Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
January 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I learned of GPS MINISTRIES INC. from my "true" number one Best Friend Kessha, she told me of the wonderful staff & how they are here to help those in need. Of course I was hesitate about doing so simply because, I like most people find it hard to ask for anything let alone help. I think pride had/has more to do with it more than anything, but of course she convinced me to come. The truth is that I did so simply to shut her up, but when I got here and seen how sincere the staff is about helping I ended up volunteering and at this point I am grateful & thankful that I did. I feel that by doing so not only am I giving back in some small way, but at the same time somewhere along the line I too will be blessed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that there could be more exposure so that more people could know of the work that is done out of the kindness in the hearts of those that serve diligently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was in desperate need of help for thanksgiving and Christmas dinner for my family (8) that has been struggling for a while now. I was searching for help and found GPS Ministries. Mrs. PJ and the girls were very sweet and loving to me. I have never volunteered for anything before but felt I needed to be here for them as they were for me. I was very blessed to have met them all. I would recommend them to anyone. I have found a mom and a home that I would have never found if I would have never met them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 21, 2013

I first came to know about GPS Ministries as a client, I needed assistance with food. While I was applying for assistance I asked if I could volunteer my time, I was welcomed with open arms by Rev. PJ... more

December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to know about GPS MINISTRIES INC. in April 2013 when I needed assistance with food and hygiene items. As of May 2013, I was asked to be the Food Pantry Coordinator and I accepted that position with honor, However, I am presently the Director for Ministry Growth and Development. I love working at this ministry, it's an opportunity to be able to help others in the many ways I have also been helped by the loving founders and dedicated volunteers who selflessly give of they're time and talents. I just have to add that no one who works at GPS MINISTRIES INC. are paid. We are not government or state funded, We rely soley on people in community and businesses to donate. We also have several other programs that no other agency offers. We have a food pantry, kids snack-pack program, kids power hour, adult bible study, job skills program, life skills program and mommy's time-out that we offer to anyone in the community and surrounding areas FREE OF CHARGE. We are Gods People Serving (GPS).



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first came to know about GPS Ministries as a client, I needed assistance with food. While I was applying for assistance I asked if I could volunteer my time, I was welcomed with open arms by Rev. PJ Seals and also Rev. Virginia. They treated me like the child of God I am. I wasn't looked down upon or treated like I was just wanting a handout. I really believe in the genuine concern that this ministry has for everybody that comes through the doors, they are truly doing what Jesus has already done for His children and continues doing the Lord's Will for each and every person who asks for assistance, at GPS Ministries you will always be assisted no matter who you are,or what you're past is in life,where you come from,or what problems you may have. GPS Ministries is so much more than a food panty. Programs offered there are : job skills program, kid's power hour, kid's snack-pack program, spiritual counseling/guidance and the give-back program. Since I started volunteering in April of this year, I am now GPS Ministries Food Pantry Coordinator and Iam also en-rolled in the Annoited Learning Institute instructed by PJ Seals(ceo/founder of GPS Ministries and author of Annoited Learning Institute). We are GOD'S PEOPLE SERVING (GPS). We are not a part of the Illinois Food Bank, we operate soley on the donations and love-gifts we receive through anonymous donations and grants. I love being a part of this ministry and helping others as I have been so graciously helped. Everyone who works at GPS Ministries are volunteers, we are paid in blessings through our Lord Jesus.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything because we are blessed by God.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

GPS Ministries has been a huge blessing for me in a variety of ways. Not only did i recieve a love gift of food,i also have been very blessed to meet some very wonderful,GOD centered people who have invited me to help them serve the needs of our community....What a blessing to be able to give back to my community and to GOD what was so freely given to me. GPS Ministries have blessed me to be the Food Pantry Cooridinator at they're 334 NO. 12th st. location (Quincy,Il.) PJ Seals & Rev. Virginia are two very special ladies,so blessed and grateful to have met them both.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I became a volunteer for the GPS Ministry because of the way they work with people. I walked in for assistance and I felt like someone was holding my hand guiding me through my troubles. They listened to and assisted with advise. I was so overwhelmed, I wanted to help others like they helped me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

If the world had more facilities with such genuine people the world would be a better place , people wouldn't just be ordinary people but that of a hard working and caring community. The people at GPS MINISTRIES are just ordinary people who have put forth countless hours to help others. I love the give back program! My family fell through many rough patches last year and we turned to GPS for help. I have recieved a lot of help for my family, donated, and volunteered my time as well. I was so blessed to not only recieve help but blessed to have donated food items since I know that by giving back it was helping out some one else who were going through a hard time too! I loved seeing all the people who were all smiles when we donated a few truck loads of patatoes it was well worth it just knowing that I could be a part of helping some one and blessing them. You can read all the reviews on here but you will never know the full efffect it will positively have on you until you expierence it yourself. GPS is always looking for donations and volunteers that way we can all come together to help one another.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Some agencies look down on you or try to force their ideology on you when you need help, but when I went to GPS ministries I felt very welcome. They were so warm and kind, and great with my baby. They even helped me get my things to the car because I had my hands full. I'm so glad people like these are helping Quincy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

GPS. Ministries., Pastors Pj & Greg Seals Food Pantry Coordinator. Lori & all of the volunteers are a huge blessing in my life & my husband's . A little over a week ago I was in the hospital and Pastors Pj & Greg & Lori came to visit my husband & I and prayed for us . After I got out we were in need of help with food . They blessed us with food and non food items . When you go to their location, you walk into a warm and heartfelt welcome . They also give spiritual support and so much more. For my husband & I GPS. Ministries is a blessing to have in our lives, but most importantly they are all like and considered family for many reasons.May GPS Ministries. & everyone there always be blessed in many ways .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I came into GPS ministries to do community service because I got a traffic ticket. If I do community service then I wouldn't have my C&I on my record. It turned out to be a blessing for me. I am used to working in ministries. I was the International Programs Director for Addicts Victorious it is a international program. When I came to GPS ministries I seen how organized it was and how faithful the volunteers was and the Executive Director. Their is no one at this ministry that even gets paid and the Executive Director and her husband uses their own money to make up the difference of what they need monthly. Its all for people in need of food, personal items ,kids ministry, and job skills training. This is a Christ centered Ministry there is no government funding like the rest of the pantries. This ministry is to fill in the gaps when the other places run out of things or the people need more help. If families are out of food just one food pantry will not supply all there needs that's why we need several in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. they are doing everything right. We do need to start asking more churches for food donations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GPS is a wonderful organization ran by a very dedicated sole propietor, PJ Seals, whose heart is all in! I have had the privilidge to do a little grant writing, fund raising, and food drive organizing for the company, and I know that they go above and beyond. My mother donates freely A LOT of her time to this organization as well, Virginia Douglas, and she inspires me to do good things. Thank you mom, for being a wonderful example. And thank you PJ and your whole team for your dedication and hard work for our community! :) You Rock!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to be all about inclusion and acceptance. You guys work too hard and care too much! ;) Keep it up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered and also brought in many items of food and snacks to be distributed and donated to those in need. I also donated items for their Big garage sale to help raise funds.
GPS ministries has expanded and grown in the short time they have been running. God is blessing and using
this agency to touch and change the lives of those they come in contact with by sharing the "love of Jesus."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with marketing, fundraising, writing grants, basic computer/IT, job skills program, kids programs and our food program. Volunteer