Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.890915
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
February 1, 2014

more

February 1, 2014

I first visited The Goathouse Refuge in early January, 2014; since that initial visit, this is the place where my children and I go when we have a free afternoon, EVERY time we have a free afternoon. The cats and kittens are extremely well cared for and very social. Each and every one has a name and knows it is loved. I cannot imagine an organization with a better mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Today was my second experience as a volunteer. People say, you have cats. Why do you drive an hour and a half one way to clean cages? These sweet babies deserve all the help they can get. Now I recognize Chloe (beautiful petite Siamese I would home if possible), Orion, Patches, Mamacita (awesome soft rosy buff colored), Midnight (loving even though previously mistreated), Casper, Princess, Simon, Paul (who sat in my lap a good half hour today) and more that I recognize and still need to learn their names. I day dreamed of winning the lotto and helping thee sweet babies more. Look forward to more time with them soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I recently spent a morning volunteering at the Goathouse Refuge. What a wonderful rescue facility. Most of the cats enjoy the freedom of a safe indoor/outdoor enclosure, and are able to utilize multi cat doors to access either. There are cats of all descriptions looking for their forever home, but spending their waiting time in a spacious loving environment. It saddens me so much, that we live in a society that produces so many unwanted animals, but I am so happy that so many have this refuge to call home, until they are hopefully adopted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Not only does Goathouse Refuge provide a great place to meet adoptable cats, it also provides a safe, loving home for "unadoptable" cats. It is amazing the see the main colony live so harmoniously and happily together. The grounds are beautiful as are the people who have dedicated their lives to rescuing cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their funding and staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The environment for the cats at the Goathouse is perfect for the cats. They have a lot of room to explore, sleep and have visitors. They maintain a high level of sanitation, even having you clean your shoes before entering so that the cats areas stay sanitary. Any cats with illnesses and new cats that need acclimating to the surroundings have cages that are large enough for them to have exercise. The fence is called a pur-fect fence so the cats can't get out and other animals can't get in to harm the cats. They have volunteers and staff to make sure the cats have interaction! In my opinion they have an ideal setup. I love to just go visit the cats because I have more than enough cats myself and admire what the Goathouse is doing. They also reach out to other rescues and help them by posting their needs on the Goathouse FB page. They are really doing this for the cats and not for any other reason!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The Goathouse Refuge is amazing! They have excellent volunteers and it is such a pleasure to visit. So many sweet kitties call this place home and are so well cared for here.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The Goathouse does everything they can for homeless, unwanted and forgotten felines. They have a beautiful sanctuary and take wonderful care of all the kitties.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 16, 2013

We adopted out cat Storm over a year ago and he has brought such joy to our life. When he was rescued and brought to the Goathouse after being abandoned, his back paw was very infected due to a some ... more

October 9, 2013

I've been volunteering at the Goathouse since 2009 and I am always amazed at the level of caring and compassion that this organization has for cats that no one else cares about. I've seen sick cats dumped at the gate, litters of kittens left in ditches, perfectly adoptable cats dumped at the county shelter, and senior cats left at the door because someone has become 'allergic' after having the cat for ten years.

The Goathouse Refuge takes them all in, treats their illnesses, feeds them the best food, and works so very hard to get them back into a home with a family. There are cats there that will likely never be adopted due to medical conditions but I can rest at night knowing they don't have to die a torturous death in a carbon monoxide gas chamber in a NC county shelter!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more volunteers and some kind of corporate sponsorship to help support ongoing operations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013

We adopted out cat Storm over a year ago and he has brought such joy to our life. When he was rescued and brought to the Goathouse after being abandoned, his back paw was very infected due to a some kind of bite. It shows the dedication of the Goathouse staff that they spent hundreds (if not thousands) of dollars and hours of time at the vet getting this boy healthy. And we are so happy they did that. He would not have lasted an hour at a county shelter. He's a black cat and has a weird walk but he's so special to us. Thank you Goathouse for truly caring about cats and saving Storm until we were able to find him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My family recently adopted our first cat. After visiting a couple other shelters and spending a lot of time looking at places on line, we fell in love with the Goathouse right away! The volunteers that we met and the founder were so encouraging and helpful. We shared with them our hopes for our new cat and because they get to know the cats in their care so well, were able to steer us in the right direction. We love, love, love our kitty! It's obvious how passionate the Goathouse staff are about what they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I am a recent transplant to North Carolina and upon moving here had been told about an article in the New York Times describing the Goathouse. I was overwhelmed by my first visit to the place. Cats were everywhere in a cozy setting. There were toys, cat beds, blankets, furniture, litter boxes and beams going across the room where cats could be found. Cats of all sizes were everywhere and so friendly. Immediately I was surrounded by purring cats. Volunteers were cleaning cages and there was no smell. There were rooms with kittens and perches. Cats were going in and out to a large yard filled with cat houses, benches and tarps where cats were lounging. Some kitties were basking in the sun and others were chasing and climbing trees. Sporadically a cat would smack another cat and maybe a quick growl and then they were off and running. Overall all of the cats were so content. If I was to imagine an absolutely perfect place for cats this would be the place. Siglinda (the owner) entered the room and it was magic. She called out to the kitties by names speaking to some in Italian. She is a true animal Saint. Forget therapy; just spending reflective time visiting the cats and having my lap filled with at least one cat had me leaving with a good feeling. I have made many more visits back to the Goathouse with friends and my daughters. I have done some volunteering but hope I will do more in the future. I moved to North Carolina with one elderly cat and wanted to adopt another one and assumed it would be from the Goathouse. I get updates and information on my facebook about the Goathouse and they also support other animal rescues. It breaks my heart to read about so many animals just being tossed around in kill shelters. One of the shelters placed a call out through the Goathouse about a very sweet year old, declawed, microchipped, neutered cat that had a short time left. My older cat (inherited from my best friend when she died) was also declawed and I immediately wanted this rescue. When I talked to Siglinda I was feeling bad because I wanted a cat from her rescue but she reminded me that those cats at the Refuge were already safe and had a home. So now I am controlled by two wonderful cats at home. I am on a limited budget but this is a place I feel honored to donate funds.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it larger and funded.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Clean cages, feed and water kitties, help medicate as needed, socialize and give love!!