Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.866675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

I have volunteered with Great River Greening since 2008. I have been a supervisor since 2010. Great River Greening is an organization that actually gets things done. They engage the community through volunteer opportunities for all. I look forward to working with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

Great River Greening is an excellent organization committed to community-based restoration of natural areas. I became a volunteer with Great River Greening when I heard that they were assisting in restoring the natural habitat in a Scientific and Natural Area near my home. I was impressed with the commitment to improving the natural environment in my community. I went through the Great River Greening training to become a volunteer supervisor; a volunteer assisting other community individuals or groups as they participate in organized events focused on natural area restoration. After three years of volunteering with Great River Greening and working with numerous volunteers, I can say without reservation that this organization is unsurpassed in quality and results, in their mission of restoring natural areas in Minnesota. What works with Great River Greening? The staff is well organized and skilled in both human relations and the natural ecosystems associated with restoring natural areas. Events happen as advertized. The volunteers (supervisors and community members) are welcomed, trained, provided the tools and the background information needed to accomplish the assigned task, are given positive feedback during and after the event, and leave with a sense of completion and accomplishment. The volunteers understand that they have invested in and can take ownership in making their community a better place for themselves and for the natural world. Great River Greening enables all that to happen. Without Great River Greening, our communities would be less inviting and our natural areas would be less robust and diverse. I support Great River Greening and their mission of community-based restoration of natural area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

Great River Greening has been one of my favorite non-profits to partner up with because I work for a non-profit organization myself. The great things we've done together isn't forgotten but will strengthen our partnership and organization as a whole. I thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

Employees from the Braun Intertec Bloomington office got their hands dirty to help restore the Conservation Corridor in Woodbury, Minnesota. Braun Intertec volunteers spent several strenuous hours removing invasive species and hauling non-native brush to preserve the habitat for rare birds and species including the bobolink, meadow lark and Henslow’s sparrow. The work done will help to ensure the prairie is allowed to thrive for generations to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

I have volunteered for years with Great River Greening. They are an outstanding organization and employee some of the most intelligent people when it comes to conservation, restoration, etc. They really understand various ecosystems such as wellands, rivers, forests, prairies, farmland, etc. Not only does Greening understand the science behind how all these ecosystem work and interelate, they take the time to teach us layman about these systems and how they benefit not only the environment but the communities we live in. I have been so impressed with my experience as a volunteer with Greening that I became a board member last year. My involvement with Greening has been extremely fullfilling. I have been involvde with them on several projects that involved hundreds of volunteers and thousands of trees and shrubs. Not once have I ever been disappointed with the level of service, care, involvement, and educating that Greening provides.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Various volunteer events such as reforestation of areas, urban plantings, river bank restoration, and more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to grow the organization. Grow it beyond the MN Valley and into neighboring states.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Not sure, it is such a great experience already. I have an opportunity to learn from some extremely intelligent individuals that work for Greening.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Have not only learned more about how to care for various ecosystems I have met others that share similar passions for various outdoor activities and have maintained those contacts.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Feels great to improve the community, the environment, and learn more about how important all the various ecosystems are needed.

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I teach Environmental Science at an urban community college. Since 1998, I have worked at Great River Greening events with groups of my students almost every semester. I offer these events to my students for extra credit and as a way for them to gain experience in hands-on ecological restoration work, while also studying about habitat loss and fragmentation in class. The events are well organized and planned by staff with extensive ecological knowledge and expertise. I have had more than 400 students participate in these events throughout the years, and many have benefitted greatly from what they learned and experienced. Some have even brought friends or family back to the sites to see what they have done. Many of our students have never done this sort of work before or had a direct connection with making a difference in the natural environments of their community. I am grateful to the staff of Great River Greening for providing this opportunity for my students and me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I am an intern with Great River Greening. I find their cause to be an ideal one in the environmental field, since it both helps the environment and engages and educates the community-- their team of professionals determines what needs to be done to restore natural areas, and they engage the community in doing so. I've also found their staff to be friendly and welcoming, and their events to be an enjoyable experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my participation as a volunteer and as an intern.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

involve volunteers even more in different parts of the organization, like fundraising.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes - I have learned new skills and made friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel like I was making a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I worked for Great River Green as an intern for almost a year. They are a wonderful nonprofit organization with an endless drive to make our Minnesota communities a little greener each day. The employees are tireless workers and the volunteers have amazing spirit. The work environment is very comfortable and you always feel welcome as soon as you walk in!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Cleaning up the environment. I helped get rid of invasive species and within just 3 short hours of work, there were already amazing results!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I know they're trying, but getting the college generations involved would be great!

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

I've volunteered for Great River Greening for 3 years, and really enjoy the events that they host. The restoration events are well thought, the right amount of work, and definitely get work done. I have volunteered for other ecosystem restoration nonprofits and the difference that is seen immediately when you show up to a site; somebody is there to greet and show you to the registration booth, maybe grab a coffee or water, and then converse with your group supervisor until everyone shows up. I also like that volunteers are shown why a certain exotic species is bad; not just that it has to be removed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I really enjoy going back to the places that we've restored and seeing the difference. It really gives me pride in the organization with the work that a variety of people can do collectively with the same goal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I know it would be costly train and re-certify but having an an EMT on staff at the events would be great.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I like the idea of pins or some token to show the events you've worked at. I also think it would be neat to have an events page that has photos and captions of volunteers from each event and eventually post them on the website. everybody likes sharing good things they've done!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It gives me more experience on teaching/mentoring non-conservation professionals in the field

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

Great River Greening is a local non-profit organization working to restore the metro Minneapolis-St. Paul community, by removing invasive species and re-introducing native species to the area. This organization is dedicated to encouraging local citizen to support the local community through environmental volunteer efforts.
I have enjoyed my volunteer time with Great River Greening. It is always a pleasure working outside to improve the environment no matter what the weather conditions are. I have volunteer with Great River Greening on days where it is only 1 degree outside and snowing, to thunderstorms, to beautiful sunny days. The Great River Greening staff is helpful and friendly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have become a Volunteer Supervisor and have helped lead volunteer groups on a variety of projects, from invasive species removal to planting events. I am also the President of the St. Thomas School of Law Environmental Law Society and have brought several groups of law students to Great River Greening Events. It is always a pleasure getting out into nature and escaping the stress of law school, even if it is only for a few hours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't. I really enjoy volunteering with GRG. If I could do anything, it would be to encourage more individuals to experience volunteering with Great River Greening.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers