Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I became unemployed in March of 2010. I can't remember when I didn't have a job before that. I felt alone, afraid, frustrated, angry, and so many more emotions. My finances were scarce as well. My counselor from BSVI (Bureau Services for the Visually Impaired) suggested I go to Goodwill in order to help me find a job. I didn't want to go there. I had some preconceived ideas of what Goodwill was all about. I did not know if Goodwill could help me find a job that meets my needs. Boy was I wrong.
I enrolled in Goodwill Workforce Development in May of 2010 to help me look for a job. I found Goodwill Columbus to be the most helpful, courteous, caring, non judgemental, and knowledgeable staff that I could have ever hope for to guide me back in to the working world. I started with a soft skills class. That was to give me some helpful pointers about employment such as tips on interviewing, what employers were looking for in an employee, how to handle myself in the work place, and so much more. The networking class did a lot of the same things, but more in-depth. Those two classes were so helpful. The networking class helped with resume writing suggestions as well as mock interviews, job leads, open discussions, and more. I worked one on one with a job developer to improve my presentation during interviews, we worked on learning how to keep a job log of job leads to follow up on and their results, we went to job fairs, wrote thank you letters to employers for interviewing me, and so much more.
Now, was this easy, no, was this fun, no. The reason is that it takes time to really find a job, especially now with the job market being so tough to get in to. It makes it even harder to do with a disability. That's why the help of Goodwill was so essential to my job placement. It took five months of all the hard work I mentioned before I actually got a job. My job developer worked tirelessly to help make that happen with me, not for me. I say that because we worked together. We were a team, along with the rest of the staff who wanted to see me succeed. I think they wanted me to succeed as much as I did.
So, now I'm happily in a job at UCB (United Collection Bureau) and have been for a little over a year. With the help of my job-developer/job coach, and some great equipment, as well as the staff at UCB, I have been a productive, happy, and financially stable individual. Having a job has brought back my self confidence as well as given me the courage to apply for another position at UCB which I started back in November. I have gotten a raise and, I am learning more about the job each day. Most important, I couldn't have done it without the help of Goodwill Columbus and my employer. I'm so thankful I'm employed again. Not only that, I started volunteering at a place called Hands On Central Ohio. I set up appointments for people to pick up food at the local food pantries and I love it. I feel as though I am giving back to the community that I so proudly live in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

I was a client looking for work and came across COWIC in early 2011. During a weekly program, Goodwill of Columbus was there to lend a helping hand, through presentations, resume writing techniques and making job-seekers understand their role when applying for work. I am so thankful for their time, patience, work and sincere dedication while many of us were gearing up for the Sherwin Williams paint job in late April-May 2011. They have been an absolute blessing. I wish that I was still in Columbus, OH to see how they are coming along since helping me. I have since then moved back to Chicago, in my first year of grad school and on my way to a new career. Thank you so much and blessings.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

There is a long list of options provided via Goodwill Columbus and participants have a very positive impression of their experience as well. The staff is well trained and very motivated to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

I have been fortunate enough to meet many people helped by Goodwill, particularly in the area of workforce development. Lonnie Willis Jr. is one example who gained the confidence and the social acceptance needed to thrive in his job and create stability for his family. At each Board meeting, we meet another resident/client and family member who has succeeded in life thanks to the many services of Goodwill, and I am touched by how their quality of life has been enhanced. The prom done for Sage services and the art classes for all clients, these are incredible avenues that allow indviduals to express themselves and feel part of a larger complex world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

Goodwill's training program is fantastic! During 2011 Goodwill had 525 program participants that received wages, including 200 that were placed in competitive emplyment opportunities and 146 employed by Goodwill itself. While Goodwill has a number of business lines, I can attest that, having served on the Board and various committees for the last several years, it's really all about the mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

Until I joined the Goodwill Columbus board two years ago, I was not aware of all the good work that contributes to the overall mission. I have been particularly impressed with all the stories I have heard from people who are so proud of the skills they have developed and the way they are now contributing. Their pride extends to their level of independence and the support they are providing for their families. The graduation ceremony I attended was evidence of how many people Goodwill is preparing for the workforce, so they can be contributing to society as opposed to being a drain on public assistance. This is one small way of getting our economy moving and everybody wins.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

I've been out of work ,for awhile Goodwill Staff has given additional training cause struck one job lead me behind. They have a great staff who all people who is asking for their help to succed as well.Thank you! Goodwill Industries of Central Ohio.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2010

more

January 25, 2010

As a member of the Goodwill Columbus Service Board for 20+ years, and a member of the Goodwill Board of Directors for 10 years, I have observed at close hand numerous clients attend their graduation from the Goodwill programs with a job in hand as they leave our doors. They have new skills, they have been coached on their responsibilities and will continue to be, if needed. The success stories shared by "keynote speakers", i.e., previous graduates are inspiring. Goodwill has close relationships with area businesses, and many of those come to Goodwill asking for our graduates based on their experiences with former Goodwill students. GWC (Goodwill Cols) strives to find out what the student would like to do, and if possible, find a way that they can be trained to do this job. The management and program staff constantly strives to find out the needs of our business community, and make sure graduates have the skills and tools to do those jobs in an ever-changing and competitive marketplace. GWC has a Business Advisory Counsel composed of business people in the community who advise our staff and help train our students. They practice interviewing techniques with students and do role playing with them before they head out for their real life interviews. The staff truly desires to make sure their graduates are fully equipped to succeed. What more could you ask for? I've been proud and happy to be associated with GWC for many years.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Understanding how they go about serving the needs of people with very diverse disabilities or barriers to employment. The staff is innovative and anxious to find new ways both to serve the mission and to raise funds for the mission.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff always exceeds my expectations in their dedication and desire to serve the clients. Although non-profits like GWC do not hand out grand paychecks, so many of the staff members have been there 10, 20 or more years!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

With 10 million $$$, this organization could serve so many more people. They are currently trying to assess serving more veterans and former prison inmates. This takes more staff, but these populations have needs that could effectively be served by GWC.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 22, 2010

more

January 22, 2010

Goodwill has an amazing mission. The independence they bring to their community is outstanding. Everyone from the bottom up displays their own dedication to Goodwill’s cause. It is a true sign of an excellent organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through various events they have hosted.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Is the pure enjoyment via their participants when you are there to help.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Very didicated to the mission!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 22, 2010

more

January 22, 2010

Goodwill continuously provides volunteers with great opportunities to give back in the local community. I have personally volunteered in bowling and the art studio. Their mission of empowering individuals with disabilities and other barriers is great. I loved the interaction i had with their consumers. It was a great experience.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The interaction i have had with the consumers they serve. it was a great experience.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers