Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.25
Write A Review
January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

Great group of hardworking people. If only every charity was this effective, efficient and sound.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more staff and money into the hands of the people who run this charity. They work hard and need both support and a break.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After reviewing The God's Child Project's operations, I was so impressed by their efficiency, effectiveness and openness of their finances, as well as their ability to stretch donations as far as humanly possible, that I volunteered full-time for 4 months. It was the greatest thing I have ever done and I have since brought down friends, colleagues and associates from all walks of life. While I was at The God's Child Project program I sorted clothing, built houses, handed out food, and worked as a teacher. When I met the executive director I was impressed by his humility; he was unloading donated food off of a truck so for nearly an hour I thought he was just another volunteer. Then a staff member came and told him he had to get ready to meet with the Vice-President. If you are pure in your motivations and want to work with and support a real charity, this is the real deal. If you are into power trips, and for some reason a lot of potential volunteers and donors are, no one in The God's Child Project is going to let that happen. There's too much real work to be done and they've been making real changes in countries all over the world for nearly 25 years. The finances are externally and independently audited yearly in the United States and every three months in the international programs that the Gods child Project supports. Those external audit reports are available to anyone and everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish this group had more money. Their ability to stretch the donated dollar is amazing. They definitely need to do a better job of marketing the story of their efforts so that they can raise more funds to allow them to do even more work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In my experience, the financials from this organization are hidden from the donors. It is extremely difficult to determine how much of the donation is used for intended recipients and how much is used to fund salaries. This is an organization that in theory can do a lot of good, but is so careless and inept at sharing quantifiable data, you could be throwing your money away. In a time when donors expect more than anecdotal stories, Project God's Child has fallen off the map. There are other organizations that are much more transparent that "do good" in the places in which God's Child operates. I will donate with them the next time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

PROFESSIONAL MANAGEMENT Running this charity is completely beyond the expertise of the Director and his staff. They have multiple offices in adjoining states for some reason further making it appear they waste your money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This international organization pairs donors with individual children in the U.S., Guatemala and Africa who need support for their basic needs and for schooling. The God's Child Project organizes service teams to help with projects in Guatemala including homebuilding. Out of their efforts to ensure that impoverished children have tools to build successful lives, they have seen a need to intervene in the area of human trafficking. As the sponsor of a child, I am impressed with the way the organization facilitates communication and demonstrates how my support positively impacts my sponsoree.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2009

more

June 17, 2009

I have volunteered twice in Guatemala with the God's Child Project and say first-hand that this organization is saving hundreds of children from abject poverty by providing them with first and foremost an education, but also with safe housing, food and medical care. Every volunteer and staff member is focused on doing what it takes to keep children in school and off the very dangerous streets.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

healthy children, growing up normally in spite of extremely harsh circumstances.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

their very practical approach to every challenge.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

enthusiastic and professional.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

save thousands more children from a life of poverty and despair.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers