Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Gerry when she was shopping for just the right thing for her vets. I asked her to tell me her story. She handed me her business card telling me briefly about Grass Roots for the Troops and explained that she was on an urgent mission to fill a need and would be glad to fill me in more about her mission at another time. We did, and I've been working with them ever since. You see I come from a long line of military men. Navy, Army, Marines, Air Force and everyone of them stood out strong to me in my younger years. As an adult I have learned the price they pay to put themselves in harms way, but never complain or boast. We owe a great deal to these soldiers, and it's an honor to work with organizations that really go beyond to meet whatever the need may be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2012

Grass Roots gives gifts to theTroops serving, and the growing numbers of disabled and hospitalized military servicemen & women. The volunteers take the time and effort to personalize each item. This non-profit gives hope with upbeat messages, reminding our US military their efforts are appreciated, and relieving the loneliness and isolation of those who feel so far from home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2012

I have been involved with this organization for about three years. I have been impressed with the serving military Gerry Tausch has been able to find on the other side of the world. This organization actually contacts the troops and finds out their needs and wants then does the best they can to ship them to the troops. Postage is such a major expense for Grass Roots 4 The Troops that anything you can send will go a long way to make our troops not feel so far away from home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 24, 2012

Gerry is truly an inspiration. Her dedication to the troops and their families is amazing. Her efforts are endless and she seems tireless, always ready to give more. She sent packages to me while I was in Afghanistan and now is sending wonderful things to my son in Afghanistan. Her packages show how much she and her team care—she makes sure each one is designed to meet the needs of the individual. I cannot thank her enough for all she does for our troops!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

Three years ago, I rang the doorbell of Gerry Tausch, founder and president of Grassroots for The Troops, Inc. I had heard of Gerry's hard work to support the un-met needs of our military men and women stationed in harm's way. My young, Army Major friend, was a fallen hero and I wanted to make a financial, memorial donation in David's name. Since that time I have become a dedicated volunteer and more recently was invited to serve as vice-president on the Board of GRFTT. Thus, from both sides of the organization I am privileged to work with of Grassroots and view the network of volunteers who stretch across many states offering their support. Many of these volunteers have met Gerry Tausch and became motivated to offer their individual talents. It's heart warming to see the array of hand made kitted and sewed items, (see our website, www. Grassroots4TheTroops,org for specific articles) that enter the work-site, (Gerry's Tausch's home). It's from that home based work- site that I work along side other volunteers to inventory, package, and ship, "Appreciation Boxes," to our men and women military heroes. It's truly a grassroots organization as I witness the growth of relatives, friends and neighbors who support our efforts with supplying needed items and personal financial donations. Thank you to all who visit our website, www.Grassroots4TheTroops, org and for your support to our mission. Gregoria Halley

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Gerry is one of the most dedicated people that I know who would bend over backwards to make sure the Troops had whatever they need. As a volunteer I can attest that she is loved and admired by all who are involved in the work with her group. The cheer and motivation that she shows is an encouragement to anyone who knows of her work. She spends many days and evenings making sure there are ample items to fill the boxes for the Troops. The thank-you notes which she receives from troops are a testament to the love she sends with each box.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 14, 2012

Although I do not live in the Sarasota FL area, I am much aware of this fantastic organization because of my long term relationship with Gerry Tausch - and am a dedicated donor. Because of Gerry's boundless energy and organizational skills, grassroots-4-the troops sends boxes filled with comfort items to our troops deployed in Afghanistan and Iraq - and probably to other areas where there is a need. There is no other organization so committed with time, financial, volunteer and donations, all so essential for the continuation of this vital work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

WHEN GERRY HEARD THAT MY GRANDSON WAS IN AFGHANISTAN, SHE IMMEDIATELY OBTAINED HIS ADDRESS AND SENT PACKAGES TO HIM THAT HE WAS ABLE TO SHARE WITH TROOPS HE WAS ASSOCIATED WITH. SHE WAS VERY HELPFUL AND SOUGHT INFORMATION ABOUT OTHERS THAT SHE WAS ABLE TO HELP IN THE SAME WAY. SHE IS VERY COMMITTED TO HER ORGANIZATION AND THE WORK IT DOES FOR ALL HE PEOPLE OVERSEAS. I DID SEND DONATIONS TO HELP HER EFFORTS AND COMMEND HER HIGHLY FOR ALL SHE HAS DONE.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 14, 2012

I have never met anyone more passionateand motivared about our Military Heroes than Gerry Tausch. You cannot have a conversation with her without the mention of our Troops and meeting their needs. I became involved with Grass Roots several years ago by writing letters to those in VA hospitals. I work for Bank of America and soon after started what became a yearly campaign to send cards to our Troops overseas at Christmas. Over the years we've gained more and more involvement from my teammates and this past Christmas were able to send over 2,000 cards. We also started a campaign for the Friday of Memorial Day weekend "Red White & Blue Jeans Memorila Friday" The associate can contribute $5 and wear jeans along with their patriotic colors that day. The funds Gerry uses for postage of those wonderful packages she sends to our Troops. If you ever stop by her home you will see boxes stacked ready to be mailed waiting for the postage. We must support our Military and I have found no other organization as effective, determined, passionate and truly concerned about our Troops as Grass Roots 4 the Troops. And I guarantee you will never find a more driven, informed and caring person tha Gerry Tausch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers