Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.890915
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

When our cat died, i thought the world was over. I love cats so much that after I got over her, I couldn't live without them. We waited and waited because of my dad's allergies, but finally, i found this brochure on the Goathouse Refuge at Weaver Street Market. I thought it looked like and amazing pace to adopt from. And it is. When we first visited, i immediately fell in love with a family of 5; one mom, and 4 kittens. We ended up adopting 2 of the kittens, who are now called Butternut and Sawyer. They are, and have always been loving and outgoing. The Goathouse Refuge gave them the opportunity to grow up living with their mother, instead of on the streets. They have grown to be healthy, beautiful cats, and my family owes a lot of that to the refuge. Thank you so much to the Goathouse Refuge for providing this cat sanctuary for all the cats just like ours who really need a home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

This refuge for unwanted, sick, lost cats is a great place for the cats and persons looking to adopt. I have a cat from the refuge not the cat I would have picked but due to Ms Scarpa's great knowledge and love for the cats she picked the cat that was good for me and for the cat. Ms Scarpa and the volunteers are dedicated to the cats and the Refuge is well maintained, clean and the cats are so happy there you almost hate to take them away from their lovely place in the woods. I would highly recommend this refuge to adopt a cat and what a wonderful service they are performing for the community to care and make a home for so many cats that would otherwise be lost, diseased and mistreated.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I saw a information sheet about the Goathouse at my local vet's office and couldn't wait to check it out. It was wonderful to see all of the cats and kittens enjoying the healthy and loving environment. Later I took my husband for the experience. As we were leaving, one of the volunteers asked if we wanted to meet the kittens. The kitten house is like Romper Room with fur with kittens bouncing everywhere. We filled out adoption applications for two kittens that day and a third one month later. The adoption process is rather more involved than we expected, however, it is good to know that the staff care enough to ensure the adopted family members will be happy and healthy. Even if you aren't ready to adopt, please go and meet the cats and kittens. Spend some time just socializing and snuggling, your blood pressure will thank you for it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The Goathouse Refuge is a very special place where the animals are truly loved and cared for. Siglinda has created a home for so many animals, especially cats, where they can live a good life until they are found new homes. She and the volunteers are devoted and I am grateful to them. We adopted 2 cats who are so loving and sweet, everyone who meets them comments on their friendly dispositions. I know this is largely from their upbringing where they got so much love and attention- even though there were so many animals that needed it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My husband and I found the Goathouse on the internet after the loss of a beloved cat, Cougar. We were so impressed with the procedures, their love for all the animals and they gave us a new love, Bella. To know there are such amazing people who love all God's creatures gives me much joy. Thank you Goathouse!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I saw Goathouse Refuge on the Internet when I was looking for a cat to adopt. Pictures of their cats are on the website. When I adopted Jack ( a Cornish Rex mix) a year ago, they had around 165 cats. They are very particular about who adopts their cats. I had to get a recommendation from our vet and the vet had to visit our house to see if it would be a suitable home for the cat. After we were approved by GR, we drove from our home in Front Royal, VA to NC to pick up Jack -- a five hour drive. We were very impressed with the GR facility, which is located in a wooded area with no neighbors that we could see. The kittens were housed in a heated building. The older cats were in a fenced area, where they could go outside or inside. The top of the wire fence was done in a way to prevent the cats from climbing over. The cats all looked well cared for. GR is very clean and well run.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Goathouse Refuge is beautiful in every way! The grounds are, literally, beautiful -- its wild gardens up front and safely enclosed woods are a calming respite for all two- and four-footed guests. And its mission could not be more beautiful: it is a place where many cats will find forever homes. The volunteers are truly considerate of the animals' well-being, taking time to put the right kitty with the right owner for life. But what's more amazing is the care GR provides to the ones whom life has treated so harshly that it is unlikely they will ever be trusting enough (or again) to be our "pets"; these especially vulnerable animals may need the Refuge's permanent care -- and Siglinda and her volunteers give them lives of safety, kindness, and respect that I have never seen another shelter of this size come close to providing. Help if you can, and you will know you are part of this place's beauty! I live with two little parts of it now everyday: Alfred (formerly Chris Jr.) and Gracie. The Goathouse saved them; when I was in the midst of my own life's upheaval, I found them there and have no doubt that THEY rescued me. If you need magic, and you need love...it's here. Go see it -- just walk and watch the cats. Calm your mind with them, and you will give them peace too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The Goathouse Refuge is a wonderful place run by a truly devoted and selfless woman, Siglinda Scarpa. I adopted my solid black cat, Chief (formerly Marvin) earlier this year. Chief was rescued from a kill shelter! The employees and volunteers are wonderful and helped us look for a cat that would be happy in our home, and they have a screening process in place to make the best matches and ensure that the adopted cats go to happy homes. The Refuge is a clean, safe, loving place for all cats! If you need or want a cat, please contact them. If not, at least visit. You will be amazed, it is such a unique organization!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

We first visited the Goathouse in 2009 when we went to adopt our cat Dexter. It was amazing how much every volunteer knew so much about the personalities and needs of each unique cat. When we went to adopt Dexter, they had noticed his pupils were enlarged more than usual, and they wanted to make sure his medical needs were met before we proceeded with the adoption. As it turns out, he had a genetic condition that left him mostly blind. We were so thankful that they cared so much about him before we could give him a permanent home. A year later, we decided to adopt another cat, and when we went to visit Siglinda and the volunteers remembered us and asked us about Dexter - it is just phenomenal that they care so much about each and every cat there. We were able to adopt Maybelline, and we now have a complete family! We cannot thank Goathouse enough for the love and care they give their animals and their visitors. It has been truly inspirational to know Siglinda and see the love she has to offer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Goathouse Refuge is not only a lifesaving shelter for cats, it is also a community anchor. Siglinda has woven the Refuge into the fabric of our local community in such a pleasing way with events of all sorts. My mom got 2 cats at separate times from the Refuge, both lovely animals. The volunteers there get to know the cats and their histories so that they can skillfully match kitties to people, and that was very helpful. It is an enjoyable place to visit, and I would think a very rewarding place to volunteer, as all the volunteers I met were warm and loving human beings. I wouldn't look anywhere but the Refuge for my next cat!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Clean cages, feed and water kitties, help medicate as needed, socialize and give love!!