Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Moving to Illinois when my daughter was a junior in high school was difficult. GLASA was key in helping her make friends, keep active, and experience new sports and activities. The staff and volunteers are amazing, encouraging, and supportive not just to the participants, but to the families. They provide opportunities, education, and fun.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

GLASA is a wonderful organization! Our daughter has been a proud member of GLASA for four years; participating in swimming, track, field, dance, basketball and Go Girl Go! Gabi has has also participated in the Great Lakes Regional Games (put on by GLASA) and NJDC as part of Team GLASA. GLASA has given our daughter a sense of pride and greater self esteem.

During her 3rd grade year at school, she was being made fun of and bullied for the way she walks, gets up from the floor and kids saying she couldn't do anything because she uses a wheelchair. Gabi told Coach Tom what was happening. Tom and Keri came to school to share the Adaptive Experience with her school...they brought a ton of different equipment and even held wheelchair races with some of the kids, teachers and principals. Gabi with GLASA's help, was able to show all the kids that even though she might use canes and a wheelchair, she can do anything!

As a parent, GLASA has given us an outlet for connecting with other parents as well as services that we might not have been aware of!

I feel like we are one big happy family!!
Thank you GLASA!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

GLASA brought so much joy into our lives! Our son began his athletic career very late with the organizaton and we SO wish we had started earlier. Every aspect of the organization was wonderful....incredible leadership, superb coaching, amazing athletes and terrific families! Go GLASA Wave!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

GLASA provides opportunities for children and adults to participate and succeed in sports and activities that they never believed to be possible. The volunteers and coaches help break down the barriers that are in place today for these incredible individuals. Seeing the smiles and satisfaction on the faces of the athletes who received medals at GLASA's 5k Twillight Run tells me that what GLASA does works!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

We searched years for a program that was a perfect fit for our daughter. GLASA is that perfect fit. It is uncommon to find a group of people so dedicated and enthusiastic. Their enthusiasm was contagious and helped push our daughter toward great things. They have opened a door that has and will continue to change her life. On her way to the Paralympics, we have spoke often of the gift GLASA gave us, and will continue to do so for many others. Her success is their success!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

We discovered Glasa in 2001 and we are still attending sports and events to this day. Our son has grown up with these athletes, coaches and volunteers. The experiences have shaped his life so he has become a confident athlete, leader and soon to be adult. Never in a million years did I think a program like this exhisted and now 11 years later my son has had the opportunity to compete, travel, grow, share ideas, develop lifelong friendships and has become the independent person that he is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

Our son has benefitted from Glasas resources, programs and support for 7 years. He is a swimmer but has also participated in basketball, track and field, summer camp, doing a 5k, and recently triathlon training and competition. We appreciate the Glasas staff for their dedication and encoragement!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

GLASA is just plain awesome in my estimation! My granddaughter has spina bifida---she has always been my "jock", but had nowhere to really participate in athletic activities. One of her PTs suggested we look into GLASA. It took a little while for us to become involved due to distance, other obligations, hospitalizations, etc. One of the first activities she attended involved kayaking. She loved it! The next was water-skiing--the smile on her face said it all. GoGirlGo has been a positive experience, and attending Camp Trek this year led us to apply for a hand cycle--which arrived yesterday! There is nothing negative about this group...I sometimes get teary watching these kids do the things they do! The entire staff is great--always encouraging and positive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

GLASA has a very good reputation in the disability community. I recently called them for information for a young man I know who has a physical disability. They were very helpful, and I believe GLASA provides programming for individuals who often don't have access to recreation programs they need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

I have been involved wtih GLASA for many years and have been on a few diffeent teams for differents sports over the years, along with some individual sports. The staff is very helpful and it has always been a fun experience. I would definitely recommend GLASA to anyone who has the interest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers