Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12.66667345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

They treat employees like children. They give the impression to the public that they hire people who could not get a job else where or who have disabilities or criminal records, but this is not true. Most employees have had long careers in retail or other normal jobs. But the culture of corporate is fire fast with just a phone call. One store has had 10 people fired or quit in the last 10 months and that's just one store so I can imagine it is like that in all the stores. The pay is great for retail in the area, so any smart person should know that when the pay and benefits are good but you still have high turnover then there is a major problem in the company. You are devalued and treating like a child, they will take your vacation days if there is bad winter weather and you can't come in and you have to use vacation days for doctors appointment. You cannot request for that to be your day off for that reason. So basically the culture is one of fear of always losing your job when you walk in every morning even when you are doing nothing wrong. And they will not tell you why they are firing you and will only fire you over the phone like cowards. They do help some in the community but I can see how much more they could do. My advice to Goodwill... Charity starts at home.... Treat your employees with more respect and involve them more with the company and its mission, if they have job satisfaction that will strive to make the company better! Have each store donate directly to a cause in the town it is located in, like sponsor a family for Christmas or donate unsold shoes and other items to the homeless or veterans. Involve and support your employees they are working hard when they first start out but your culture tears them down and they give up! And when corporate comes into the store please greet each employee and show some respect instead of instilling fear!!!
March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

No way I will shop here. They are leading the public into believing they are non-profit, yet their President and VP earn an incredibly large salary. There are other wonderful thrift stores in the Raleigh area that can benefit, shame on Goodwill.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the management

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

$800,000.00 a year to Dennis & Linda McLain. How can they qualify as a non-profit? With the little they do I will give to the Salvation Army next time. I fell that the public should know that there donations are going to fill the McLain pockets not help people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

$800K a year for the husband and wife president and VP. I'll keep donating but I'll find another organization to which to donate. These people are scum.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Shame on Dennis and Linda McLain and on the Board of Directors for paying and accepting such grossly inflated salaries. They are earning easily 4 times more than a reasonable salary for their positions. The public has just learned of this scandal. What are you as the Board going to do about it?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The chapter of Goodwill has eliminated all its programs aimed at the special needs community over the last few years. They had 2 programs that helped individuals transition from school to the working world. Despite being full to capacity every session, this program was closed. They also had a program where participants were brought in to work in the garden/farm. This too was closed.

Contrary to their advertising, this Goodwill does little more for employment and training than any other retail employer in North Carolina. They do still have a website that provides basic skills…but they closed the program that taught people office skills and how to get and keep such a position. I guess canned web videos are more efficient, and you don’t have to teach office demeanor or resume writing at all.

I was curious how this organization had such good reviews. Then I noticed, most of the positive reviews are written by people who work for the organization. Their lawyer wrote a review, how nice. Rene M. sounds like her organization is completely funded, if now owned by Goodwill.

This Goodwill excels at its mission. That mission is, of course, to make Dennis and Linda McLain a ton of money.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2011

more

September 19, 2011

Tammy Lynn Center for Developmental Disabilities has had the good fortune to be involved with Goodwill Industries of Eastern North Carolina for several years. In our interactions with Goodwill Industries of Eastern North Carolina (GIENC), we have found them to demonstrate impeccable business practices and a genuine commitment to families and individuals involved with developmental disabilities. GIENC tends to identify unmet needs in their geographic area and mobilize resources to meet those needs in a highly thoughtful, productive, effective manner. Their reach is broad and their support for families involved with developmental disabilities is quiet, sincere, and extremely accountable. We are proud to have the opportunity to work with Goodwill Industries of Eastern North Carolina and look forward to a continued strong relationship with them in the years to come. We encourage others to learn about GIENC’s work and commitment by visiting their website at http://www.goodwillenc.org.
Mary Freeman, President & CEO Tammy Lynn Center for Developmental Disabilities

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through their support for critical projects to care for families and individuals involved with developmental disabilities

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly cannot think of anything that I would recommend that they change. They have strong administrative and board leadership and they are highly accountable in their work inthe communities they serve and in their overall management of their organization.

August 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am an attorney with Ward and Smith, P.A. in Greenville, NC. I met the McLains and Goodwill Industries approximately 3 years ago. In the interim, I have worked with them closely and believe that I have come to know them well. My involvement with Goodwill is through Boys & Girls Clubs in Greenville and Kinston, NC. I have been involved with Boys & Girls Clubs for almost 22 years. Goodwill and the McLains sought us out because they heard that a Methodist Church in Greenville houses a Boys & Girls Club. Goodwill immediately became a financial supporter of that Club, and has consistently been a supporter since then.

Then, a Club in Kinston closed down due to lack of funding and loss of support by the local business community. We were aware of the closing, and concerned, but unable to do anything due to our own recession-based funding woes. Dennis McLain called me and asked if we (Boys & Girls Clubs of Pitt County, Inc) would get involved if Goodwill would provide financial support. We became involved, and that Kinston Club is operational again and serving close to 100 children daily. This is all due to the initiative shown by Goodwill and the McLains. We did not seek them out. In both Greenville and Kinston, they initiated their involvement, looking for opportunities to make a difference for children.

I have seen Dennis McLain speak both to children at Boys & Girls Clubs, and to adult supporters of those Clubs. I know Linda McLain quite well also. I have met the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Goodwill. I know where their hearts lie: they have a passion for helping disadvantaged people, and especially children. They have directed their passion, and the funds of Goodwill, to doing good, and have indicated that they want to do even more for children in eastern NC.

The world sorely needs more non-profits like Goodwill, and non-profit managers like the McLains.

H. L. Stephenson III

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Pitt and Lenoir Counties, NC

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

July 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My first contact with Goodwill Industries of Eastern NC was about three years ago. I am the director of, what was then, small non-profit, that assists families who have children born prematurely or with special needs. Family Support Network of Wake County had been supporting families for 24 years, with 1.5 full time employees in Wake County. Because of the economic climate we lost the majority of our funding and were at risk of shutting down. We did the typical fundraising events and raised enough for a couple of months. Of course during those events we had no time to serve families.
I met with Goodwill Industries of Eastern NC and we realized we had very much the same mission of supporting people. For the past several years we have been part of GIENC and employed by them. We still have our own Board of Directors who gives the program complete guidance.
Because of GIENC’s support, FSN now has 12 employees and covers 13 different counties in Eastern North Carolina. We have employees in four different neonatal intensive care units to assist families who children were born prematurely or with special needs. We have started many new programs that support families because of Goodwill’s generosity. Last year we had over 4,000 contacts with parents that we supported. That would not have been possible without the support of GIENC.
I encourage you to go to their website and see all the wonderful things they do to serve the people in their community.
My organization is very grateful to GIENC and extremely happy to be part of their family!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their very generous support on my organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand to help even more people

July 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

GIENC is an organization I'm honored to be associated with. I have personally and professionally worked with top level management and Board Members to further the mission of assisting families. GIENC has been generous in providing support to many Boys & Girls Clubs organizations, two of which I served as Executive Director. Without the various levels of support, several of these B&G Clubs would be non-existent. I have always witnessed a true community effort with GIENC, an effort that expands globally. The integrity of GIENC has never been comprised during my 4 year relationship and I look forward to partnering with GIENC for many years. I can honestly say that GIENC is responsible for providing free sevices to over 2,500 youth and families during our collaboration.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Youth development Services, Administrative Support, Managerial Guidance

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not one single change. Keep doing your great work throughout Eastern North Carolina.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers