Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.588245
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

Thank you for including me in the June 1st, afternoon of "Arias on Top of the World". Beautiful voices; gracious volunteers; fun watching people who closed their eyes while listening and one lol who finally wormed herself into the best seat in the house! Delightful talking with a group of young Russians; Ana's husband would not reveal Ana's age! AND I really appreciated the fellow who parked my car and later went to bring the car back up the hill after the event.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

It was exactly as advertised; a picture perfect afternoon in sunny warm, beautiful Tiburon. The food was delicious, the refreshments were cold and refreshing, the the conversation was congenial, the setting was lovely and the hosts were great. And the Music... the music was lovely. The performance was was sparkling. Maestro Robert took us on a tour of the opera world and The singers made the arias come alive with their beautiful voices and their evocative performance. I score it an unqualified success!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I loved working with Golden Gate Opera. It helped me tremendously professionally to get such great experience at an arts non-profit in beautiful Marin County. Executive Director, Roberta, is extremely passionate and talented at producing world class opera as well as providing great programs for kids to enjoy and expand their understanding of opera and the arts. Golden Gate Opera is a wonderful part of our community, for young and old arts enthusiasts alike, and we are so lucky to have it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I loved it. Honestly it was one of the best operas I’ve ever been to.

My mother and my sister are both opera singers. It was an awesome opera.

I thought the singer that played “Lincoln” – (Gabriel Manro) everyone else was really well cast also - but he was just amazing. –Peter
Jablonski.

(About GGO’s new opera "Lincoln and Booth" by Cepelak and Rose) Attendee - March 11, 2012

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2013

more

February 10, 2013

Having attended several Golden Gate Opera events I can say I have been impressed with the quality and variety of the performances presented. From Hansel and Gretal to Madama Butterfly I have enjoyed all of the performances but my favorites have been the afernoon arias held in beautiful Marin County homes. It is a wonderful way to spend a Sunday afternoon as music,goumet food and fashion combine to create an ambience.
I look forward to more of these well done sophisticated events.
Phyllis J Bragdon

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2013

more

January 17, 2013

I loved seeing the Pharmacist at the Mill Valley Community Center. I'd rather go to one of your productions any day than the SF Opera because of that up-close and personal feel. The performance was beautiful- and Mia, the soprano was fantastic. It was so sweet to hear the singers talk a bit and to somehow feel like I was a part of their cultural experience and homestay here in the U.S. It made my weekend.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2011

Dear Roberta: We enjoyed the production Friday night immensely. The whole cast is fantastic, the costumes, makeup, stage direction is very good, and it works so smoothly in the theatre for all ages ... more

October 16, 2012

Golden Gate Opera performed our new opera Lincoln & Booth in March 2012. New operas go through a process of creation and GGO has continued to write grants for it's revision and next performances. After the premiere we went to Davidson Middle School to perform excerpts from L & B for the music classes. I was very moved by the response of the children during the question and answer period after the singers performed for them. GGO's outreach to kids and support of the creative arts is outstanding and much appreciated by artists and families in Marin. They do a fantastic job with mostly volunteers! The professional expertise and enthusiasm of volunteers and board members is very impressive. They are definitely worthy of support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2011

Dear Roberta:

We enjoyed the production Friday night immensely. The whole cast is fantastic, the costumes, makeup, stage direction is very good, and it works so smoothly in the theatre for all ages of audience, for such a complicated piece. Bravo! It really is a great opera for
outreach and education for children that I hope it continues for decades as GGO's fall tradition.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

This group not only creates real access for all in the community to enjoy and learn about opera, it offers access to artists , and aspiring artists in the community to partiscipate in Opera. My son is 8 yrs old and sings with the SF Boys Chorus. He and another young man, 10, were given the opportunity to traing and be a part of their lastest production Lincoln and Booth. This opportunity for those in the community, offereing access to these youg kids can be life changing. I encourage all to support this great org. Brian

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

Many hearing the word "opera" wince at stuffy, boring, interminable singing in a foreign language, with costly tickets. Golden Gate Opera proves "it ain't necessarily so!" GGO breaks off opera's crusty veneer to bring fresh and lively mini-productions to schools, and the children love it. GGO also hosts intimate receptions at private homes where rising stars sing their favorites and make our ears vibrate. GGO presents timeless classics, plus new operas themed to entertain in English. If and when enough funds are available, GGO presents full-length operas on the smaller Marin Center stage, at affordable prices for families. Where else could my children and I have shared music like this?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 12, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2010

I want to thank Roberta for the Aria party. Not only opera, but playful Neapolitan songs as well! What a marvelous wan to spend a Sunday Afternoon in Marin. To sit, sipping wine, an arm's length fr... more

May 12, 2012

Dear Ms. Becker, The students in my class adored the Hansel and Gretel opera performance in October! Most of the students had never attended an opera before. Prior to the event, we spent time learning about opera as an art form. We read a version of the fairy tale in class and predicted how the book version of this famous story might differ from the stage performance. We discussed how many opera performances are presented in foreign languages They were thrilled to learn that Hansel and Gretel would be performed in English! We also prepared ourselves to carefluly observe the movements and actions of the characters as well as the set designs. In the days following the experience, students wrote a paper comparing and contrasting the book with the opera version. They also created some beautiful artwork in the form of a Persian miniature (this type of art features a border depicting story details surrounding the main picture). I have enclosed a few samples of their work as a small token of thanks for this wonderful gift. We would have sent this sooner, but these pictures have been proudly displayed in our classroom window for the past months! Thank you so much, again, for offering this special opportunity to our class. I wish you could have attended with us to see how beautifully the children behaved and the fine manner in which they represented the Rancho (School) community. With warmest regards, Deb Parnell, 5th Grade teacher, Rancho Elementary

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 27, 2010

I want to thank Roberta for the Aria party. Not only opera, but playful Neapolitan songs as well! What a marvelous wan to spend a Sunday Afternoon in Marin. To sit, sipping wine, an arm's length from such beautiful and powerful voices is a magical experience that no Opera House can give us. This would be a wonderful way to introduce Opera-Shy Spouses to the energy and joy of operatic voices! Bravo!! Best, Gayle Delaney

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm new and I want to volunteer now. I brought my visiting guests to the Aria Party too, seniors from France, and they had a wonderful time.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Put together opera experience for school enrichment without stress of worrying where the money is coming from, and go into as many schools as possible to help kids love the arts.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers