Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I had just moved out on my own. Got my first apartment boy i thought . was gonna be a piece of cake. Reality sat in bills came more than my income was budgeted for. I came to GPS ministries where i meet PJ. She know i was in distress when i walked thru the door. We talked and prayed she helped me to understand that all people go thru changes in their life. She helped me with food, meats,sweets and toiletry items.Before i lefted i know this is a place where i felted the love and compassion. The staff was just as wonderful as she was. So now i volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

Ive came to know GPS ministry and its CEO. I would never thought I would help out a organization like this ever in my life untill the day I got to meet mrs. Pj seals n GPS ministry. She made me feel like I was at home when I got to volunteer. Im proud to say that herself and her ministry is one of the best things that had ever happen here in Quincy. I love how she makes others feel when they walk threw that door. Proud to call my self a volunteer for GPS ministry. .. top pantry love volunteering for

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

Hi I came to GPS Ministries a s a client. Was low on food and A friend told me about GPS Ministries. They were very helpful. Not only did they help with food but also toiletries. Also gave my grandkids a little goodies sack of there own. They also invited my granddaughter to come to .happy hour. She really enjoyed it. I have sense took on a girl scouts troop and with there help we have tried to give back to them .I have also become a volunteer. Thanks for everything and God bless you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I came to GPS MINISTRIES as a client in 2013, I joined this ministry as a volunteer in many different areas, I don't volunteer at this time, however I still do what I can to help any way I can, wether its food donations, monetary ect.This ministry is very different from those in this community and surrounding communities.When you come to this ministry (GPS) you get fed Spiritually as well, and you're not treated as statistic, you're treated like a child of GOD and you become part of a family regardless of who you are or what your past may be. GPS MINISTRIES is more than a food pantry, they offer a large range of services, including job skills,adult bible study,children snack pack program, kids power hour ect. If you would like to help this community, start with this ministry. Check out the website and learn what they are all about.







More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

I came to GPS ministries with my daughter. My household had became very low on food. I was met with kindness and a caring staff. They prayed for my family and my health. I was touched by the loving support I received there. I now volunteer and GPS ministries has became my extended family. The staff is very caring and supportive to all that come through there doors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2013

I felt the spirit of God in this place today. We have an amazing work that God is doing through the people at GPS ministries and I am blessed to be allowed by God to be part of this work. more

April 15, 2014

I came to know about GPS Ministries INC by PJ and Pastor Greg coming to Church to talk about the ministry. At this time I was working full time at a Full time job in Monroe City, MO God lead me to quit my job and come to GPS Ministries Inc. as the food pantry coordinator, this was in Dec. During this time I have came to love our clients and the work that God has for me here. Know I am on the Board, I am a Donor and I also have been promoted up to the Administrative Assistant. I know that this is a God thing and he shows up and shows out here at GPS Ministries Inc.
November 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I felt the spirit of God in this place today. We have an amazing work that God is doing through the people at GPS ministries and I am blessed to be allowed by God to be part of this work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

I have continued to help with GPS and on the days I am not there they are on my mind. I have been helping in our fund raising ,it has given me a useful purpose and it is one I can do even with my phys... more

April 15, 2014

I came to GPS Ministries over a year ago for help. I was welcomed like I was family. I felt so warm at heart I was told about their volunteer services so I signed up. I felt I could help as well so I started to be a donor monetary and food areas. I help deliver food to our elderly that can not get to us. The more I help the more I receive from with in. I am now a Board Member as well as volunteer and donor. I pray that every one who reads this can find the same inner peace I have by helping where God has put me.
August 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have continued to help with GPS and on the days I am not there they are on my mind. I have been helping in our fund raising ,it has given me a useful purpose and it is one I can do even with my physical limitations. I have achieved goals thru GPS and by doing so it has help raise my spirit. I feel better about my self because I can give back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep trying to get others to help

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I heard about gps ministry thru a friend and I went there and they welcomed me with open arms an I was treated like a family member I was asked how can we help you I said I needed food but they took the time and asked me if I needed any thing else and they make you feel so comfortable that you have no problem talking to them about how your life is going. the 2nd time I went I asked if there was any thing I could do to help as I like to give back I signed up to do volunteer work and it is a blast I feel like I can pay my way a little bit. and no mater how many time I walk in I feel like I can sit and talk to them the crew there is wonderful you don't feel like you are a burden to the folks they are the true since in helping the community

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more donations to help as we can never have to many

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I learned of GPS MINISTRIES INC. from my "true" number one Best Friend Kessha, she told me of the wonderful staff & how they are here to help those in need. Of course I was hesitate about doing so simply because, I like most people find it hard to ask for anything let alone help. I think pride had/has more to do with it more than anything, but of course she convinced me to come. The truth is that I did so simply to shut her up, but when I got here and seen how sincere the staff is about helping I ended up volunteering and at this point I am grateful & thankful that I did. I feel that by doing so not only am I giving back in some small way, but at the same time somewhere along the line I too will be blessed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that there could be more exposure so that more people could know of the work that is done out of the kindness in the hearts of those that serve diligently.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was in desperate need of help for thanksgiving and Christmas dinner for my family (8) that has been struggling for a while now. I was searching for help and found GPS Ministries. Mrs. PJ and the girls were very sweet and loving to me. I have never volunteered for anything before but felt I needed to be here for them as they were for me. I was very blessed to have met them all. I would recommend them to anyone. I have found a mom and a home that I would have never found if I would have never met them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 21, 2013

I first came to know about GPS Ministries as a client, I needed assistance with food. While I was applying for assistance I asked if I could volunteer my time, I was welcomed with open arms by Rev. PJ... more

December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to know about GPS MINISTRIES INC. in April 2013 when I needed assistance with food and hygiene items. As of May 2013, I was asked to be the Food Pantry Coordinator and I accepted that position with honor, However, I am presently the Director for Ministry Growth and Development. I love working at this ministry, it's an opportunity to be able to help others in the many ways I have also been helped by the loving founders and dedicated volunteers who selflessly give of they're time and talents. I just have to add that no one who works at GPS MINISTRIES INC. are paid. We are not government or state funded, We rely soley on people in community and businesses to donate. We also have several other programs that no other agency offers. We have a food pantry, kids snack-pack program, kids power hour, adult bible study, job skills program, life skills program and mommy's time-out that we offer to anyone in the community and surrounding areas FREE OF CHARGE. We are Gods People Serving (GPS).



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first came to know about GPS Ministries as a client, I needed assistance with food. While I was applying for assistance I asked if I could volunteer my time, I was welcomed with open arms by Rev. PJ Seals and also Rev. Virginia. They treated me like the child of God I am. I wasn't looked down upon or treated like I was just wanting a handout. I really believe in the genuine concern that this ministry has for everybody that comes through the doors, they are truly doing what Jesus has already done for His children and continues doing the Lord's Will for each and every person who asks for assistance, at GPS Ministries you will always be assisted no matter who you are,or what you're past is in life,where you come from,or what problems you may have. GPS Ministries is so much more than a food panty. Programs offered there are : job skills program, kid's power hour, kid's snack-pack program, spiritual counseling/guidance and the give-back program. Since I started volunteering in April of this year, I am now GPS Ministries Food Pantry Coordinator and Iam also en-rolled in the Annoited Learning Institute instructed by PJ Seals(ceo/founder of GPS Ministries and author of Annoited Learning Institute). We are GOD'S PEOPLE SERVING (GPS). We are not a part of the Illinois Food Bank, we operate soley on the donations and love-gifts we receive through anonymous donations and grants. I love being a part of this ministry and helping others as I have been so graciously helped. Everyone who works at GPS Ministries are volunteers, we are paid in blessings through our Lord Jesus.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything because we are blessed by God.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

GPS Ministries has been a huge blessing for me in a variety of ways. Not only did i recieve a love gift of food,i also have been very blessed to meet some very wonderful,GOD centered people who have invited me to help them serve the needs of our community....What a blessing to be able to give back to my community and to GOD what was so freely given to me. GPS Ministries have blessed me to be the Food Pantry Cooridinator at they're 334 NO. 12th st. location (Quincy,Il.) PJ Seals & Rev. Virginia are two very special ladies,so blessed and grateful to have met them both.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in writing grants, case management, basic life, teach educational programs, fill food bags, fill kids snack packs. Volunteer