Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.777785
Write A Review
December 1, 2014

more

December 1, 2014

A very ethical and honorable charity helping dogs, cats, and people throughout southern CA, I am proud to donate to such a phenomenal group. I've adopted a dog through this rescue, and now I volunteer and donate. Always willing to lend a hand to fellow rescuers, private dog owners, and those who need it, not to mention following their mission to save unwanted animals from euthanasia. Thank you so much for what you do!
May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

These reviews are all written by their friends n volunteers. If you want the truth about this company go to ripoffreports.com or Google the name of their founder along with the word BULLY and u will quickly discover the truth about them. They have harassed and stalked many other rescue, volunteers and fosters since the groups inception just a couple of short years ago.

In addition, it has now come to light that the founder Ms. Marcella Jane's is no longer employed as a registered nurse and us collecting a hefty salary from the rescue. They claim to use donations for the dogs but the truth is Ms. Marcella Janes is lining her pockets with your donations.

http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/GONE-TO-THE-DOGS-RESCUE/Select-StateProvince/GONE-TO-THE-DOGS-RESCUE-Marcy-Janes-amp-Taunya-Huffman-Bad-Rescue-Redondo-Beach-Califor-1114875

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down n prosecute the founder and all board members.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 28, 2014

more

February 28, 2014

GTTDRI is a very dedicated and loving rescue. They take in many unwanted, injured, old, not as desirable doggies. As long as they have a foster they'll take the dog, many times without pledges. They respond to fosters needs immediately. Have always been helpful and understanding. They want whats best for all of their rescues. Thank you GTTDRI.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Gone to the Dogs, Rescue, Inc. is an awesome rescue. The level of commitment, compassion and professional skills demonstrated HUMBLY yet CONFIDENTLY , COOPERATIVELY, PROACTIVELY and with respect for dogs, every level of rescue helper, and fosters as well as other rescues in the field...it just does not invite comparison. Recently the A-Team here with a myriad of FB and community volunteers, and GTTDR rescue reps saved an extremely gravely at risk white lab-x from a high kill shelter that is awfully difficult to reach and to extract dogs from.

This little guy turned out to weigh 14 pounds at almost 6 months old. He also turned out to be above average endearingly adorable. It is a great feeling, as a thread "angel" long distance and rescue farmer back East, to know that this fragile baby doll will receive the highest level of care in order to help him heal and thrive, God willing and the creek don't rise. This rescue epitomizes LOVE in ACTION.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it. Seriously.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

We already had one rescue dog from Devore when I saw a post from GTTD for another Devore dog that needed out asap. We responded to foster - and then Wyatt (a pit/mix) had to spend two weeks at the vet as he was so sick. We picked him up and found him to be a bit bigger than we thought. My daughter was big dog fearful and we worried about keeping him, BUT we all fell in love. Best dog ever. Taunya and Marcy stood by us when we wanted to keep him and really made it happen for our family. We foster failed and have never looked back. Then we saw a dog at SBC that was getting no attention (and he looked just like our first little one) and I begged GTTD to help me and we would foster. They did and that is how we got Andy - another amazing dog. Foster fail number three. I have also fostered two other dogs for GTTD - one was an abuse case and Max is now in a loving home. When going to pick up Max, I feel hard for another little guy and again begged for help backing the dog - that led us to Scruffy who also got adopted into a great home. Our family would not be the same with GTTD and the help of these caring people. They always put the welfare of the dogs first and never attempt a rescue without a plan. I have learned from them and I so respect the work they do. Thank you for Wyatt and Anderson and Cooper too. Can I also share that we never met any of our dogs until they were out of the shelter and handed to us - and they are all just the sweetest and most loving dogs ever.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My family and I were looking for a rescue for several months and stumbled upon a cute young mix we saw on line. It turns out that this was a surrender who GTTDR accepted and fostered as an alternative to a county shelter. These guys are very particular about who they will let adopt with an in depth application and a personal meeting/site visit which ensures that the family is a good fit for the dog as well as the dog for the family. My wife was never a dog person and we also had an older cat so we were really unsure as to how the adoption would go. The wonderful volunteer drove the dog to our home and watched us interact answering lots of questions and really making us feel comfortable. In addition, she allowed us to act as "fosters" for a week to make sure we were fully comfortable with the dog and did not have any regrets. After four days, every family member was fully in love with the little guy (well, maybe not the cat)and we hadd no doubts that he needed to be in our family. Our volunteer, Heather, checked in on us every day to make sure we were happy. An absolutely wonderful experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

We had never been involved in fostering of any kind until we connected with GTTDRI. These folks do fabulous work and have HUGE hearts. It never ceases to amaze me just what they can accomplish. My daughter and I are prod to be affiliated with them and will continue to help any way we can - whether it is working an adoption event or fostering a doggie. Love each and every one involved with this rescue!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes other than me being able to financially contribute more. I will one day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

Gone to the Dogs Rescue is one of the best all breed dog rescues in Southern California and I am proud to be a part of this amazing rescue group. They have a solid group of fosters, volunteers, transporters and followers who all work as a team in getting the medical attention all their rescue dogs need, rehabilitation, training, getting them to adoption events, they don't discriminate against helping strays like some rescues do, proper screening and homechecks before adopting out their rescue dogs to ensure they get the best forever home that all dogs deserve. They are 100% dedicated to helping the dogs until they get their forever home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I have volunteered as a foster home for several dogs rescued by Gone to the Dogs and it was a positive experience. They are a very professional organization, and provide everything they say they will provide to keep the dogs healthy and happy while in foster. All of the dogs I fostered went on to get amazing forever homes that would not have been possible without the dedication and passion of the Gone to the Dogs team. I even adopted one of my fosters and I could not imagine my life without her now. This is a rescue that does it right!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

They are awesome when in desperate situation to rescue the Devore 8 they were there. No hesitation to take care of vetting for 8 pups and mom. All pups went to awesome homes!!! Momma is ours now. We are currently fostering Ozzie boxer mix when we first got him he was so sick they jumped into action hospitalized him and he is now a beautiful healthy boy. They do the right thing always. They just took back an adopted dog that ended up in a bad situation. They stand behind their dogs their fosters their volunteers I love and thank them from the bottom of my heart!!!! Additionally they are there to help other rescues raise money rescue arrange transport vetting they are the best of the best!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with fur babies by transporting, pick up necessary supplies, working a fund raiser or adoption event. Come help us save more fur babies from death row. Volunteer