Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.945955
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned of GPS MINISTRIES INC. from my "true" number one Best Friend Kessha, she told me of the wonderful staff & how they are here to help those in need. Of course I was hesitate about doing so simply because, I like most people find it hard to ask for anything let alone help. I think pride had/has more to do with it more than anything, but of course she convinced me to come. The truth is that I did so simply to shut her up, but when I got here and seen how sincere the staff is about helping I ended up volunteering and at this point I am grateful & thankful that I did. I feel that by doing so not only am I giving back in some small way, but at the same time somewhere along the line I too will be blessed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that there could be more exposure so that more people could know of the work that is done out of the kindness in the hearts of those that serve diligently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was in desperate need of help for thanksgiving and Christmas dinner for my family (8) that has been struggling for a while now. I was searching for help and found GPS Ministries. Mrs. PJ and the girls were very sweet and loving to me. I have never volunteered for anything before but felt I needed to be here for them as they were for me. I was very blessed to have met them all. I would recommend them to anyone. I have found a mom and a home that I would have never found if I would have never met them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 21, 2013

I first came to know about GPS Ministries as a client, I needed assistance with food. While I was applying for assistance I asked if I could volunteer my time, I was welcomed with open arms by Rev. PJ... more

December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to know about GPS MINISTRIES INC. in April 2013 when I needed assistance with food and hygiene items. As of May 2013, I was asked to be the Food Pantry Coordinator and I accepted that position with honor, However, I am presently the Director for Ministry Growth and Development. I love working at this ministry, it's an opportunity to be able to help others in the many ways I have also been helped by the loving founders and dedicated volunteers who selflessly give of they're time and talents. I just have to add that no one who works at GPS MINISTRIES INC. are paid. We are not government or state funded, We rely soley on people in community and businesses to donate. We also have several other programs that no other agency offers. We have a food pantry, kids snack-pack program, kids power hour, adult bible study, job skills program, life skills program and mommy's time-out that we offer to anyone in the community and surrounding areas FREE OF CHARGE. We are Gods People Serving (GPS).



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

I first came to know about GPS Ministries as a client, I needed assistance with food. While I was applying for assistance I asked if I could volunteer my time, I was welcomed with open arms by Rev. PJ Seals and also Rev. Virginia. They treated me like the child of God I am. I wasn't looked down upon or treated like I was just wanting a handout. I really believe in the genuine concern that this ministry has for everybody that comes through the doors, they are truly doing what Jesus has already done for His children and continues doing the Lord's Will for each and every person who asks for assistance, at GPS Ministries you will always be assisted no matter who you are,or what you're past is in life,where you come from,or what problems you may have. GPS Ministries is so much more than a food panty. Programs offered there are : job skills program, kid's power hour, kid's snack-pack program, spiritual counseling/guidance and the give-back program. Since I started volunteering in April of this year, I am now GPS Ministries Food Pantry Coordinator and Iam also en-rolled in the Annoited Learning Institute instructed by PJ Seals(ceo/founder of GPS Ministries and author of Annoited Learning Institute). We are GOD'S PEOPLE SERVING (GPS). We are not a part of the Illinois Food Bank, we operate soley on the donations and love-gifts we receive through anonymous donations and grants. I love being a part of this ministry and helping others as I have been so graciously helped. Everyone who works at GPS Ministries are volunteers, we are paid in blessings through our Lord Jesus.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything because we are blessed by God.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

GPS Ministries has been a huge blessing for me in a variety of ways. Not only did i recieve a love gift of food,i also have been very blessed to meet some very wonderful,GOD centered people who have invited me to help them serve the needs of our community....What a blessing to be able to give back to my community and to GOD what was so freely given to me. GPS Ministries have blessed me to be the Food Pantry Cooridinator at they're 334 NO. 12th st. location (Quincy,Il.) PJ Seals & Rev. Virginia are two very special ladies,so blessed and grateful to have met them both.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became a volunteer for the GPS Ministry because of the way they work with people. I walked in for assistance and I felt like someone was holding my hand guiding me through my troubles. They listened to and assisted with advise. I was so overwhelmed, I wanted to help others like they helped me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2013

I felt the spirit of God in this place today. We have an amazing work that God is doing through the people at GPS ministries and I am blessed to be allowed by God to be part of this work. more

April 15, 2014

I came to know about GPS Ministries INC by PJ and Pastor Greg coming to Church to talk about the ministry. At this time I was working full time at a Full time job in Monroe City, MO God lead me to quit my job and come to GPS Ministries Inc. as the food pantry coordinator, this was in Dec. During this time I have came to love our clients and the work that God has for me here. Know I am on the Board, I am a Donor and I also have been promoted up to the Administrative Assistant. I know that this is a God thing and he shows up and shows out here at GPS Ministries Inc.
November 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I felt the spirit of God in this place today. We have an amazing work that God is doing through the people at GPS ministries and I am blessed to be allowed by God to be part of this work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GPS is a wonderful organization ran by a very dedicated sole propietor, PJ Seals, whose heart is all in! I have had the privilidge to do a little grant writing, fund raising, and food drive organizing for the company, and I know that they go above and beyond. My mother donates freely A LOT of her time to this organization as well, Virginia Douglas, and she inspires me to do good things. Thank you mom, for being a wonderful example. And thank you PJ and your whole team for your dedication and hard work for our community! :) You Rock!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to be all about inclusion and acceptance. You guys work too hard and care too much! ;) Keep it up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered and also brought in many items of food and snacks to be distributed and donated to those in need. I also donated items for their Big garage sale to help raise funds.
GPS ministries has expanded and grown in the short time they have been running. God is blessing and using
this agency to touch and change the lives of those they come in contact with by sharing the "love of Jesus."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

I have continued to help with GPS and on the days I am not there they are on my mind. I have been helping in our fund raising ,it has given me a useful purpose and it is one I can do even with my phys... more

April 15, 2014

I came to GPS Ministries over a year ago for help. I was welcomed like I was family. I felt so warm at heart I was told about their volunteer services so I signed up. I felt I could help as well so I started to be a donor monetary and food areas. I help deliver food to our elderly that can not get to us. The more I help the more I receive from with in. I am now a Board Member as well as volunteer and donor. I pray that every one who reads this can find the same inner peace I have by helping where God has put me.
August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have continued to help with GPS and on the days I am not there they are on my mind. I have been helping in our fund raising ,it has given me a useful purpose and it is one I can do even with my physical limitations. I have achieved goals thru GPS and by doing so it has help raise my spirit. I feel better about my self because I can give back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep trying to get others to help

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I heard about gps ministry thru a friend and I went there and they welcomed me with open arms an I was treated like a family member I was asked how can we help you I said I needed food but they took the time and asked me if I needed any thing else and they make you feel so comfortable that you have no problem talking to them about how your life is going. the 2nd time I went I asked if there was any thing I could do to help as I like to give back I signed up to do volunteer work and it is a blast I feel like I can pay my way a little bit. and no mater how many time I walk in I feel like I can sit and talk to them the crew there is wonderful you don't feel like you are a burden to the folks they are the true since in helping the community

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more donations to help as we can never have to many

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been having a hard time making ends meat, just needed a few things and remembered someone telling me to try GPS. Well sometimes I feel ashamed when I have to ask for help I would like to manage on my own but times are getting harder. I have been depressed lately and my volunteer job I have now I feel like they don't need me as much any more and I am not able to stand for more than about 10 minutes without severe pain in my legs. When meeting this awesome group of women and finding out what there mission is all about which is serving God. I put on my application I would be more than happy to volunteer some time to them. On Friday I met with JP this women is totally awesome she made me feel so much wanted and needed that I felt like God was talking to her and me. I begin on Tuesday June 24th and I am so excited that I will be helping them and serving God myself what more could anyone ask for?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Say tell me what I can do for you and I will give it a 110% to do the best job for you that I can. PJ and Rev Greg and Volunteers are already doing a fine job with God's permission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The blessings and food that we received has helped and blessed me and my family. I have recommended this ministry to others and I have been blessed by the ministry and PJ is the best spiritual help I have received in a long time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in writing grants, janitorial, fill food bags, fill kids snack packs. Volunteer