Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I was a short term intern in the partnerships office in Cape Town and it was one of my best experiences. Everyone that is involved with GRS is so passionate and energetic about the organization and it is no surprise since their mission and work is fabulous. I absolutely love everything about GRS and I support them 100% especially after working in the office and seeing how the organization works from inside out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2013

more

November 25, 2013

I was a field intern in Kimberley, South Africa for Grassroot Soccer, where I had an extremely valuable experience. The project coordination experience I gained was excellent, and the Grassroot Soccer staff and volunteers are all helpful, thoughtful, and always happy to help you with whatever you need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I interacted with Grassroot Soccer in early 2013. I was amazed and inspired by the organizations ability to combine a universal language of football and a sound Public Health, Human Rights and Gender Responsive approach to bring to the forefront the issue of HIV and GBV prevention. I am super proud of GRS's ability to produce such high impact results and reach such high numbers. I know you will continue to soar to new heights. I know this is the start of even greater things.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was a short term Operations intern for the GRS Partners division for a summer in Cape Town. I had been working on a master's of public policy degree and the amazing staff at GRS took me on to help out. They made sure I had a positive, rewarding experience while helping the mission of the organization. More than anywhere I worked, GRS truly felt like a family. I was welcomed instantly and I was extremely sad to leave when my internship ended. GRS is the best non-profit I have ever had the privilege to work for. They have a family type environment while being able to run things with efficiency of a fortune 500 company. The perfect mix of seriousness and fun while having a passion for their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I volunteered through GRS for one year, 2011-2012. I was placed at an implementing partner, Kick4Life, who was using the GRS HIV education curriculum. I found the GRS mentor driven, small group model to be an extremely effective way of teaching for youth in Lesotho. I have nothing but respect for all of the GRS staff in South Africa who I had the pleasure of working with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a stronger push to promote national staff to higher positions within the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I spent an amazing year volunteering with GRS in Kimberley, South Africa. I met so many talented, driven, and passionate people who inspired me and continue to inspire me to this day. As an intern in a small, remote site, I immersed myself in the local culture. I played with a local soccer team, at meals at our coaches houses, watched soccer at the township taverns, and built relationship with our staff and coaches. My time with GRS helped remind me that the HIV/AIDS crisis isn't about statistics and percentages, but about the people who are affected by the disease everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GRS rocks! As Director of Programming and Training for the U.S. Peace Corps in South Africa, I have had the priveledge to work with the wonderful and committed staff of GRS for the past two years. Our partnerships have supported numerous Volunteers in the field, as well as their community counterparts, and thousands of youth beneficiaries throughout South Africa. GRS's PC Skillz package is an off-the-shelf evidence based intervention that can be implemented by Volunteers and Counterparts with minimal training and support, and with fantastic results. I don't know anyone who leaves an interaction with GRS who doesn't want to shout out a kilo in support of GRS. Thanks for all that you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've had the pleasure to work with Grassroot Soccer through one of their partner programs in the Dominican Republic. The interactive methodology used in the curriculum is one of the greatest factors for the program's success. I have extensive experience working with children and youth in educational setting, and Grassroot Soccer curriculum is one of the best ways to both engage students and help them learn how to prevent HIV/AIDS. I've watched many of our young students grow from being participants, to being leaders and coaches in the program, teaching others the same lessons that helped transform their lives. The Grassroot Soccer team is a joy to work with. They are efficient, visionary, creative, evidence-based and, although they've seen significant growth, they still maintain that grassroots feel.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Grassroot Soccer has been an amazing experience and continues to be an important part of my life. I have worked for them for more than a year and I got to see pretty much all of the aspects of the organization as it was till a startup back then. What is really exciting nowadays is the way that the team has put in place processes and uses technology to improve the overall organization's efficiency. Finally, one of the aspects that makes it even more impressive is the amount of money that actually got towards projects. The organization put most of its resources on the ground where it matters most.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Spent an amazing year in there intern program based out of South Africa. It was an incredible life experience to be able to witness and take part in positive change in the live of everyone involved. The organization has amazing energy and that energy shows in the programs it runs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more long term programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers