, all we have to do is reserve that we are coming and show up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure they always had the funds to pay for the trucks that transport the food.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I have only been volunteering with this organization for a few shot months,but have been welcomed and have been welcomed whole heatedly. The neatest thing I've done so far for this organization is to help with produce to people and they partnered up with Grow Pittsburgh to pass out seedlings, starter plants, and even buckets of soil to help the needy try to grow some vegetables for themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have not been involved in enough activities yet to make a fair statement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Great organization with great people! They're very efficient with volunteer's time & energy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

The Greater Pittsburgh food bank provides many different opportunities to help collect food, distribute food and help with fund raising activities. I have volunteered to pick vegetables at local farms, help at distribution centers and serve at fund raising events, such as the blues festival. The events have always been well organized and details well thought out by the staff. That makes for an enjoyable experience for volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

The food bank engages its volunteers with individual and group oppertunities, at the main facility, local pantries, and collection sites, and at special events. They attempt to be innovative with their volunteer communications, and activities, while serving the community's food needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

This service is great. As a volunteer you are always working, time is productive, you never sit and wait. We see the outcome of our time put in. Food is important to all and we see how is helps all our families. My husband and I both volunteer and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I have volunteered here in the past. The people at the Greater Pittsburgh Food Bank do everything they can to help serve the community. They are generous and respectful to all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers