Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12.81818345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The chapter of Goodwill has eliminated all its programs aimed at the special needs community over the last few years. They had 2 programs that helped individuals transition from school to the working world. Despite being full to capacity every session, this program was closed. They also had a program where participants were brought in to work in the garden/farm. This too was closed.

Contrary to their advertising, this Goodwill does little more for employment and training than any other retail employer in North Carolina. They do still have a website that provides basic skills…but they closed the program that taught people office skills and how to get and keep such a position. I guess canned web videos are more efficient, and you don’t have to teach office demeanor or resume writing at all.

I was curious how this organization had such good reviews. Then I noticed, most of the positive reviews are written by people who work for the organization. Their lawyer wrote a review, how nice. Rene M. sounds like her organization is completely funded, if now owned by Goodwill.

This Goodwill excels at its mission. That mission is, of course, to make Dennis and Linda McLain a ton of money.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2011

more

September 19, 2011

Tammy Lynn Center for Developmental Disabilities has had the good fortune to be involved with Goodwill Industries of Eastern North Carolina for several years. In our interactions with Goodwill Industries of Eastern North Carolina (GIENC), we have found them to demonstrate impeccable business practices and a genuine commitment to families and individuals involved with developmental disabilities. GIENC tends to identify unmet needs in their geographic area and mobilize resources to meet those needs in a highly thoughtful, productive, effective manner. Their reach is broad and their support for families involved with developmental disabilities is quiet, sincere, and extremely accountable. We are proud to have the opportunity to work with Goodwill Industries of Eastern North Carolina and look forward to a continued strong relationship with them in the years to come. We encourage others to learn about GIENC’s work and commitment by visiting their website at http://www.goodwillenc.org.
Mary Freeman, President & CEO Tammy Lynn Center for Developmental Disabilities

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through their support for critical projects to care for families and individuals involved with developmental disabilities

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly cannot think of anything that I would recommend that they change. They have strong administrative and board leadership and they are highly accountable in their work inthe communities they serve and in their overall management of their organization.

July 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My first contact with Goodwill Industries of Eastern NC was about three years ago. I am the director of, what was then, small non-profit, that assists families who have children born prematurely or with special needs. Family Support Network of Wake County had been supporting families for 24 years, with 1.5 full time employees in Wake County. Because of the economic climate we lost the majority of our funding and were at risk of shutting down. We did the typical fundraising events and raised enough for a couple of months. Of course during those events we had no time to serve families.
I met with Goodwill Industries of Eastern NC and we realized we had very much the same mission of supporting people. For the past several years we have been part of GIENC and employed by them. We still have our own Board of Directors who gives the program complete guidance.
Because of GIENC’s support, FSN now has 12 employees and covers 13 different counties in Eastern North Carolina. We have employees in four different neonatal intensive care units to assist families who children were born prematurely or with special needs. We have started many new programs that support families because of Goodwill’s generosity. Last year we had over 4,000 contacts with parents that we supported. That would not have been possible without the support of GIENC.
I encourage you to go to their website and see all the wonderful things they do to serve the people in their community.
My organization is very grateful to GIENC and extremely happy to be part of their family!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their very generous support on my organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand to help even more people

December 6, 2010
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2010
7 people found this review helpful

This particular chapter of Goodwill claims that its mission is to provide people of eastern North Carolina with the dignity of a job with a living wage, with particular emphasis on those people who are disabled. However, in truth this organization is more interested in profits to expand their footprint and actively engages in practices that not only do a disservice to the idea of Goodwill, but also to a respectable company. To sum it up briefly, their claim that .89 of every dollar goes to program initiatives includes all operating expenses for their retail locations, including the inflated wages of its president and vice-president (husband and wife, incidentally), who, despite making over $700,000 combined every year, still file for a 'religious' housing allowance on their tax return, as Mr. McClain is an ordained Methodist minister. Meanwhile on the operational store level, employees are daily faced with situations that should require charity, yet are instructed by our superiors that 'our prices are low enough so that people in extreme circumstances can still afford our products.' For instance, in my time with them I had the unfortunate position of informing a family whose house had recently burned down that we could do nothing for them (they had been issued a vouchers which i couldn't accept, according to my district manager; I was told to send them to the Salvation Army or to have them come back when they had money).

While they operate a website call gcflearnfree.org which provides people with basic interactive lessons on everything from computers to math, I truly doubt it costs millions to keep it operational. Keep in mind that donations are big business--in 2008, their projected goals for the company exceeded $25 million, all from product that was either donated outright or purchased for a pittance (as in old/broken Target merchandise). A glance at their Form 990 on their website will reveal that even some of their district managers crack six figures, a big reason why nobody speaks to the elephant sitting in the room--that being, for a 'NON-profit' that exists solely on the generosity of others, why is it run with such a bloodlust for profit. If the corporate structure gets handsomely paid, then why address the fact that such profits aren't equally distributed to the lowest rungs, to the people that actually earn and need it?

Despite their mission statement of providing people with the dignity of a job, they regularly instill in their employees a sense of fear and dread, where in the day-to-day setting, they fear being terminated for some minor, unknown offense (official corporate policy is to terminate the employees without furnishing a reason, in accordance with North Carolina's at-will labor laws). I've known perfectly good workers who have been with them for years (one for 5+ years) summarily dismissed without explanation or cause. Even as a manager, I was subjected to the same treatment; when I called the corporate office for clarity/closure, I received only silence. I left repeated voicemails to no avail, and then discovered when I called my old store that the employees there were instructed not to speak to me, for fear of their jobs. Keep in mind that Goodwill employs people who might not be in the best life circumstances (though most are not disabled as they would claim) and pays them $10 an hour for retail work, perhaps more than they can get elsewhere, and you can understand how employees can be intimidated and mistreated. I had originally hoped to make a career out of this position, to work in the services of those less fortunate; however, once employed, I discovered that basically this company exists to prey on the poor and reap the benefits of 'non-profit' status and name recognition.

In closing, based on my experiences, I will NEVER recommend ANY Goodwill to anyone ever again, and I would offer that for anyone considering a donation to them, do your due diligence in researching and confirming what I've related. Their IRS Form 990 is posted on their website, though I suspect people overlook it (and that Goodwill hopes/expects that).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that I have previously worked for the company

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change its working philosophy to adequately reflect its mission statement, as well as its place within the larger picture of society.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers