Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I worked for GRS for 2 years as a Grants Manager in Zimbabwe. GRS is the best sport for development organisation that uses evidence based approach to youths' behaviour change education. I have witnessed local soccer stars working with youths in schools and the youths are inspired to change behaviour as directed by their role models. I liked the use of soccer to communicate youths daily challenges and solutions. GRS maximizes learning with fun. All high density schools in Bulawayo want to work with GRS because their kids have less HIV related challenges to deal with. The coaches who work with the youths are amazing in their level of energy, articulation of the issues and engaging conversations. I watched one session called risk field, it explains the daily challenges youths face and have to make decisions. Really the world is missing an approach that could solve halve of the youths problems. I enjoyed my stay at GRS until a more challenging position came about but still my heart is not far away from GRS. I would take an opportunity to work with the family given a chance and would encourage all to go and watch an activity if possible after reading this post.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I was a former intern for Grassroot Soccer and was able to see first hand the powerful impact that this program has on communities around the world. It goes far beyond educating youth about HIV/AIDS and infiltrates entire communities. This is an organization where everyone is united through the Universal Language of Soccer and no one is left out for having different passions. It excites and motivates people of all different ages and empowers youth to follow their dreams.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I was an intern in Cape Town and was deeply impressed by Grassroot Soccer. The staff is so passionate and the Coaches are truly inspiring. They had such energy and devotion towards working with youth, and it was clear they took great pride in their responsibility for educating young people in their communities about healthy behaviors. The programs focused on Coach Development and girls' empowerment were especially inspiring and I believe they made a true impact on Coaches and participants alike.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My daughter works for GRS in South Africa. Her stories of this organization fill me with amazement...these people care so much, they give so much. There is so much yet to do and accomplish. HIV/AIDS reduction is the most important public health challenge of our times and this organization goes above and beyond. They need more funds and much more recognition. Thank you.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I am a semester abroad student from the United States and I heard about this program through friends of mine. I think it's a great way for kids to get involved with their community, but also to promote their health. It is so important for kids to learn about safe sex and keep active in order to help the overall growth of a community. Grassroots Soccer combines fun, learning, and activity for the kids of the townships surrounding Cape Town.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I am a current exchange student who is spending just one semester abroad in Cape Town and I have already heard so much about this organization. It is truly an incredible group of people who set out to make a difference and are really getting results. Many local citizens who I have talked to praise the work that is being done in the townships across the country. Grassroots Soccer is an organization that genuinely cares about the well being of South Africa and is making great strides against HIV/AIDS.
December 17, 2013

more

December 17, 2013

I was a short term intern in the partnerships office in Cape Town and it was one of my best experiences. Everyone that is involved with GRS is so passionate and energetic about the organization and it is no surprise since their mission and work is fabulous. I absolutely love everything about GRS and I support them 100% especially after working in the office and seeing how the organization works from inside out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2013

more

November 25, 2013

I was a field intern in Kimberley, South Africa for Grassroot Soccer, where I had an extremely valuable experience. The project coordination experience I gained was excellent, and the Grassroot Soccer staff and volunteers are all helpful, thoughtful, and always happy to help you with whatever you need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I interacted with Grassroot Soccer in early 2013. I was amazed and inspired by the organizations ability to combine a universal language of football and a sound Public Health, Human Rights and Gender Responsive approach to bring to the forefront the issue of HIV and GBV prevention. I am super proud of GRS's ability to produce such high impact results and reach such high numbers. I know you will continue to soar to new heights. I know this is the start of even greater things.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I was a short term Operations intern for the GRS Partners division for a summer in Cape Town. I had been working on a master's of public policy degree and the amazing staff at GRS took me on to help out. They made sure I had a positive, rewarding experience while helping the mission of the organization. More than anywhere I worked, GRS truly felt like a family. I was welcomed instantly and I was extremely sad to leave when my internship ended. GRS is the best non-profit I have ever had the privilege to work for. They have a family type environment while being able to run things with efficiency of a fortune 500 company. The perfect mix of seriousness and fun while having a passion for their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers