Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.974365
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

My brother has worked for Grassroots Soccer since 2009. While each year he is away brings me great sorrow, I know that the impact he makes is worth every moment. The stories he shares of the education and community care that GRS provide make me so proud. GRS is dedicated to a worthy cause that brings HIV/AIDS prevention education to the forefront of the international community. This is an organization that has earned recognition and respect and deserves as much spotlight as possible!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I worked with GRS from 2008 - 2012 as a consultant helping with their fundraising, business development, and sponsorship. GRS is a leader in the sport for development and HIV/AIDS prevention education space. They set the standards. Still to this day, I find myself talking about the work we did with Ethan and GRS and showcasing them as the best of class.

I wish all of our clients can be like Ethan and GRS.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I joined GRS in 2012 and currently working as Site Coordinator in Soweto. I was inspired by the language of soccer GRS uses to educate, inspire and mobilise communities to fight against the spread of HIV.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I worked as a GRS intern for a year, an experience that brought me into a community that gave me a new standard of just how passionate people can feel towards giving their lives to an issue in their community. The energy and enthusiasm in the programs on the ground is contagious, and these programs perfectly exemplify how effective a sport for development NGO can be. I grew a tremendous amount during my year at GRS, I formed life-long friendships that I value as much as I do those with whom I grew up, and I developed an understanding of what I see as the most effective way to combat the enormous challenge of the spread of HIV: through the world's love of soccer.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I worked for GRS for 2 years as a Grants Manager in Zimbabwe. GRS is the best sport for development organisation that uses evidence based approach to youths' behaviour change education. I have witnessed local soccer stars working with youths in schools and the youths are inspired to change behaviour as directed by their role models. I liked the use of soccer to communicate youths daily challenges and solutions. GRS maximizes learning with fun. All high density schools in Bulawayo want to work with GRS because their kids have less HIV related challenges to deal with. The coaches who work with the youths are amazing in their level of energy, articulation of the issues and engaging conversations. I watched one session called risk field, it explains the daily challenges youths face and have to make decisions. Really the world is missing an approach that could solve halve of the youths problems. I enjoyed my stay at GRS until a more challenging position came about but still my heart is not far away from GRS. I would take an opportunity to work with the family given a chance and would encourage all to go and watch an activity if possible after reading this post.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I was a former intern for Grassroot Soccer and was able to see first hand the powerful impact that this program has on communities around the world. It goes far beyond educating youth about HIV/AIDS and infiltrates entire communities. This is an organization where everyone is united through the Universal Language of Soccer and no one is left out for having different passions. It excites and motivates people of all different ages and empowers youth to follow their dreams.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I was an intern in Cape Town and was deeply impressed by Grassroot Soccer. The staff is so passionate and the Coaches are truly inspiring. They had such energy and devotion towards working with youth, and it was clear they took great pride in their responsibility for educating young people in their communities about healthy behaviors. The programs focused on Coach Development and girls' empowerment were especially inspiring and I believe they made a true impact on Coaches and participants alike.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My daughter works for GRS in South Africa. Her stories of this organization fill me with amazement...these people care so much, they give so much. There is so much yet to do and accomplish. HIV/AIDS reduction is the most important public health challenge of our times and this organization goes above and beyond. They need more funds and much more recognition. Thank you.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I am a semester abroad student from the United States and I heard about this program through friends of mine. I think it's a great way for kids to get involved with their community, but also to promote their health. It is so important for kids to learn about safe sex and keep active in order to help the overall growth of a community. Grassroots Soccer combines fun, learning, and activity for the kids of the townships surrounding Cape Town.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I am a current exchange student who is spending just one semester abroad in Cape Town and I have already heard so much about this organization. It is truly an incredible group of people who set out to make a difference and are really getting results. Many local citizens who I have talked to praise the work that is being done in the townships across the country. Grassroots Soccer is an organization that genuinely cares about the well being of South Africa and is making great strides against HIV/AIDS.
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers