Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
November 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My relationship with Good Sam started as a client in 2005. I needed a temporary place to live as I searched for a place in town. Little did I know that I would come to work there and that the relationships that were created, and the mentoring and teaching I received, would change and direct the rest of my life. I didn't meet the director, Carole Murphrey, until after I stayed there. I actually met her through a friend who had wronged Good Sam. I didn't find that out until later. This isn't the place for that story, but is indicative of the forgiveness and love that the people who run Good Sam possess. She helped me in many ways over the years. She mentored, counseled and ministered to me with a love, care, patience, dedication and compassion that I had never received anywhere else. Buddy Murphrey accepted me and my faults without hesitation. I learned a lot from him, over the years, being a member of his church, Southcrest Baptist Church and working as Carole's Personal Assistant. I have come to love both of them as if they were my own family. I haven't always made the smartest decisions. I still continue to make stupid decisions! Lol. : D The experiences at Good Sam have instilled in my heart a desire to help people and to make a difference. The business knowledge and integrity observed have prepared me for the future. I am no longer angry, bitter, hateful, judgmental, selfish, confused and lost. I still have issues but my utmost desire now is to serve God and share the gift of His son. I worked for Good Sam for almost four years! The shelter and people there have blessed me with humility, love, peace and acceptance. I am able to forgive things that I wasn't able to before, including forgiving myself. I have nothing bad to say about Good Sam or anyone involved with it. I am actually working on starting my own non-profit foundation that will educate, help people and minister on several things. God put Good Sam and the Murphreys in my life so that I would be able to find my purpose in life, be led to redemption and be directed towards what my destiny is and what He created me for. I can only dream to help half as many people as Good Sam has helped in its SIXTY years of blessing people!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bless them financially! Having dealt with the finances, I know how hard it is to keep all of the programs running to help the large numbers of needy! Good Sam is the largest homeless shelter in South Texas and operated solely off of donations and grants. Mainly donations!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from JustGive
November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This place truly loves their men and women....true Christians....Donations are truly appreciated, needed and welcomed....Please help these deserving men and women....Vicki Ballard

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2011

Good Samaritan is tops. They not only provide food and shelter, but they share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with their residents. The reason they can do this is because they don't take Government money... more

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Just read the bad review from the jerk who calls himself John. His name is Larry, and I was there when they asked him to leave for misbehavior. Now he is vengeful and dishonest--even about his name. He's pulling junk out of thin air. Sometimes the volunteers have more problems than the homeless, but Good Sam loves them all and manages as best they can.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having conversations with the homeless who are staying there. They love Good Sam because they are unconditionally accepted and loved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it all over the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

It can't be improved. This is my favorite charity.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learn the true heart of homeless people as I visit with them and learn their stories.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I had done something of eternal value.

September 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Good Samaritan is tops. They not only provide food and shelter, but they share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with their residents. The reason they can do this is because they don't take Government money. Good Samaritan meets all the needs of the homeless, even getting them jobs. They are very distinct and special. Everyone should support them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In seeing people forgive those in their past and let go of the bitterness that binds them to an addiction. I have seen them become clean and sober and employed. They have a new lease on life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their capacity and their funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I am totally blessed as it is now.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It made me feel like I made an eternal difference in individual lives.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I love and understand the homeless and have a greater burden to see them helped.

July 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I never knew I was going to be homeless. No one ever really plans on that. But when it does happen, it is traumatic and soul-crushing. I needed to find support and open arms. I found that at the Good Samaritan. They welcomed me with open arms and provided the love and support I needed to get my life back in order. I was already a believer, but being around other believers who didn't judge or criticize the choices I made in life was important for me to realize that we all have our faults. Thanks to everyone at Good Sam and the multiple ministry programs they offer, I am now back on my feet and work as a staff member, helping those going through their rough times, just as Donny and Carole did for me. I thank God everyday for putting them into my life. Without Good Sam, who knows where I would be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

i am a homeless lady here at good sam i came from prision , no other mission would take me in from houston to corpus christi the only mission that would take me from prision was good samaratian rescue mission here in corpus christi , i got saved i worked on their labor force and then i worked as a cook in there kitchen now i am the kitchen manager , i would not be the lady i am without good sam they gave me hope in life food, clothes , love , and a job , i have never seen a mission that loves so much for the homeless and thier animals, i have been homeless ,i been to alot of shelters, ,with out good sam i would not be alive ,, thank you good samaratian yall work so hard to help everyone , im so grateful for the love and caring yall gave to me , i have a chance in life because of your mission ,, i pray everyday for god to keep blessing the mission and there staff , residents , it hurts me to my heart and alot of others here because some just dont want help they get mad and say hateful things , no one can help someone who dont want the help !! good samartain sure gives everyone several chances . carole murphy puts her heart and soul into all the homeless. i never seen such wounderful people as carole and donny and buddy, love and care, try to work so hard to help all the homeless here , the many other missions i lived in i felt like they really didnt care about me or what happen to me but good samaratain rescue mission is the most safest and kindest place i ever been and there is no requirements or judgement or graduates that make you feel like your nothing , here the staff know how to help us homeless because the staff have all been in my shoes , i never knew there could be so much love and help until i got here , carole does everything she can to make the homeless feel safe and clothed and give them jobs and good food and love and even the word of god . she takes in their animals and loves and cares for them to , other missions wouldn't take me cus i had a puppy ,my puppy was the only thing keeping me alive at times , i couldnt belive it when they let me bring him in to , i pray that the words of the bad people dont affect the help that good sam needs i am a living witness as god as my witness !! if it wasnt for carole and donny devoted work and love i would not be alive or even want to be alive , they really gave me another chance to live again and feel like i am worth something , NO othere mission could compare to what this mission did for me , there is no time limit that i can stay here. i know if i abide by the rules , i have a home and loving caring family for life ! if that is what i choose,i dont have to worry about being kicked out in 30 days or being in the heat or cold during the day Good Samaratina dont make you take your stuff and leave everyday, (that it self is a blessing) !, after housekeeping is done we can come in lay down or watch tv or read a book , please hear my words of truth , god runs this mission with pure love and kindness ,there is real people here who deeply need help to. That no other mission would take if good sam wasnt here , alot of the homeless that come here want help and do good and it is ONLY BECAUSE GOOD SAMARTAIN WAS THE MISSION THAT GAVE THEM THAT CHANCE ,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I am an older Pastor-graduated Seminary in 1964-and for decades have personally sent donations to Good Samaritan. Their track record speaks volumes to those who ask whether to support or not. On several occasions I have visited there and seen first hand the wonderful ministry to homeless men women and children, allowing them to turn their lives around and get a new start.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Good Samaritan Rescue Mission in Corpus Christi, TX. is an amazing and awesome Mission. Never has it been in better hands than NOW with Brother Buddy and Carole Murphrey running it. Their love for the homeless and down and outs is so genuine and the people there seem to be so grateful for a place to stay, food to eat, help to get back on their feet, and a chance to find JESUS as their Lord and Saviour. I recommend this wonderful Mission 100 percent.

Connie Lyons
October 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The mission does an outstanding job working with the homeless. They provide so much: the Gospel, love, food, bed, clothes, jobs, etc, etc. Carole and Buddy have done a fantastic job with the Mission. They deserve much thanks!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 2, 2011

more

October 2, 2011

I have been involved with the GSRM for over 50 years. It has only gotten 100% better since Carole and Buddy took over. They have done an amazing job. Carole has a sincere love for the homeless-- more than anyone I know. It is always a joy to visit there and see all of the renovations that have been done. The atmosphere is very uplifting, the people seem so happy. Such an amazing place!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 1, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Buddy Murphrey and his Wife Carole are truly Earth Angels for the many homeless and down and out. This organization without government funding demonstrates just what its name means Good Samaritans. They feed, clothe, house and care for the homeless. They also give them work and transport them back and forth. They offer also a chapel for spiritual guidance as well. But above they offer love. The love of God flows through this organization and into the lives of these people. You see they care about bringing the homeless back from the brink of despair through love and support to help them to get them back on their feet and in the process making them a better person than they came in. The Good Samaritan Rescue Mission has a Big Heart and cares for the Well being of these individuals. Providing the tools of life needed for them to get back into being a productive citizen in society. I pray God continues to bless this organization, and I know he will because He has for so many years. Can you imagine how many grateful lives have been changed because of the Good Samaritan Rescue Mission!! Wow!!! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers