Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
123.6969745
Write A Review
June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

Hi names Tim I live in pa I went in goodwill they had nice stuff but what they do with the other stuff is horrible there's a dumpster filled with stuff I go in ask if thats donations at night or trash they said trash i looked in dumpster and really see no trash unless you mean the shashed up pictures collectable cup Crystal candy dishes I go in a few days later they said it for a salvage yard so they take your donations and throw them in saidddumpster and break the stuff doing it I go in to the store all the time I bought a raiders cup I found 4 others by the dumpster because dumpster was full I would have bought in store if they put them out but no lets throw them in the trash they dont care what value of the stuff is it could be 100 dollar's and would still be in trash like a Norman Rockwell collectable cup in store dont have money so I pulled it from dumpster but sadly smash framed lithographs in store then dumpster smashed

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only thing I can say im starting my own without throwing in dumpster and smash the other big name store aint no better u got stuff for free doesn't sell give to homeless give to shelters hell send to third world countries do not destroy do not make more pollution people need the stuff we have now to use not tk be put in dump

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 17, 2014

Until about a year ago, I had no idea what Goodwill actually did for our communities. I just thought it was a great place to find a great deal on dollar Thursdays! Being a single mom, shopping at Goodwill meant the opportunity to find affordable, great quality, gently used clothing for my son and myself. However, when I applied for and was offered a position within the organization, I soon realized the impact Goodwill has on our communities. I was fortunate enough to be able to tour one of the Career Centers, and I witnessed nothing short of a miracle. A homeless woman who had come in to utilize the free job seeking services Goodwill provides had come in to thank the staff because she was offered a job and was to begin work the next day. The assistance she received at the Career Center truly changed her life. Another great success story comes from one of my best friends - she was unemployed, and she went in to a Career Center on a Wednesday and was offered a job the very next day. Again, Goodwill changed her life! I'm so proud to be part of such a wonderful organization that actually lives up to it's mission, which is "Putting People To Work!". It's a privilege to come in every day and know the work I do will inevitably make a difference in someone's life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have only recently become acquainted with Goodwill Of Central Arizona, and that acquaintance has left a very foul taste in my mouth. Someone who I am very close to is employed by this 'non'-profit organization. The very idea that they deem themselves as a non-profit organization, and are RECOGNIZED BY THE IRS AS SUCH, makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up!

They pride themselves in stating that "Goodwill of Central Arizona has one, single mission. To fund programs that give local job-seekers the skills they need to find careers and happiness." HAPPINESS??? Everything that I have been made aware of has nothing to do with happiness. My friend, who will remain anonymous, has had what I would call an eye opening experience with "Badwill".

From day one of her employment she has been harassed by at least one fellow employee and one manager. We are not sure if it has to do with her sexual orientation or not. There is nothing we can prove. About a month ago, she was injured on the job. The injury was such that she was unable to perform her regular duties. Her doctor ordered that she not return to that position, but be given accommodation. His orders were that she be seated 90% of the time.

The store manager decided to have her price jewelry, but she worked through that very quickly and soon there was nothing to do. He then decided to train her as a cashier, which she adapted to and excelled in very quickly. Her sales have been phenomenal, and the donations at her register have taken first place in the store for the past two weeks.

She is not looking to remain a cashier, and is only doing this per doctors orders until her injury heals completely. But, while she is performing this duty, she wants to do it well and be recognized for it. She did lose one receipt, for which she received a 'write up' by the manager. If you know anything about 'Badwill', you' know that they have a three strike rule. Three and you're OUT!!!

Last evening, my friend came down with a sudden illness. It was so profound that she passed out on the patio and had to be helped back into the house and her bed. She was sick all night, and when she awoke her head was pounding and she was extremely nauseated. I told her that I would phone her manager so that she could try to see a doctor, but she refused, stating that it was ,'Badwills' policy to write up any employee who missed work, regardless of the reason. So, she went to work very ill.

Upon arriving at work, she was asked to go to the office, before she had even clocked in. In the office were two managers, one of whom is the manager who does not like her. The managers told her that they had received complaints from some of the other cashiers that she was 'bossy, rude, and had poor customer service', none of which even sounds like her, and is totally unbelievable. She asked who had made those untrue statements, and the managers told her they couldn't tell her, that all they wanted to do was take care of the problem. The manager who does not like her stated that she had heard my friend being rude to a customer on the phone, which is also unbelievable.

This organization needs to be exposed for what they really are. Labor Department records show that some Goodwill workers in Pennsylvania earned wages as low as 22, 38 and 41 cents per hour in 2009, and that is not the only state where workers have suffered such terrible abuse.

Here is a link to an article that some of you may find interesting:

http://investigations.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/06/25/19062348-disabled-workers-paid-just-pennies-an-hour-and-its-legal?lite


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close the doors and admit that they have taken advantage of their 501(c)(3) status. Admit that they pay their CEO's hundreds of thousands of dollars in salaries every year. Admit that their management is poorly trained, and that they are not equipped to or suitable to be employers. Admit that the farce that they are is ready to throw in the towel! I am going to call for a boycott of this store, and most likely the rest of this god forsaken organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

A great organization that has a major positive impact on the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately this isn't a great review but rather a message to Goodwill Industries of Central Arizona. I have a few friends who work at a Scottsdale Rd store in Tempe AZ whom on a daily basis leave work feeling like they were just beaten with a baseball bat. I am a former employee who was fired for trying to stand up to "Bree" the production manager at the store who treats the production like a heard of sheep or cow being sent to slaughter. That isn't mmuch of an exaggeration! She constantly demeans the employees with no respect or concern for their feeling or moral. She has threatened employees with their jobs for situations that have no direct involvement required of her. She has violated store policies but the employees are afraid to speak up. I was terminated, with others to follow and a few have quit. This store was like a family until she made it a broken home of employment. I could point out specific example and will if needed but I don't want any of the workers still there to suffer from this complaint. I had made a previus unanimous complaint as though I were a Goodwill shopper upset with the treatment of the employees at this store and of my termination. Two employees whom I was friends with were then questioned as to whether they knew of the complaint and if they had even helped write it. Actions like that and the daily actions of the production manager named "Bree" should not be stood for as no employee at any place of work deserves or should be treated as immorally and unethically as we have been by "Bree". I hope to see her reprimanded for her actions, especially since her performance at the previous Goodwill stores she has worked at display a similar trend.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2011

more

December 4, 2011

I recently shopped at the Goodwill at the Scottsdale pavilions and was very disappointed in their prices, everything i picked up was waaaay overpriced even small miscl things! I wont go back to that specific store nor will I donate there anymore, I dont understand how they can charge someone a "new" price for something that is donated FREE to them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

Goodwill like most corporate entities has flaws. The one that stands out is the respect and recognition the employees receive from their direct supervisors. The Goodwill motto, "putting people to work" seems flawed as well. As a regular customer of the Scottsdale store on Weber and Scottsdale roads I recently have witnessed unfair treatment of the employees there by an assistant manager there. The demeaning and disrespectful attitude displayed by this woman towards her workers was uncalled for and has driven to refer my donations and purchases to a more people oriented second store. Most of the workers gain a special relationship with us regular customers and that is something management should appreciate rather than look down upon if the worker is temporarily taken from their production responsibilities. The nicest young man was recently terminated for standing up to the demeaning attitude he received from his production manager and have lost a regular long term customer as a result. Goodwill claims they are in business for people and our general good, this particular manager should be let go as well for her lack of commitment to the workers who make Goodwill what it once was. The overall direction this company is heading in it's retail division is one not so desired by people like me whom refrain from the average everyday retail shopping experience. I will miss the relationship I was once able to have with the Goodwill workers when they were 'permitted' to be happy and human. I will not shop where I am served by robotic like money driven corporate slaves. I encourage others to follow my lead as Goodwill can and will not continue to thrive without the support, donations and purchases of we the people.
July 30, 2011

more

July 30, 2011

Good will promotes helping people to succeed but they don't assist their own employees. I know someone who works at one of the stores and is on hard times. Lost their vehicle and job on the same day. She got hired on at Goodwill and when she asked if on a closing night to leave 10 minutes early to catch the last bus running the manager said "No, if I did it for you I would have to accommodate everyone else." It wasn't permanent, just until she got on her feet. Shame on you Goodwill of Arizona. Doesn't say a lot about what you promote to be. Another person losing their job because no one wants to assist with 10 minutes worth of time. They just lost a wonderful employee!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I also called a corporate office in Phoenix and was treated like crap by the person who answered the phone. She explained to me how it wasn't her fault I was upset and that I didn't need to be so rude. REALLY? Just horrible! I love shopping at Goodwill but with your high prices in this economy and how you treat employees, it's hard to want to help with the causes you promote.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a better way to communicate to someone higher up who will listen to what is really going on within your stores. It's the people who give that make a difference. If they are unhappy how can you ensure the public is getting what they need? Maybe a suggestion box at each store. Have a monthly meeting to discuss ways to make better changes.

May 21, 2010

more

May 21, 2010

YOUR WEBSITE FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE LOOKING FOR EMPLOYMENT LEAVES MUCH TO BE DESIRED. I LOGGED ON TO JOBING.COM AND FOUND AN OPEN POSITION WITH YOUR ORGANIZATION. I CLICKED ON THE BUTTON TO APPLY BUT WAS TAKEN TO YOUR WEBSITE. YOUR INSTRUCTIONS STATE TO CLICK ON AS MANY AS FIVE POSITIONS SO I DID BUT THERE IS NO CONTINUE OR SUBMIT BUTTON SO I CAN NOT APPLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FAYE DYE TICKLE MA COUNSELOR EDUCATION BA ENGLISH FDTICKLE@GMAIL.COM

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

THIS ORGANIZATION'S WEBSITE NEEDS A LOT OF WORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT IS NOT USER FRIENDLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 1, 2010

more

February 1, 2010

My family and friends go Goodwill shopping several times a month.We LOVE half price Saturdays.We have made it a tradition to head out early in the morning for breakfast and then onto an entire day of going to several locations. It makes us feel good to shop in a place that gives so much to others as well as the enviornment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See to it that stores are kept cleaner.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Purchasing items from an organzation that give s om uch to others

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Very fiendly and helpful,

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Upgrade and remodel stores to display items better and provide improved facilities for its customers.

Ways to make it better...

My experiance would be better if the restrooms were given more attention.most Goodwill restrooms are poorly maintain and often found to be quite unsanitary.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Budget restrictions

One thing I'd also say is that...

Thanks Goodwill!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers