Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.890915
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

We adopted two cats from the Goathouse Refuge in 2011. What impresses me most about the Goathouse is the balance that the organization achieves between helping a huge number of animals in need while simultaneously considering the care and needs of each individual cat. The two cats--sisters-- we adopted had been at the refuge for nearly a year; they transitioned easily into our home and are affectionate, well-adjusted pets. This is testament to the level of care they received while living at the Goathouse, where every volunteer--and most of all, Siglinda--fiercely protects and respects the needs of the cats while working to place them in permanent homes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

We adopted two wonderful cats from the Goathouse Refuge. I was thoroughly impressed with their dedication to the animal's well-being, and with their staff and volunteers. They are a serious group of people and advocate for their orphaned cats via an intensive, but fair vetting process, and a check in 6 months later.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I was introduced to the Goathouse by a dear friend and it was love at first sight! Based on Siglinda Scarpa's amazing vision, the Goathouse provides a cage-free environment for cats and kittens waiting for adoption or a forever home to those who can't find a family. You really can't imagine the magic that happens at the Goathouse until you visit, which I encourage you to do. Even though I live in California, I have to focus my efforts on helping sustain the work put into this wonderful facility. As with her pottery, Siglinda's attention to detail and unique outlook on life combined with her passion for the well being of all animals really do make a difference in the lives of the animals and the people associated with them! Please visit our website and help us help the cats! George Covino

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

My first visit to the Goathouse was shortly after hurricane Katrina in 2005. I met Siglinda Scarpa in her studio with a dozen cats, some of which she had rescued from the hurricane. I fell in love with the setting and Siglinda’s passion for animals, picked up a scoop to help clean the litter boxes and have been a part of the Goathouse’s mission ever since. The studio is now the cat refuge with 2 acres of fenced kitty playground and houses 200 adoptable cage-free cats and kittens. It is, in fact, NC’s largest no-kill sanctuary and is truly a remarkable resource for the area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

The Goathouse Refuge is an amazing facility, and the staff, with owner, Siglinda Scarpa are truly beautiful people that have such wonderful hearts and passion for each animal at the refuge. I was lucky enough that they were able to place 3 of my feline children when I moved out of state & was unable to take them with me. I am forever thankful, and will continue to donate and support the refuge as much and as often as I can. I encourage anyone reading this to do the same!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

If i were a cat in need if rescue..i would hope Siglinda and the Refuge would be my interim home to my forever home. The cats here get medical attention,, food, love and lots of other cats to play with...Cats roam in the fenced in area in a wooded area where they can be free of predators and lounge or play with one another. The few cats in cages are there for comfort or medical care and usually the door is left open for them to come out once they feel ready.i have never seen so many cats in one area that get along as well as these in this refuge. You can sure sense the love and caring atmosphere. Definitely worthy of a Gold Star Award

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

My first experience was when I was transporting rescue cats from a very high kill shelter to Goathouse Refuge. I was amazed at the level of care the rescue cats receive here. All the cats I saw were happy, healthy and content. The love they are shown by all the staff and volunteers makes Goathouse one of the best places a rescue cat can go until they are adopted. Siglinda and her staff love each and every one of them equally. They work tirelessly to make sure the facility is maintained and safe for the cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

The cats here can be outdoors, indoors, or just plain couch potatoes! They can sleep on the bed, or any of the hundreds of other shelves and beds in the building or out in the compound. I've never seen a place where the cats had such free range (even my own cats : )

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I am a cat lover and have quite a few of my own. I visited the Goathouse just so I could provide some love and attention to the cats there. Was I ever impressed! I felt like the Pied Piper walking around with loving cats following me and wanting attention. Everywhere I looked there were cats, all healthy, happy, and well cared for. Only those needing special care were confined. And each cat had its own story which the founder knew by heart. The Goathouse now has a special place in my heart. It's an impressive place that deserves the support of all animal lovers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

The first time I visited the Goathouse I was amazed. All those kitties walking around all over the place, happy and healthy. A far cry from any other animal shelter I have been to, where the animals were all caged and just pitiful to look at. The cats at the Goathouse get the best of care, no matter how young, old, sick, healthy, pretty, or whatever. This is a great non-profit & I am proud to be a part of it. I even adopted a few kitties from the Goathouse.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Clean cages, feed and water kitties, help medicate as needed, socialize and give love!!