Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I am a recent volunteer with the Goodwill Group Foundation but have thoroughly enjoyed the last few months serving with this outstanding organization. The staff are dedicated, organized, extremely caring, and have a genuine love for each woman who comes through their doors. I am impressed with how much the staff is able to accomplish along with the incredible volunteers I have been privileged to work alongside of. The staff does a great job of effectively placing their volunteers in areas that match their expertise and abilities. Goodwill does not stray from their mission which is to improve the quality of life of young Thai women via skills training and career services. The many different programs offered along with the personal interaction with the staff and volunteers give women the chance to develop in these specific areas. The women I have encountered have come from many different places and backgrounds and each one has her own unique story and talents which makes them such a joy to work with. I have never left Goodwill without a generous and warm "thank-you" from both the students and staff. It is an honor to be a part of such an effective and caring group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

When I arrived in Bangkok as an expat, I was keen to do volunteer work with an organisation that supported disadvantaged women and children. I contacted Goodwill after reading about their organisation. As my background is in public policy, I offered to support the team with any help they needed with editing documents in English or preparing grant applications. I was very pleased to be involved with such a great organisation. Although the team is small, I was impressed with the volume of activity they have underway, their personal support to clients and the strong research base underpinning their work. The staff treat everybody - clients, volunteers and each other - with dignity and respect and are always looking for positive ways to expand what they can do to support disadvantaged women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I feel privileged to have been volunteering at Goodwill since 2010. The staff, as the first point of contact , are knowledgeable, dedicated, friendly, make you want to return to continue giving your best efforts. They follow up on the class progress , listen to any difficulties you may encounter and seek solutions, and always keep the interests of the students paramount. Ah ! the students , their eagerness to learn make you realise the importance of education as a stepping stone to a better quality of life and the impact it can have on their lives and their children's lives. It makes you appreciate that you can make a difference and you feel humbled by the experience. Whether to evolve an practical teaching system for usage in daily conversation in their workplace or tailor make a work vocabulary relevant to their employment is always fun. To know you can be a tool to open their eyes, ears and minds to the the ever changing world is also satisfying. You can never under estimate the importance of communication skills and how it can change your attitude, bolster your confidence and give you a much needed lift. Being a volunteer here teaches me never to take anything for granted. It is gratifying work and I do get fulfillment and pride from their progress and their determination to better themselves. I always harbour the thought ..."there but for the grace of God, go I"
To the staff and the students of Goodwill, know that I get back from you as much I am able to give. It is truly a two way street. Together, we can strive forward

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been volunteerIng as an English teacher at Goodwill for 4 years now. The foundation brings together volunteers and students and in addition to English, offers computers, self defense, interview training and job placement. Goodwill is a simple direct organization that maximizes its impact with minimal administration. There is never a day that the staff and students don't warmly thank me for being there. There is never a day that I don't feel better after teaching than before. I feel happy to be able to give something to this great country through such an effective organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I think that the work that the GWG are doing is very worthy and important; the genuinely positive impact that the team are having on people's lives is apparent the moment you arrive at the Asok school, and I'm sure the same can be said of their other enterprises. I am currently studying for a CELTA qualification and will be back to GWG as soon as I graduate!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I've been volunteering at Goodwill since the year 2000. After 12 years here, I think I've gained more than I've given. The foundation is actually helping disadvantaged women in Thailand through many programs, apart from the English classes that I've taught. The foundation has been trying to improve its programs to better help them. From just English and Computer classes and some job placements, now the programs have flourished - Self-defense, job training and so on. Witnessing their lives improved, I keep coming back to help them throughout the years. I'm still now a volunteer and certain that I will do it as long as I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I volunteered at the Goodwill Group Foundation in Bangkok as an English teacher for 7 months this year. As a fully qualified English language teacher with 10 years teaching experience worldwide, I can honestly say that volunteering at Goodwill was the most rewarding experience I have had in my teaching career. Not only is the Goodwill Group team extremely professional and committed, but they are also very welcoming, appreciative, positive and organised. The work that Goodwill are doing is of great benefit to the disadvantaged Thai women who continue to use their services year after year. In turn, these women are motivated, dedicated and appreciative of the opportunities being offered to them to improve their future. Coupled with the supportive environment and the team's dedication to the wellbeing of these women, Goodwill Group Foundation really is a remarkable place and I'm very happy to have had the opportunity to work with such a great organisation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I first encountered the Goodwill Group website while travelling in America. I sent an email to Mr. Kurt Heck who invited me to visit the office when I came to Bangkok. I did so on a Monday in August 2002, and I entered my first classroom. I had never taught English before but the students were ever so willing to learn and I had so much fun. I took that class for about a week and, having enjoyed it so much, went back to Australia with a new purpose. I returned to Bangkok after a little while and tried to help out at Goodwill whenever I could. I took a job at a government school on the strength of my Goodwill experience. I cannot ever repay Goodwill for my 'apprenticeship'. Today, I am unfortunately tied up most days of the week but I try to offer my services as a substitute teacher at weekends if I'm free. Whilst conducting classes, I have been able to witness the incredible job which this foundation is doing for its members. The members who come to classes every week have a wonderful attitude, they try so hard to advance their English skills, and the foundation is constantly looking for new ways to help them into their futures. I feel humbled that this foundation doing so much to help their fellow Thais. The selfless dedication from Enrique, Kurt, Beer, Nang and all others I haven't mentioned, deserves some recognition. I salute them and wish that the foundation may long continue to benefit the underprivileged. My sincere thanks for their help to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I've been a donor to Goodwill since its early days, but being so far away it was difficult to fully appreciate what an amazing and positive impact it has on the students it serves. Now that I live in Bangkok, I have the opportunity to see that up close, and also witness the tireless dedication of its staff and other volunteers. It is especially impressive to see the foundation's determination to focus on fundamental improvements to the student's lives, such as by insisting on self-defense and first-aid courses as prerequisites before students can take the more attractive courses. The biggest endorsement I can give good Goodwill is that I now not only donate money, but I volunteer my time, which is more valuable to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Goodwill Group Foundation is organized and disciplined. The women you teach as a volunteer are dedicated and a lot of fun. You always leave feeling like you made good progress and a difference in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach English language for disadvantaged Thai women in Bangkok