Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from JustGive
November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This place truly loves their men and women....true Christians....Donations are truly appreciated, needed and welcomed....Please help these deserving men and women....Vicki Ballard

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I am an older Pastor-graduated Seminary in 1964-and for decades have personally sent donations to Good Samaritan. Their track record speaks volumes to those who ask whether to support or not. On several occasions I have visited there and seen first hand the wonderful ministry to homeless men women and children, allowing them to turn their lives around and get a new start.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 30, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I've been supporting Good Samaritan for 15 years with donations and volunteer help. I know the directors, Buddy and Carole Murphrey and they are two of the finest people I ever met. They are doing a great job at Good Samaritan providing food, shelter, clothes, and even jobs for hundreds of people every week. Good Samaritan is the largest shelter for homeless in South Texas and they don't accept Government Funding. Nither do they button hole people for donations. It is trully a faith based ministry. More power to them!
November 23, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

We will never donate again. Abusive behavior to the people at the shelter. Use religion to demean people at the shelter. Carole Murphrey tells them that she is a prophet from God and gives them direct words from God. Uses this to abuse clients. Uses gifts for personal use.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The board is made up of people from their church or out of town with only P.O. Boxes We read e-mails and letters that Carole Murphrey Had sent to people. Our church will never give to them again

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get perfessional psychiatric help for Carole Murphrey. A former Church member at the Murphrey's church told our pastor that Carole was the piano player at Buddy Murphrey's church, had an affair with buddy. He then left his wife and family and married Carole. I guess Carole had another direct word from God. They are dishonest people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

poverty and the helplessness of the people

Why did you make your donation at this time?

we wanted to help

What would you tell others about this organization?

Do not give them anything. There are so many other groups that do an honest work and are people who care. Not people who want to control people.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers