Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.976195
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I joined GRS in 2012 and currently working as Site Coordinator in Soweto. I was inspired by the language of soccer GRS uses to educate, inspire and mobilise communities to fight against the spread of HIV.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I worked as a GRS intern for a year, an experience that brought me into a community that gave me a new standard of just how passionate people can feel towards giving their lives to an issue in their community. The energy and enthusiasm in the programs on the ground is contagious, and these programs perfectly exemplify how effective a sport for development NGO can be. I grew a tremendous amount during my year at GRS, I formed life-long friendships that I value as much as I do those with whom I grew up, and I developed an understanding of what I see as the most effective way to combat the enormous challenge of the spread of HIV: through the world's love of soccer.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I was a former intern for Grassroot Soccer and was able to see first hand the powerful impact that this program has on communities around the world. It goes far beyond educating youth about HIV/AIDS and infiltrates entire communities. This is an organization where everyone is united through the Universal Language of Soccer and no one is left out for having different passions. It excites and motivates people of all different ages and empowers youth to follow their dreams.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I was an intern in Cape Town and was deeply impressed by Grassroot Soccer. The staff is so passionate and the Coaches are truly inspiring. They had such energy and devotion towards working with youth, and it was clear they took great pride in their responsibility for educating young people in their communities about healthy behaviors. The programs focused on Coach Development and girls' empowerment were especially inspiring and I believe they made a true impact on Coaches and participants alike.
December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I was a short term intern in the partnerships office in Cape Town and it was one of my best experiences. Everyone that is involved with GRS is so passionate and energetic about the organization and it is no surprise since their mission and work is fabulous. I absolutely love everything about GRS and I support them 100% especially after working in the office and seeing how the organization works from inside out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2013

more

November 25, 2013

I was a field intern in Kimberley, South Africa for Grassroot Soccer, where I had an extremely valuable experience. The project coordination experience I gained was excellent, and the Grassroot Soccer staff and volunteers are all helpful, thoughtful, and always happy to help you with whatever you need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was a short term Operations intern for the GRS Partners division for a summer in Cape Town. I had been working on a master's of public policy degree and the amazing staff at GRS took me on to help out. They made sure I had a positive, rewarding experience while helping the mission of the organization. More than anywhere I worked, GRS truly felt like a family. I was welcomed instantly and I was extremely sad to leave when my internship ended. GRS is the best non-profit I have ever had the privilege to work for. They have a family type environment while being able to run things with efficiency of a fortune 500 company. The perfect mix of seriousness and fun while having a passion for their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I volunteered through GRS for one year, 2011-2012. I was placed at an implementing partner, Kick4Life, who was using the GRS HIV education curriculum. I found the GRS mentor driven, small group model to be an extremely effective way of teaching for youth in Lesotho. I have nothing but respect for all of the GRS staff in South Africa who I had the pleasure of working with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a stronger push to promote national staff to higher positions within the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I spent an amazing year volunteering with GRS in Kimberley, South Africa. I met so many talented, driven, and passionate people who inspired me and continue to inspire me to this day. As an intern in a small, remote site, I immersed myself in the local culture. I played with a local soccer team, at meals at our coaches houses, watched soccer at the township taverns, and built relationship with our staff and coaches. My time with GRS helped remind me that the HIV/AIDS crisis isn't about statistics and percentages, but about the people who are affected by the disease everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Grassroot Soccer has been an amazing experience and continues to be an important part of my life. I have worked for them for more than a year and I got to see pretty much all of the aspects of the organization as it was till a startup back then. What is really exciting nowadays is the way that the team has put in place processes and uses technology to improve the overall organization's efficiency. Finally, one of the aspects that makes it even more impressive is the amount of money that actually got towards projects. The organization put most of its resources on the ground where it matters most.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers