Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.890915
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Today was my second experience as a volunteer. People say, you have cats. Why do you drive an hour and a half one way to clean cages? These sweet babies deserve all the help they can get. Now I recognize Chloe (beautiful petite Siamese I would home if possible), Orion, Patches, Mamacita (awesome soft rosy buff colored), Midnight (loving even though previously mistreated), Casper, Princess, Simon, Paul (who sat in my lap a good half hour today) and more that I recognize and still need to learn their names. I day dreamed of winning the lotto and helping thee sweet babies more. Look forward to more time with them soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I recently spent a morning volunteering at the Goathouse Refuge. What a wonderful rescue facility. Most of the cats enjoy the freedom of a safe indoor/outdoor enclosure, and are able to utilize multi cat doors to access either. There are cats of all descriptions looking for their forever home, but spending their waiting time in a spacious loving environment. It saddens me so much, that we live in a society that produces so many unwanted animals, but I am so happy that so many have this refuge to call home, until they are hopefully adopted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The Goathouse does everything they can for homeless, unwanted and forgotten felines. They have a beautiful sanctuary and take wonderful care of all the kitties.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 16, 2013

We adopted out cat Storm over a year ago and he has brought such joy to our life. When he was rescued and brought to the Goathouse after being abandoned, his back paw was very infected due to a some ... more

October 9, 2013

I've been volunteering at the Goathouse since 2009 and I am always amazed at the level of caring and compassion that this organization has for cats that no one else cares about. I've seen sick cats dumped at the gate, litters of kittens left in ditches, perfectly adoptable cats dumped at the county shelter, and senior cats left at the door because someone has become 'allergic' after having the cat for ten years.

The Goathouse Refuge takes them all in, treats their illnesses, feeds them the best food, and works so very hard to get them back into a home with a family. There are cats there that will likely never be adopted due to medical conditions but I can rest at night knowing they don't have to die a torturous death in a carbon monoxide gas chamber in a NC county shelter!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more volunteers and some kind of corporate sponsorship to help support ongoing operations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013

We adopted out cat Storm over a year ago and he has brought such joy to our life. When he was rescued and brought to the Goathouse after being abandoned, his back paw was very infected due to a some kind of bite. It shows the dedication of the Goathouse staff that they spent hundreds (if not thousands) of dollars and hours of time at the vet getting this boy healthy. And we are so happy they did that. He would not have lasted an hour at a county shelter. He's a black cat and has a weird walk but he's so special to us. Thank you Goathouse for truly caring about cats and saving Storm until we were able to find him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I am a recent transplant to North Carolina and upon moving here had been told about an article in the New York Times describing the Goathouse. I was overwhelmed by my first visit to the place. Cats were everywhere in a cozy setting. There were toys, cat beds, blankets, furniture, litter boxes and beams going across the room where cats could be found. Cats of all sizes were everywhere and so friendly. Immediately I was surrounded by purring cats. Volunteers were cleaning cages and there was no smell. There were rooms with kittens and perches. Cats were going in and out to a large yard filled with cat houses, benches and tarps where cats were lounging. Some kitties were basking in the sun and others were chasing and climbing trees. Sporadically a cat would smack another cat and maybe a quick growl and then they were off and running. Overall all of the cats were so content. If I was to imagine an absolutely perfect place for cats this would be the place. Siglinda (the owner) entered the room and it was magic. She called out to the kitties by names speaking to some in Italian. She is a true animal Saint. Forget therapy; just spending reflective time visiting the cats and having my lap filled with at least one cat had me leaving with a good feeling. I have made many more visits back to the Goathouse with friends and my daughters. I have done some volunteering but hope I will do more in the future. I moved to North Carolina with one elderly cat and wanted to adopt another one and assumed it would be from the Goathouse. I get updates and information on my facebook about the Goathouse and they also support other animal rescues. It breaks my heart to read about so many animals just being tossed around in kill shelters. One of the shelters placed a call out through the Goathouse about a very sweet year old, declawed, microchipped, neutered cat that had a short time left. My older cat (inherited from my best friend when she died) was also declawed and I immediately wanted this rescue. When I talked to Siglinda I was feeling bad because I wanted a cat from her rescue but she reminded me that those cats at the Refuge were already safe and had a home. So now I am controlled by two wonderful cats at home. I am on a limited budget but this is a place I feel honored to donate funds.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it larger and funded.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

My daughters and I went to the Goathouse refuge to volunteer. I have never seen anything like it. It is an enchanting place for people and a wonderful place for animals. The cats have a huge outdoor enclosure that allows them to truly be cats. Every cat is treated with love and respect and. The volunteers know the animals and their individual personalities. We went intending to volunteer, but ended up adopting the most extraordinary kitty I have ever had. Young or old, sick or healthy, the Goathouse provides every cat and kitten a safe and loving environment. It is truly a magical place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have voluntered 3 times and adopted from the Goathouse Refuge. The refuge provides a cageless shelter with access to the outdoors, high quality food, clean surroundings and lots of love! The animals are indeed lucky to call the Goathouse home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My son and I have adopted 2 cats from the GoatHouse Refuge and have also volunteered there. Both experiences have been great. Before we adopted our cats, a volunteer visited our house and talked to us about the adoption process and made sure that we had everything that we needed to make the adoption successful. We volunteered for several months 1 shift a week at the GoatHouse and saw the care and compassion with which Siglinda ( the founder),the the staff and the volunteers treat each cat. If there is a medical problem that can be treated, it is treated T.he unique personality of each cat is recognized and every attempt is made to help cats that have difficulty because of mistreatment or some other issue to overcome the problem so that the cat can be adopted. To visit the Goathouse is wonderful because you see all these different cats walking about, both inside and out; and ,you can get a much better sense of a cat's personality because he/she is not subjected to the stressful conditions of the regular shelters where the cats are kept in small cages for most of the time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The Goathouse is a very caring and loving shelter for any cat in need or harms way. The Refuge is very well run, clean and the cats are happy and healthy. The ones that come to us in bad shape usually recover to be happy, healthy and very adoptable. There are few places in society that allow animals( cats) no matter what age or physical state to live out their lives in a free and safe environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

This Goathouse Refuge is the most awesome place. I actually hate it when I have to leave when I volunteer there. It's an absolutely gorgeous place, I was floored the very first time I went there. Those animals have the absolute best place to be while waiting for their forever home. Siglinda - she is top shelf people, it's a blessing to have met her. She is so kind, she has created a fantastic place on the map. Talented in her creations, this planet would do well to have more people like her. I've adopted a few Kitties, and foster a few more. I'm glad I get to be a part of the GoatHouse. -- Mike W.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Clean cages, feed and water kitties, help medicate as needed, socialize and give love!!