Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved in several trips to volunteer at Goodland Academy with both my church Youth Group and my Girl Scout Troop. The work of the house parents and other staff members is nothing short of inspirational. They are changing lives -- not just the lives of the boys but of everyone who visits. The Goodland staff have always made us feel welcomed and appreciated. Our trips have been a mixture of hard work and fun. I truly consider it a privilege to be able to contribute in a small way to the wonderful things happening at Goodland!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My involvement with Goodland began well over 20 years ago. Now, I warn people not to visit unless they want to fall in love. One of the most important elements that Goodland possesses is that all the boys who attend are placed with two parent families on campus. For many it is the first time they have had the influence of a classic nuclear family. They attend church together, have family celebrations, work on homework and housework, and get support, love, discipline, and a promising future. Goodland has been a haven for 100s and 100s of children. There are so many more good boys with, literally, nowhere to go. Originally, a mission, orphanage, and boarding school for Choctaw and Chickasaw at the end of the Trail of Tears, Goodland survives and thrives. The philosophy and practice are years beyond most children's homes and even beyond many residential education facilities with many more resources. I have never been anything but supremely proud of the efforts and RESULTS at this historical gem of a school and mission and family. We honor the past but with a clear vision for the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have been associated with Goodland Academyfor almost 20 years, first as a volunteer to assist in needed repairs and renovation. I was so impressed with the love, care, educational and religious training that the boys received I began contributing to their needs and eventually became a Board Member. The Good land Academy is the oldest instituion in the State of Oklahoma being 165 years old. I have witnessed boys having a complete turn around in their lives by growing up in Goodland. Many boys return annually to their "home" for the reunion. Their education speaks for itself as not only most of the boys become Eagle Scouts but go on to coollege on schoarships.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization does miracles for young men. The case histories of successful mentoring and growth are impressive and the resulting lives are a testimony to the work accomplished by this organization. It is also impressive to attend alumni events to hear of the loyalty and emotional attachments held by graduates who are now 60 or more years of age. This facility has a long term record and a history as perhaps the oldest such facility in the state of Oklahoma. Quality and performance are the true mesure of an organizations success and Goodland is unmatched.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers