Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I joined this choir a short time ago seeking three things: an inspiring and demanding director, a high level of musicianship from the singers, and compelling repertoire. It is a rare community choir that combines all three of these elements. This is one of the rare gems, and I am overjoyed to have found it. Under Joe D'Eugenio, every rehearsal is also a voice lesson. He does a superb job of instilling in the singers a professional attitude and pride in quality music-making--by bringing in professional singers, by collaborating with professional orchestras, and most of all by holding volunteer singers to the same standard as the professionals we collaborate with. This group enriches the entire community--volunteers, professionals, and audiences.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I have sung with the Chorale on and off for over 20 years. I'm not a professional musician, but have sung in several choral groups as an amateur lover of choral music. Some conductors are good with folks who need to learn a lot, but they can't produce high quality concerts. Some conductors can conduct the super-good singers and produce a wonderful concert, but leave the learners in the dust. Somehow Joe D'Eugenio manages to teach the whole range of singers in the Chorale, helping those of us who need to learn more, and still challenging the excellent performers among us. He is always looking for strategies to bring out the best in everyone. As a result, the morale and friendliness is sky-high, the learning is intense, and the concerts are excellent. The fact that more and more semi-professional singers have gravitated to the chorale over the years attests to the quality of musicianship of the conductor and the chorale, the choice of music, and the excellence of our performances. As a professional in my community, I'm proud to be a part of this organization.
November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I was trained as a choral conductor but have pursued another profession for the past 25 years. I joined the Greater Middletown Chorale in 2006 and immediately knew I was "home." It is a large and diverse group that employs vocal coaches to help our singers develop their vocal technique and musical versatility. Our artistic director Joe D'Eugenio brings professional passion, vision, and overriding care for the personal experience of each singer. In six short years, I have had the opportunity to tour Europe twice; be part of two oratorios that were of the highest musical quality and achieved overall excellence; and as current President have overseen the upcoming world premiere of a dramatic contemporary oratorio, "Letter from Italy, 1944", that is already promoting healed lives among military veterans and their families. "Chorale" is too narrow a label for the good this organization accomplishes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been faithful followers of the Greater Middletown Chorale since it was initially formed in 1997. Since then, it has become a wonderful chorale resource in Connecticut and beyond. It provides an outstanding musical resource for the general public. It also encourages the development of vocalists, musicians and new composers in an era of considerable financial challenge. The current project "Letter from Italy, 1944" provides an opportunity to use all of these resources to join with personal history in presenting a reminder of the effects of any war on the individuals and families involved. We heartily recommend the GMC as a worthy recipient of Grant monies for their support and certainly consider it to be one of our "Favorite Nonprofits".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I've been involved in music all my life - Music Ed. in college, Music teacher for 22 years and a member of various musical organizations along the way. This is, by far, the best and most professional organization in which I have had the pleasure to participate. This is largely due to the excellent musicianship of the artistic director. Joseph D'Eugenio, and also to the professional singers that he manages to attract to our organization. His credentials are superior, his musical taste impeccable, and his passion for his art contagious. Concert works include traditional masterworks and also new and exciting music, often comissioned and presented as premiers, always performed with consistently high quality musicianship. I feel privileged to belong to such an outstanding organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

First, I'm not only a volunteer and participant, but I also fit into the categories of donor, board member, and (past) professional with expertise in this profession. I joined the GMC nearly two years ago and found a home for not only the type of music I wanted to make but also for the type of people with whom I wanted to perform. A highly diverse group, versed in all manners and walks of life, GMC member enthusiasm and drive makes my experience something I look forward to every week. Having Joe at the Artistic Director helm is the icing on the cake. He is passionate about the product, and I thorougly enjoy how deeply vested he is in making the GMC experience valuable for both participant and recipient. From the camaraderie and magic enjoyed on our European tour to the excitement planning the spring 2013 world premiere project, "Letter from Italy, 1944," my involvement with GMC has become life-changing. I am so eager to see where we are going from here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

I am currently composer ln Residence of the Greater Middletown Chorale, under commission to write a full-scale oratotio that will be performed in 2013. It is my unequivocal delight to write this recommendation. Under the direction of the recently heralded artistic director and conductor, Joseph D'Eugenio, GMC has become one of the most deeply respected choruses in CT. Maestro D'Eugenio, both a gifted musician and a gifted human being, is able to interface extremely high expectations with patience,humor, and evident love for the group. The singers are responsive, enthusiastic, and absolutely committed to every undertaking. All performances are of the highest quality. Beyond the music, there is an underlying current of warmth, rare and infectious, that is felt palpably by all who come into contact with GMC. I feel that I am theirs and they are mine. Need I say more?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

I'm a singing member of the chorale, and recently moved here from another state. I have participated in so many choral groups over the past 25 years, but never have i been in one like the Greater Middletown Chorale! They have that super combination of dedicated members, volunteers and paid professionals, working together for excellence in musicianship, programming and performance. The energy level and personal connections here even persuaded me to become a member of their board. Joe D'Eugenio's leadership and musical talents create a chemistry that shows in the outpouring of the chorus. I love that one of the GMC's core mission objectives is to perform works by new composers. This makes for a group always willing to stretch and open doors to new experiences. You will love hearing this group!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

Singing with this group has been an extraordinary experience. The director, Joe d'Eugenio is enthusiastic, a great musician as well as a fine person. He brings enormous creativity to rehearsals, performances, and planning. Next Spring's inaugural production of Letters from Italy promises to surpass even the great productions of the past. This group deserves all the support it has received and will receive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012

Except for on special occasions, my relationship with The Greater Middletown Chorale is not as a singer. At their request, I've written lyrics for songs composed by my sister, Sarah, most recently the libretto for the oratorio the Chorale will perform next spring. Sarah and I were drawn to the GMC the first time we heard them, not only for the beauty of their sound but also for the quality of their relationship with their music and with the audiences for whom they sing. Under Joe D'Eugenio's direction, they are a group which sings with heart, with a deep understanding of both words and music and the ability to deliver both so as to make what, in my experience, is a completely unique relationship with hearers. They have thrown themselves into our shared undertaking, Letter from Italy: 1944, wholeheartedly, connecting generously and constantly with community veterans in a way that makes them more than just musical benefactors--and that's saying a lot.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers