Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1234.55
Write A Review
December 31, 2013

more

December 31, 2013

Hello, My name is Chef Sean , Chef Instructor and Director for an after school program that teaches children and families how to cook and eat a well balanced meal. I read GCFD 's mission and I think what they are doing to solve the hunger problem in large cities like Chicago is amazing. It takes many employees and volunteers to achieve the mission and bring happiness to every community. Someday, I would like to employee my culinary skills, education and passion towards helping folks cokk healthy meals while receiving the food products. Great Job!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest a coarse dealing with nutrition management but precisely ways to teach CCK students importance and benefits of using herbs, spices and oils.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

GCFD does food rescue and distribution to many or most Chicago-area food pantries. Their work is vital. I've never been asked to opt-in to any sort of email service, and I've been a donor for over 20 years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I really like the work this organization does and I would like to give them a 5-star review. The organization has a good impact on the society trying to end starving. The hard work of this organization has helped many homeless people and given them hope for survival. However, the charity did made a mistake when they required everyone to automatically opt-in to email marketing when making a donation. Such a move doubt my thought about the organization at first, but I still liked the organization. I admire the hard work the organization does to help homeless people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have donated to this organization more than once and really like the work that they do so I wish I could give them a 5-star review. Unfortunately the charity made the bizarre decision to require anyone making a donation to automatically opt-in to email marketing. You are simply told that if you make a donation and don't have a profile with them you WILL receive updates. Within a couple minutes of my donation my first two "updates" hit my inbox. One update had my tax receipt attached and the other had the username and password for my new profile that they had automatically set up for me. Both of these updates also admonished me to give the charity money, even though I had just done so. The only way out of these marketing emails is to log in to the newly created profile and THEN opt out through your profile preferences. I know if a corporation did this I would simply take my online shopping elsewhere so I see no reason that a charity should be able to get away with it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble food boxes Volunteer