Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I adopted two little lab girls a few years ago from Nadia and Golden Bone Rescue. When we were ready to add to our family we decided we would rescue from Golden Bone Rescue again. We contacted them and were fortunate enough to be able to adopt our Gracie, who is a Bernese Mnt. Dog. She is so incredibly beautiful and loves her new home! We use Golden Bone Rescue because my wife and I appreciate how much Nadia cares for these animals and goes out of her way to ensure that the dog is a good fit for us as well as making sure that we are a good fit for the right dog. When we adopted Gracie Nadia opened her home to us so that we could meet Gracie and see if we could make a connection. I'm so great full to her for taking the time to do this instead of just placing a dog where ever she can. I would and have recommended them to other friends and family. Thank you to them for our baby Gracie!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We had the privileged of foster two lab mix puppies, one of which is now our little boy, Floyd. Golden Bone provided everything the pups needed while in our care and looked diligently for good homes, not just any homes. Little Floyd found his way into our hearts and our family and we couldn't be happier. Without Golden Bone Fletcher and Zeke wouldn't have a new little brother and Floyd wouldn't have a home. Floyd's biological brother, Scar, also found a perfect home. Many people were interested in this dogs - we were offered money for Floyd the other day - but Nadia worked hard to ensure they were placed where they needed to be. We feel indebted to the organization for completing our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We've had the pleasure of fostering dogs through this organization and helping them find forever homes. This is an organization that does all it can to ensure that dogs find good quality homes that are a good fit for them so that dogs do not end up back in a shelter or in a negative environment. The most important thing is that support doesn't stop when the dogs are adopted. The people involved are there to help with training, rehabilitation, and work on any quirks developed through previous experiences the animals have had. We feel so secure knowing they are doing their due diligence to screen applicants and place dogs in a place that is best for the dog not just because someone is interested.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After losing our beloved 14-year old corgi, Alice, we thought we'd never be able to bear that sort of grief again. Luckily, a neighbor kept sending us photos from Golden Bone Rescue. We'd look at them and sigh but that was it. And then, Charlie came along. A sweet little neglected furball with no home of his own. We called and asked about him and were interviewed on the phone. We also filled out an extensive application. A day later, a person from GBR came to inspect our home and to do a face to face with us. Every step of the way, Charlie came closer to being ours. Today, he is the absolute love of our life - we cannot imagine being without him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Following my annual winter trip to Bryce Canyon National Park, I stopped by the dumpsters at The Gap (a remote part of the western Navajo Nation in the middle of nowhere, Northern Arizona) on the way home. I found a fuzzy puppy and brought him home, as I refuse to leave them behind anymore (I’ve seen several 'throwaway' dogs up there over the years).

I had been collecting blankets and towels for Golden Bone Rescue so I contacted them about the rescue. Golden Bone graciously agreed to take the pup on financially. He had a nasty wound on his neck, and when we got him to the vet the next morning, we learned he had probably been shot with a gun or an arrow. Along with his neck surgery, he was neutered and checked for worms, mites, mange, etc. He has recovered beautifully.

Golden Bone behaviorists worked with the pup, introduced him to new situations, changed some negative behaviors, and helped to socialize him, taking him during the day while I fostered him at my house at night. They carefully screen interested applicants and found him an ideal forever home.

Chester Good Dog is a wonderful, sweet, trusting, funny little bundle of love who charms everyone he meets. He is magic, and his magic has been allowed to shine in great part due to the efforts of Golden Bone Rescue and Rehab.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Golden Bone is a wonderful organization with excellent care and placement of animals first and foremost on their agenda. Not only have I fostered dogs for Golden Bone but I have also adopted through them. If I was a doggie looking for a home, I would want Golden Bone to help me. And my Skippy says "thank you Golden Bone!"

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering and adopting

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways for them to build their facility

April 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to Golden Bone Rescue and Rehab in November of 2009. I had found the dog of my dreams at the home of a dog groomer who was fostering the dog for Golden Bone. I was very impressed with several aspects about how Golden Bone dealt with me in the process of adopting my wonderful dog.

1) The contact person (Liz) was prompt and professional in the time and manner in which she returned my phone calls. She answered all my questions clearly and thoroughly.

2) I was impressed with the fact that Golden Bone sent someone to my home to check it out for safety and appropriateness for keeping the dog. They checked to make sure that I had an enclosed back yard. They asked me questions about my life style to insure that the dog wouldn’t be left alone for long periods of time. They wanted to know where the dog would sleep. I was left with the impression that they cared very much that the pooch would be in a safe and loving place.

The entire process, from my first contact with the foster “mom” to welcoming the dog into my home, took a mere two days.

3) At a fund-raiser event that I attended for the organization, I saw further evidence of Golden Bone’s concern and care for homeless dogs. The presenters they chose and the attention to detail in how they organized the event spoke of the organization’s desire to educate the public about proper and effective training, as well as about good health for the animals.

The people whom I have met from Golden Bone are among the most caring individuals I know. They sincerely care about neglected and abused dogs, and they work tirelessly on a volunteer basis to see that the dogs go to good homes. I can’t say enough good things about them!


Dr. Marta Adelsman
Cottonwood AZ

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way they related to me in the adoption of my dog, and in the way I've experienced their care and deep concern for homeless and abused animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more volunteers so the ones they have wouldn't have to work so hard.

April 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

was not for Golden Bone Rescue & Rehab, Inc. the two little girl puppies I have adopted and are now part of my family would never have been saved from the horrible and tragic direction their lives nearly ended with. Golden Bone Rescue & Rehab no only rescued Mama Sophia and her tiny puppy (Mia) from a crate where in someone had left them to die, they rehabilitated them to health and found them a forever loving home.

Golden Bone has saved the lives of so many unwanted pets and have brought joy to those lives as well so many others. Personally Golden Bone should be considered a true God send for the unfortunate pets and people longing for a lot of joy via a loving and loyal pet.

My heart thanks Golden Bone each and every day when I hold, hug, kiss and play with my Sophia and Mia.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Personally its one of the best Organizations I've worked with. The volunteers who wear their hearts on the outside should get much more recognition than they do. God belss each and every one of you who have ever saved abandoned, ill, and/or homeless animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move closer to volunteer!!!

November 22, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 22, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

When a sweet, little Jack Russell mix showed up at my workplace she had to go to animal control in case her owner was trying to find her. No one claimed her and she was doing time in a traditional shelter with big dogs barking and cold wind blowing through the guillotine door. I could not take her home because of an unwelcoming committee of dogs at my house, but continued to visit her at the shelter for two weeks. I began to worry when shelter workers told me she acted aggressively toward other dogs. That assesment can shorten one's stay in a traditional shelter! I knew she was only frightened and would likely warm up to other dogs in a calm setting. I contacted Golden Bone Rescue and asked for help. Liz, their president, found a foster home for little Peanut Butter within 2 days. Once the shelter transfer papers were done, I drove the pup to her new foster home. After many years in the sheltering business I knew I might not be happy with the conditions at the foster home. Thank goodness I was completely wrong. I was welcomed into a house that was clean, clean, clean. Peanut Butter's foster mom, Shannon, knew her dogs. She had baby gates and training crates available if needed. I left feeling completely at ease. By that evening Shannon had PB playing with her other small dogs and sleeping next to her in a little bed. Less than 48 hours after turning PB over to Golden Bone I have received an email that she has an excellent applicant interested in her. I have never had such an excellent experience working with a rescue group. They are dedicated animal lovers, but more importantly, they are organized, experienced professionals who understand how to do the greatest good with few resources. I don't hesitate in recommending this grass roots organization for those looking for a place where their donor dollars can make a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving their assistance in a time of need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it bigger, add paid staff and give them the capabilites to do more of what they are doing very well.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The founder has experience in behavior and training and shares that knowledge with volunteers. They know to look beyond the animal's institutional behavior to see who they could be in a home setting.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers