Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.890915
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My family recently adopted our first cat. After visiting a couple other shelters and spending a lot of time looking at places on line, we fell in love with the Goathouse right away! The volunteers that we met and the founder were so encouraging and helpful. We shared with them our hopes for our new cat and because they get to know the cats in their care so well, were able to steer us in the right direction. We love, love, love our kitty! It's obvious how passionate the Goathouse staff are about what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 16, 2013

We adopted out cat Storm over a year ago and he has brought such joy to our life. When he was rescued and brought to the Goathouse after being abandoned, his back paw was very infected due to a some ... more

October 9, 2013

I've been volunteering at the Goathouse since 2009 and I am always amazed at the level of caring and compassion that this organization has for cats that no one else cares about. I've seen sick cats dumped at the gate, litters of kittens left in ditches, perfectly adoptable cats dumped at the county shelter, and senior cats left at the door because someone has become 'allergic' after having the cat for ten years.

The Goathouse Refuge takes them all in, treats their illnesses, feeds them the best food, and works so very hard to get them back into a home with a family. There are cats there that will likely never be adopted due to medical conditions but I can rest at night knowing they don't have to die a torturous death in a carbon monoxide gas chamber in a NC county shelter!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more volunteers and some kind of corporate sponsorship to help support ongoing operations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013

We adopted out cat Storm over a year ago and he has brought such joy to our life. When he was rescued and brought to the Goathouse after being abandoned, his back paw was very infected due to a some kind of bite. It shows the dedication of the Goathouse staff that they spent hundreds (if not thousands) of dollars and hours of time at the vet getting this boy healthy. And we are so happy they did that. He would not have lasted an hour at a county shelter. He's a black cat and has a weird walk but he's so special to us. Thank you Goathouse for truly caring about cats and saving Storm until we were able to find him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2013

more

March 22, 2013

The cats I adopted from the Goathouse Refuge had ringworm, giardia, ear mites, herpes, diarrhea, and an assortment of parasites. They are not a responsible rescue group, and the cats in their care are sick, neglected. I'm not sure what they do with all the money they raise, but it's not going to the health care of their cats.

Visit Indy Week (Durham NC) to read an article called Too Many Cats: The Truth about the Goathouse Refuge.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

I have had cats most of my life. We were looking for another cat to join our family. We were turned down by another animal rescue because I was honest and said I would allow my cats to go outside on our 10 acre lot. We were referred to the Goat House Refuge. The volunteers were very nice and let us play with the cats and kittens. The owner talked with us and was insightful in helping us pick out just the right cat. My girls love it there so much they ask me all the time when they can go back and play with the kitties.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

We searched for weeks to adopt a cat. Every place we went to all the cats seemed scared and caged up. After searching online we found the Goathouse located about an hour from our home but decided to visit after I called after hours and Siglinda the owner answered and answered all my questions. When we go there it was the most amazing place ever and the cats were so happy, healthy and well taken care of. They are provided with a safe and loving environment with staff that truly love the animals. We found 2 cats that we instantly fell in love with. The entire adoption process with thorough and helpful. We were back to get the younger cat shots and my girls loved playing with an petting all the happy kitties.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Goathouse Refuge is truly one of a kind with extremely friendly, caring, and helpful staff, clean facilities, and happy residents. I have never seen so many cats coexisting happily in one place. The cats we adopted quickly adapted because they were so used to being treated with care at Goathouse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

We have adopted two precious cats from Goathouse in the last four years. The refuge is a true paradise for abandoned, mistreated, sick and homeless cats and kittens. They are given loving care and, if they are healthy and old enough, freedom to roam three fenced wooded acres. We have taken friends from out of town just to tour the place and they leave amazed that such a place exists. Siglinda Scarpa and her volunteer staff should be recognized for the outstanding work they do for these precious, deserving creatures and those who love them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I had never before adopted a cat from a shelter &, following the loss of two of my all-time favorite & Best Cats last year, I was even more determined to Keep My Distance. But, on my second trip to Goathouse I was won over by enthusiasm of the staff & the general atmosphere of the place. I left with Angelica ( Jellicat ) who has proven to be a wonderful addition to the household. Siglinda is a marvel & i am sure that she knows the names of every cat in the refuge & all those ambling around the grounds. The place is a treat just to visit. But be warned you'll probably leave with a cat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I love visiting the Goathouse Refuge, a local landmark and treasure. Located in rural North Carolina on several acres, the no-kill refuge is also a "last resort" cattery which accepts ill, elderly, and unadoptable cats, giving them love and shelter. Visitors are surrounded by purring cats of all ages, whose health and friendliness testify to the care they receive from volunteers and vets. In good weather, we can join the cats in their large wooded fenced-in area dotted with individual shelters in which to run, play, and, for those who prefer, live. The large, clean indoor area has beds and cushions and hammocks in cages. Siglinda Scarpa knows her cats intimately and makes potential adopters prove themselves, including a home visit. When I lost my 20-yr-old, I went to the refuge looking for a small adult black male and came home with 3-yr-old Blue but somehow large, grey, 12-yr-old Indy came along and the odd couple's antics keep me laughing (and warm). Siglinda is very persuasive. My friends and I visit the refuge just for the fun of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

When my partner and I arrived in Chapel Hill for a two-year stay, our cat of 16 years had just died. We heard about the Goathouse Refuge from numerous people; in fact, anytime cats were mentioned, so was the Goathouse. We visited the GR on a Friday, went back on Saturday, and left on Sunday with two little fellows, both of them last-minute rescues from a nearby kill shelter. Every aspect of the GR is impressive, from the environment and volunteers to the adoption process and sense of community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Clean cages, feed and water kitties, help medicate as needed, socialize and give love!!