Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I'm a volunteer for the project: "Textile Collecting 4 Charity" and a volunteer submitted English teacher. The mission , programs and goals Goodwill Group Foundation has is a perfect match with my principles. I always feel welcome at the office and the staff is great. I wish the Textile Collecting project will grow from collecting, business and office clothing for Goodwill's beneficiaries into a big fundraising project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have been teaching here fore over a year, the smile and appreciation from students have been an integral part in keeping me motivated to teach here. Goodwill's work reaches out to women in the most disadvantaged part in Thailand, educating them and preventing them from falling into a vicious cycle of life. Knowing that you can be part of the change you want to see makes you appreciate your life even more.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I have been a substitute English teacher several times at Goodwill Foundation and really enjoy it. The women are bright, funny and eager to learn. I will continue to volunteer my time there as long as I am in BKK.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I was finding where I could contribute and pay it forward back to the world. Goodwill gave me the resource needed and matched me with those in need of my skill. The staff try their best to make things run smoothly. I feel thankful for receiving such opportunity.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I am a volunteer at Goodwill and have nothing but great things to say about this humble foundation situated in the corner of a quiet soi. The staff and students alike work really hard in what they do. Coming from Singapore, where I have been privileged enough to receive quality education, I wanted my students to be able to learn the things I did too. My students - the oldest being almost 60 - are hardworking and always willing to learn. Classes run in 3 hour blocks, for example 9 - 12. Many students attend classes on Sundays at 9 am and that's their only free day out of the whole week. How motivated they are inspires me to continue teaching. What I really like about the foundation is that it does not run like a 'school' or 'tuition centre' where only lessons are given and that's it. There are strong relationships being built between the students and volunteers/staff and it makes it cosy to be at the centre where it was informal, relaxing, and fun. The centre also regularly helps to conduct useful workshops (such as Job Interview workshops) and turnouts have been great. The centre posts job listings on a board and helps students with job placement and facilitating interviews with the employers too.

Outside of the centre, Goodwill does outreach programmes to slums and provinces on important skills such as Self Defense and First Aid workshops.

There are many NGOs out there with different cause - and they are all commendable in their own rights. However, for an NGO to specifically seek to empower disadvantaged women is the first that I've come across in Thailand. It is a cause close to my heart and given how vulnerable these women are (in terms of getting into the wrong trades), I really hope that Goodwill can be given its due recognition and continue to expand and help more women in Thailand, especially those who moved from the rural areas into Bangkok, in hope for a better job.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Teaching ESL at The Goodwill Group Foundation has been the most rewarding volunteer experience of my life. The students, staff, and my fellow volunteers have been incredibly welcoming and appreciative, and I've made friendships with people from around the world that will last a lifetime. This is not a charity with a lot of administrative overhead; you can be assured that the time and money donated is used efficiently to help the truly needy.

A quick personal story: The second time I was scheduled to teach a class at Goodwill, I woke up in the morning feeling very weak and under the weather. Had it been a normal paid class I would definitely have called in sick and stayed on bed, but in this case I did not want to disappoint. By the end of the three hour class, I'd received so much positive energy back from the students that I felt completely refreshed and back to good health. In fact, I feel that all the effort I've given at Goodwill has been paid back to me tenfold by way of good feelings and priceless shared experiences.

If you volunteer at the Goodwill Group, I'm sure you'll find that two things will happen. Firstly, you will find new resources within yourself and be amazed at how much you are able to give. Secondly, you'll find that you will get more than you give.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

The Goodwill Group Foundation has been open for 15 years. I was privileged enough to volunteer in their first year and now again in their 15th. They offer much needed services to Thai women. These women have had their lives changed through the educational services offered a GGF. An extraordinary step that Goodwill has done is to offer outreach in the rural areas of Thailand. There they educate women about the dangers, pitfalls of living in the city (Bangkok). Even so, knowing they will eventually come to the city regardless, they offer survival strategies. I have seen for myself how Goodwill changes iives. Many of my former students have good jobs and good lives now, all thanks to the good work that is done at the Goodwill Group Foundation.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

As a part of my Canadian university degree, I did a 3-month placement with the Goodwill Group Foundation last year. Not only was I deeply moved by the initiatives started by Goodwill for women and young girls in the community, I also became so inspired by the dedicated staff members, motivated volunteers and passionate students at the foundation. My placement remains to be one of the most valuable learning experiences I have ever had throughout my academic career. I am so thankful to have had a chance to work with such an incredible organization!
November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a recent volunteer with the Goodwill Group Foundation but have thoroughly enjoyed the last few months serving with this outstanding organization. The staff are dedicated, organized, extremely caring, and have a genuine love for each woman who comes through their doors. I am impressed with how much the staff is able to accomplish along with the incredible volunteers I have been privileged to work alongside of. The staff does a great job of effectively placing their volunteers in areas that match their expertise and abilities. Goodwill does not stray from their mission which is to improve the quality of life of young Thai women via skills training and career services. The many different programs offered along with the personal interaction with the staff and volunteers give women the chance to develop in these specific areas. The women I have encountered have come from many different places and backgrounds and each one has her own unique story and talents which makes them such a joy to work with. I have never left Goodwill without a generous and warm "thank-you" from both the students and staff. It is an honor to be a part of such an effective and caring group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

When I arrived in Bangkok as an expat, I was keen to do volunteer work with an organisation that supported disadvantaged women and children. I contacted Goodwill after reading about their organisation. As my background is in public policy, I offered to support the team with any help they needed with editing documents in English or preparing grant applications. I was very pleased to be involved with such a great organisation. Although the team is small, I was impressed with the volume of activity they have underway, their personal support to clients and the strong research base underpinning their work. The staff treat everybody - clients, volunteers and each other - with dignity and respect and are always looking for positive ways to expand what they can do to support disadvantaged women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach English language for disadvantaged Thai women in Bangkok