Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
1234.989015
| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 17, 2012

To our friends at the Go4theGoal foundation:

As you know, the mission behind Camp No Worries is to provide a summer camp experience solely to give children with cancer and their siblings an opportunity to relax, enjoy themselves, and forget about their troubles for one week every summer.
It’s a place that allows children facing a diagnosis of cancer to just be kids. It’s a place of happiness, friendship, and new adventures. It’s a place of camaraderie and acceptance where everyone knows first-hand what it’s like to live with cancer. And it’s a true summer camp experience in every sense of the word.

In 2012, Camp No Worries celebrated its 18th year of providing children with a week of “no worries.” With the generous support of the Go4theGoal foundation we were able to take our Fight like a Girl and Wilderness Adventure programs for the teenage campers to the next level. Natalie Richardson, the Fight Like A Girl program coordinator, said the older girls loved their second year of Fight Like a Girl, which focused on empowerment, self-esteem, and support for one another. The group 'got in the ring' to discuss their strengths and weaknesses and began to understand how they have similarities and can support one another. After receiving their official Fight Like a Girl t-shirts, the girls participated in yoga to learn to strengthen their minds and bodies. The group made two crafts this year including metal stamping jewelry. The necklaces had a metal stamping piece designed by each participant, a unique bead, and boxing glove charm. The closing craft was a tree poster where every girl thumb-stamped their unique print on everyone else's tree, as a reminder that they can stand strong with each other to lean on. This program continues to develop our teenage girl campers, as they grow into mature, strong women.

Jon Bernacki, the Wilderness Adventure program coordinator, said the older boys began their adventure at their campsite and hiked some of the lesser traveled trails of Camp No Worries. They crossed Camp Inawendiwin's Betsy's Bridge then hiked along the stream through the marshes, over sphagnum moss, among the sedges and beneath the Cedar trees that give the stream its brown color. The muddy hike gave a very a different perspective than our usual hot and sandy pinelands campground. The boys ended their hike at the old lakefront beach where the boys were broken into four teams. A large bull's eye target was placed far out in the dry lakebed while the boys took turns working in teams to lob water balloons at the target using giant slingshots. The boys finished their adventure with a few games of tug-of-war across the stream. The games were a great finish and a fun way to cool off after the hike. From this program, the boys were able to walk the path less traveled, explore a unique habitat of the pinelands, and have fun working as a team while playing a variety of different games.

Go4theGoal also provided every one of our campers with a Pillow Pet and helped some of our camp families with their travel expenses to and from camp. In addition, Nick Stefanacci donated his DJ services for our Thursday evening program, which featured inflatable games for our campers. It was clear that campers, counselors, and the staff all enjoyed the music since there was a constant dance party in front of the DJ tent all night long.

Because of Go4theGoal’s support, a cancer patient who has undergone rigorous chemotherapy treatments and has been limited to a strict diet can be found singing songs at a campfire while eating S’mores. His or her sibling, who has spent much of their time at the hospital during visiting hours, can be found swimming alongside other brothers and sisters who have done the same. And still another child who has lost a brother or sister to cancer can be found making arts and crafts with a new group of friends who know exactly what they’re feeling. These children and countless more benefit from Camp No Worries each summer, but we could not provide this experience without the generosity of organizations like Go4theGoal.

We truly appreciate everything you have done for Camp No Worries this year and we are very excited about continuing this great relationship for years to come!

Sincerely,

Chris “Cal” Callanan
Camp No Worries, Director

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

As the site manager of a medical arts high school I am always looking for volunteer and educational opportunities for our students in the medical field. Go4theGoal was a win-win opportunity. Our students learned about pediatric cancer through guest speakers at the school. The fact that we had a discussion about pediatric cancer made the topic more relevant to my students. The heartbreaking story of Ms. Stefanacci's son, Richard and his battle with cancer really caught all my student's attention. It was wonderful to see some of my students volunteer and donate their time and raise funds for Go4The Goal at Richard's Run. I expect we will increase our contribution next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Go4thegoal is an amazing organization, not only providing support to those who need it most, but also enabling and empowering people to make a difference on behalf of others. My involvement with G4G came after learning about a former student's diagnosis with cancer. Like most people, I wanted to help, but did not know where to start. Someone put me in touch with this organization and in a short time, our community was able to sell nearly 1,000 pairs of laces! This organization is the network of support that all families should have when dealing with an illness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 11, 2012

Go 4 the Goal has been so extremely helpful to the families served by the organization I work at, POST. Here at Pediatric Oncology Support Team, we help local families with case management and counseling. As the case manager, it is my job to locate financial resources that families can use. I consider "Go 4 the Goal" my secret weapon. I request their assistance when things are very time urgent. They make it so easy and I don't think I've been denied once. It is such a relief working with Go 4 the Goal, I am so glad I made the connection with Beth (the CEO) who really provides personal attention to families. THANK YOU Go 4 the Goal.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
June 11, 2012

Finding out a family member, let alone a child is diagnosed with cancer is the most devastating news you could ever imagine. Go 4 the Goal managed to turn this tragedy into something a little more uplifting. They helped to rally the community behind my cousin and his family, the support we saw was truly inspiring. They really did such an amazing job with helping out and just raising so much awareness for pediatric cancer. It seems that people do not recognize pediatric cancer until it hits close to home, it is clear that Go 4 the Goal wants to change that and with their mission and the events they do, they are the BEST organization to do that. They are so wonderful in all that they do, I am looking forward to working with them in the future!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

In life, it has been an understanding of mine that life's deepest purpose can be found in our relationships. It is the connections with our families, our friends, our co-workers and our community that provides us with lasting memories of purpose. Go4theGoal is a charity which embraces the lasting memories of purpose for children affected by cancer. The work and effort which goes into this charity is both heartwarming and inspiring. This charity is filled with extraordinary men and women who put these children affected by cancer before themselves. Go4theGoal is truly an exceptional charity. It is a pleasure doing business with Go4theGoal. Adeline McGovern SJ Print Solutions

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 30, 2009

Why do I love the Go 4 the Goal Foundation? The answer is simple: First Hand Experience and Generosity. What do I mean by this? First off, the two founders of the foundation, Mrs. Beth Stefanacci and... more

April 2, 2012

The Go4theGoal Foundation is a foundation like no other because the main goal of the foundation is to help others. The foundation is not in existence to generate money for board members. It is solely to change the lives of those who are affected by cancer, like our dear friend Richard Stefanacci was just a few years ago. My other fellow board members are all Class A people who truly care and Go4theGoal is an up-and-coming foundation that truly deserves more and more recognition and publicity as the foundation continues to grow. Go4theGoal...We WILL help you get there!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2009

Why do I love the Go 4 the Goal Foundation? The answer is simple: First Hand Experience and Generosity. What do I mean by this? First off, the two founders of the foundation, Mrs. Beth Stefanacci and Mr. Richard Stefanacci, began this foundation with one simple goal in mind: To help those people dealing with Ewings Sarcoma, specifically children, have an easier, less painful experience with their disease, and to help raise awareness of Ewings Sarcoma. Mr. and Mrs. Stefanacci both lost a son named Richard to this terrible disease. And in his loving memory, they have strived to not only help patients be at peace with Ewings Sarcoma, but also help families of patients cope with the difficulties of the disease that they had to deal with when their son was ill. And they have done this unbelievably by supporting numerous Ewings Sarcoma research projects at Georgetown for example, as well as donating toys, video games, and the like to patients and hospitals on a regular basis. This is a tremendous example of generosity shown by the Stefanaccis as well. They themselves have donated endless amounts of money to the foundation and it just truly shows the character of this family and what this foundation is trying to accomplish. As for the foundation as a whole, even as everyone that was to be a part of the foundation was mourning the loss of Richard, planning was already being done to help others. The whole foundation knows what it feels like to lose someone to cancer, because everyone lost Richard. But this is the reason why this foundation cares so much. Everyone in this foundation wants to help those who are going through the same difficulties that they once did.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Numerous fundraisers at charity runs, board meetings, golf outings, money donations, giving video games and the like to hospitals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to have fundraisers often.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

that everything is being done to help raise awareness to the disease, and there is truly no other motive in having this foundation.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very nice and willing to help with open arms.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

do miraculous things and without a question, use the money in an extremely productive way. No money would be wasted on something irrelevent.

Ways to make it better...

this foundation had the means to bring in more money to give off to research, donations to patients, etc.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

not having a regular income of money coming from large corporations, just like many of the bigger nonprofit organizations have.

One thing I'd also say is that...

although this foundation is a bit under the radar, it has been making contributions that make it worthy of being more well known.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

Our son Dalton passed from Ewings Sarcoma in 2010. It is our pledge to raise awareness to this and other pediatric cancers. Raising enough funds to get our son Dalton's truck wrapped with Go4theGoal information along with a beautiful picture of our son. It is our honor to drive the truck publisizing this cause to raise awareness to pediatric cancers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 30, 2012

I work with many charities and causes and Go4thegoal is one of the best and most enjoyable to work with. I know the money we raise goes directly to support the children and the staff is an amazing group to work with. They have an amazing vision and are very organized in executing the vision. Their Lace-Up 4 Pediatric Initiative has impacted so many of the constituents I work with. I would encourage anyone who is looking for a cause to support to work with Go4theGoal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 28, 2012

I am a pediatric oncology social worker in Washington State. I couldn't believe that Go For the Goal was willing to help our patients, being on the opposite side of the country! G4G staff have always responded incredibly promptly to our requests for assistance for our families. They have been very professional and personable, and have made the process easier than any foundation I have ever come across. G4G really cares about making a difference for kids and families, and they are a joy to work with. Thank you so much for your incredible hard work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers