Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1.888892345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

Woah. So glad to hear this person was arrested. Dealing with this place was an absolute nightmare.
I'm sure we must've done a little research before adopting, but apparently not enough! First of all, my husband and I were in the process of moving into a new house. We had an elderly jack
russell terrier and were looking for a calm, friendly, docile dog to keep him company (between the age of 1-4). We fell in love with the photos of a few pups but decided on one in particular. We were assured that she was super friendly with adults, children and other dogs, house broken (which I took with a grain of salt) and most definitely crate trained. Yeah... Not so much. Like other reviewers mentioned, Rodney kept pushing the date of the delivery back. Something told me maybe we should just cancel it because it just started to give us an uneasy feeling. Finally, one day in July '12 he was making a few drop offs in the Northeast and was really scheduled to bring her to us (this time). MIDNIGHT. He showed up at MIDNIGHT. It was pitch black outside and he just handed us her leash, we gave him some leftover bbq, and he left. 10 min max. Imagine our surprise when the dog REFUSED TO WALK THE 5 STEPS UP TO OUR FRONT DOOR. We called him and told him she just wouldn't do it (mind you, she was way over the age of 1 that they told us she was and she was some kind of shepherd, rottie mix and enormous, not the lab mix they claimed).His suggestion was to just pull her up the steps. Thanks. We tried coaxing her with food and by 1 am, we wound up just pulling her up the steps. We called and spoke to them about her skittishness, her trouble with the stairs, and all other concerns and they were no help. She would jump on our window sills and bark day and night, she REFUSED to go in her crate, and she eventually bit our elderly dog. That of course was the last straw and called and demanded that they take her back. More excuses, more scheduling conflicts. The week it took for them to come get her was the longest week of our lives.
One day I was making coffee and let her in our yard. Alone for maybe 4 minutes, and she escaped. Luckily I left a collar and leash on her (because she had gotten off the leash once before) and was able to grab her leash before she got off our block. Problem was, her collar was a little loose and she still refused to go up our front steps (or go anywhere, very scared) so I was stuck outside with this dog for HOURS. I finally got a neighbor to hold her leash so I could run inside to get my phone to call my husband. I wanted the dog gone that day. We were prepared to board her until they finally came to get her. Instead, my husband called a local dog trainer to try to get her in the house. That didn't work and she got off the leash and ran. It took my husband, the dog trainer and animal control to grab her. Animal control took her and we called the woman from the rescue (she was on the phone for part of this nonsense and her fantastic advice was to put her on speakerphone so the dog could hear her and calm down. Thanks). She was furious that we gave the dog to animal control and we told her to just go get the dog and take it home LIKE SHE SAID SHE WOULD A WEEK PRIOR). We spoke to animal control and they spoke to her and she was all dramatic and hysterical saying we killed the dog by giving it to them. The guy from animal control basically told her if she wants the dog, then she needs to come get it. End of story. Apparently they did. Of course we were never returned our $200. They are NOT a rescue. They have no idea what they are doing with these dogs. That dog should never have been adopted out. After we had her, Rodney finally admitted she was not 1, but more like 3.5 and had been living in a field at the "rescue" since she was a pup. No wonder she was terrified of the stairs and our house - she'd never been in one! This review is long but doesn't even come close to explaining the terror we felt for ourselves and our other dog whilst living with that large, scared, aggressive dog. I'm thankful that she's been arrested (Rodney was no better IMHO). Hopefully they'll never be allowed near animals again and will never be able to scam another innocent family. We wound up adopting from Sean Casey Animal Rescue in Brooklyn. We got a pup a few weeks after this whole thing happened. We could not be happier. I guess things happen for a reason :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NEVER LET EITHER OF THEM NEAR ANIMALS AGAIN.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I tried to adopt a dog from Golden S and initially received great lip service about when the delivery would be. The date kept slipping and as time went by, Rodney became less and less helpful to the point of being rude and insulting when I finally asked for my $200 deposit back after almost one month passed without my getting my dog. I finally adopted out of state and had PETS LLC ship a dog up from Georgia on time and on schedule. Golden S Rescue being arrested for pet neglect somehow seems fitting. They are not what a rescue is supposed to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

I adopted a year old maltese poodle mix. Or so I thought. I started the adoption process in September of 2013 and didn't get my dog until October 31 2013. The date was delayed and delayed and of course Rodney was late on the day of the drop off. He arrived with my dog, who turned out to be a jack russell yorkie mix. The dog was sick with a cough and worms when I got her. I immediately took her to the vet and got medicine for her so thankfully she is OK but the vet said that she had not been sick for just a few days like Rodney claimed. When he arrived, Rodney didn't have any paperwork for the dog so she had to be re vaccinated. I kept asking Rodney for the paperwork. He kept claiming that it was on its way. But i still have yet to receive it.

I love my dog and I am so happy to have rescued her. But there is no surprise to hear about the conditions of the rescue and the arrest of the owner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

I adopted a pet from Golden S Rescue in 2011 and he was supposed to be 4 1/2 years old. I made sure to adopt a pet that age as my prior dog had diabetes and without insurance it would have been costly. Pet insurance requires a dog under 8 years old.

Rodney and I had a discussion about
picking up my dog on the New York State Thruway. I drove to the site of the supposed pick up, a stop on the highway. The destination and time kept changing and finally I ended up alone in a dark parking lot that seemed to be close to a state facility for criminals. It felt unsafe and I went alone as a woman. About 4 hours late, Rodney arrived and my dog was stuffed in a cat crate with 4 others dogs, crates on top of each other, in a compact car back seat.

There were no papers along with the dog. He was not fed or drank on the 17 hour trip as Rodney said he was unable to stop along the road. He said my dog whined the whole way and that he was a pain. I only received the dog, nothing else. And he was in bad shape, needed a bath and to be cared for and he seemed hungry and thirsty.

Rodney said he would send the papers and tags as soon as he got back. He did not and I began to harass Golden S for his tags and papers. A month later they arrived and the papers that were originally with the dog upon relinquishment stated that the dog was 9 years old. I called and complained. I was angry about the false statement. Rodney said he would come and pick up the dog if I don't want it. I said I would not let him near my dog. Cut the losses. His response to the fact the dog was 9 instead of 4 was, "Doesn't he look 4?".

When I brought my dog to the vet, he was affirmed as 9 years old with congestive heart failure. They were not honest with me. My dog, Max, is the best dog in the whole world and I would not trade him for anything. He is doing well. Costly but I love him and I would never send him back. His later years he will be well cared for.

I feel blessed that I saved him from the horrors of their rescue attempts. Obviously, the intentions might have been honorable with the animals from the start, but when things started reeling out of control, both Owner and Rodney, should have sought help and gone public with their inability to care for the animals.

Deceit is never a good tactic for a business. It does come to get you at some point and time. I hope these rescued animals do not remain in the care of the shelter and the Judge releases them for good homes and love. They deserve it.
March 12, 2014

more

March 12, 2014

So sorry to hear all these horror stories. When I adopted my dog three years ago, I picked him up and everything there seemed fine. The owners seemed caring and the animals I viewed appear well nourished and cared for.
March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I pray the judges of Anderson County do the right thing and shut this hell hole down for good. This so called rescuer is nothing but a menace to elderly, sickly and shelter victims. Yes the animals in her care are VICTIMS OF SLOW DEATH. To rescue is not to take shelter animals from a bad situation only to place them in a worse situation. RESCUE is much more than "pulling" an unwanted animal from a shelter only to be tossed outside in a kennel. SHUT THIS PLACE DOWN FOR GOOD. She literally robbed animals and adopters of money. Shame shame. March 31 2013 is her court appearance and I pray she does not get any animals back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut them down for good

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Self promotion on the positive reviews for this rescue group are far from what probably really happened.
Anyone can self promote and sound like the best rescue organization in the world. But the real truth will expose you for what you are!!! There is a place for these people and it is called
h--l. You know who you are and what you did. Enough said????? Get my drift????? You will answer for this before your maker and I Sure wouldn't want to be you.... I had to rate Golden"S"Rescue so I gave it one star to get this posted...I hope you are put someplace where you may never hurt or neglect another living thing on this earth...AMEN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

burn it to the ground. Nothing good can come from this property. Filth and discuss.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A person that called herself a rescue, trading as Golden S. Rescue, in Easley, S. C. was busted on February 19th. The dogs and cats were living in a horrific situation. Animal Control took 11 of the sickest dogs the week before and came back on the 19th to remove the rest. They removed 92 dogs and 28 cats and the operator was arrested. The dogs were sick, filthy, malnourished, sleeping in their own feces in a cold building. All of the animals were taken to Anderson County P.A.W.S. They need donations of dog food, Pedigree or Purina, cat food, puppy food, towels, blankets, puppy pads and monetary donations. If you feel it in your heart to send a donation, please send to: Anderson County P.A.W.S. 1320 Highway 29 S, Anderson, S. C. 29626. If you know of abuse, neglect, please report it. This bust happened because it was reported to the proper authorities by a woman in Virginia. Always be proactive when you know an animal needs our help! Thank you!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down forever.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Busted for dead and dying animals. SHAME SHAME
Please research all rescue groups prior to adopting or donating.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have her put in jail.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Over 100 dogs were just seized from this property today 2/20/14 according to local Greenville SC news station WYFF channel 4. Some animals near death when seized. Charged with multiple counts of animal cruelty.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Never allow them to own or foster another animal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers