Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.614045
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 11, 2014

more

March 11, 2014

Having been a donor and attended an Eat So They Can ball, I am extremely impressed with GVN, and the dedication the team has to achieving their own set goals. While there are a lot of NFP out there, I feel like I know where my money is going. Instead of being an organisation that brings awareness through "sympathy" imagery, it celebrates what it can achieve through sociable and interesting events. Ace work guys.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

GVNF has been WONDERFUL every time when I take part in their annual fundraiser Eat So They Can. Highly organised, excellent staff with detailed, consistent help all along the way. I feel very privileged to be a part of the great work they do, and trust they will go a long, long way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been supporting the GVN Foundation for a number of years now. My family and I take part in their annual Eat So They Can fundraiser, and we have made a number of one-off donations to causes that are close to our heart. I appreciate the time taken to provide updates on the projects we support, and like that we can be part of something bigger which really does make a difference to a child in need. Over the years I've been associated with the GVN Foundation and GVN I have been impressed with the organizations and their staff, who have answered a range of questions I've had on occasion regarding my donations. I look forward to continuing to support them and their projects. Keep up the great work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the impact they have with the donations they allocate. I like the Distribution Trips too - an opportunity to see first hand how donations are spent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like a few more options with the Christmas gifts - perhaps a family type option - from 'my family to yours'

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Re the IDP camp - there was a huge need for housing... the bit my family could give certainly had an impact on a family there.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Yes

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

GVN foundation is a small but most efficient organisation. I always feel confident that most of the money I give or raise goes straight to the great projects I want to help. They are always thinking of new imaginative ways to help raise money for their project: the Eat So They Can initiative has now developed into a well established yearly global event not only raising funds but also awareness of the causes the host has chosen to support. The gifts of change are a great idea for potential donors who want to know exactly what they are giving to: from chickens to medical supplies to bricks... Allowing small donations to "make a difference". Another aspect I really like about GVN is that they always focus on the positive side. The distribution trip is a great way of following the effect of donations on the ground. This can be followed on the eatsotheycan website. The team of people working there are all motivated and inspiring.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

GVN supports a corrupt organization in Vietnam whose director pockets thousands of dollars in donations meant for orphanages in Tam Ky and Da Nang. GVN has known of this for nearly two years but refuses to disassociate itself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have attended Eat So They Can events organized by the GVN Foundation for the past three years. All the events have been fun and informative. I also think it's great that donors are kept informed on how funds are used through the Eat So They Can facebook page and blog. There is great follow-up and transparency on how funds are used.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I like how GVN not only caters the need of one type of adversity we have globally but its mission is to help all-round. I attended one of GVNs eat so they can eat dinner fund raiser functions couple of years ago & was touched. What GVN has done to bring smile the innocent & helpless around the world is priceless.
I wish more & more volunteers/donors join this cause & help make the world a better place that we can truly be proud of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have four years experience working as a volunteer in developing countries across the world. I understand the needs of children in orphanages as I have witnessed these and learned from many wonderful children. When I first volunteered with GVN organisation, the volunteer organisation connected to GVN Foundation, I raised many thousands of dollars, given by good people, for the children and in good faith. I left these funds in the hands of the GVN Foundation and through them the local organisation who ought to distribute these funds to the children who are very desperately in need of basic care. To my knowledge, this money never reached the children. I am by no means the only donor who has sent money and found that it did not reach the children. In the last two years, enough volunteers have been concerned about the way funds were being spent, or rather not spent, that the issue was raised with GVN Foundation, in detail. The Foundation were sent repeated evidence that the local partner to whom funds are sent were not reaching the children. Evidence of false accounting was extensive. Volunteers on the ground reported serious discrepancies in money known to have been sent by donor that never reached the orphanages. The specifics were sent to GVN Foundation. Despite this, GVN as an organisation continues to work with the local partner and the children continue to struggle. GVN Foundation chose, after pressure from volunteers, to stop sending Foundation funds to the partner, but continue working with the individual in a volunteer programme. Many volunteers, when they realise they have been massively overcharged and drawn into working with an organisation with serious allegations of corruption, have been extremely upset and disappointed. GVN Foundation told concerned volunteers that a representative would be sent, spending money that should go to the children on what would be essentially a feel good trip by an individual with little or no knowledge of the children or their immediate and long term needs on the ground, to distribute funds. As yet, this has not happened. The children then suffer. Many volunteers are now gravely concerned for the future of the children. It is possible that GVN Foundation, faced with the reports of corruption by the local partner, will decide to close the project in question down. Doing so would take from the children, already abandoned and suffering, a comfort and support many have known for their whole lives. This is simply not acceptable. An orphaned child is not a commodity and any foundation or organisation which becomes involved long term with vulnerable children has an obligation not to abandon them. I am extremely concerned about the children, the damage that would be done to them should GVN Foundation not take their responsibilities and commitment to these children as seriously as it should, the further abandonment in their lives that may befall them and the repeated instances of funds not reaching the children. From a humanitarian standpoint, such treatment of these children is a disgrace. This Foundation needs firstly to take positive action, not stand back and watch as the children suffer unnecessarily. Secondly, those running this foundation must consider very seriously the commitment made to the children, the morally questionable profits generated for GVN itself and the local partner, through the children. Finally and most importantly GVN Foundation must recognise that a commitment has been made to these children, already abandoned, relinquished, orphaned and pained in their short lives. This commitment must be fulfilled and the children must not be abandoned. Funds intended for the children do not reach them, either in their entirety or at all. Until this is addressed seriously, GVN Foundation does not qualify for a name as a humanitarian or nonprofit organisation, let alone a great one. I remain, as always, very concerned for the children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Orphanages for children of all ages

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Overhaul, consider the moral and humanitarian obligation to the children, ensure funds intended for them get to them, stop allowing corruption to take place, do not abandon the children as this will cause significant upset, difficulty and deterioration of their lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Abandoned and orphaned children living in extreme povetry

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Desperate need

What would you tell others about this organization?

Do not donate, your money may not reach those in need and the organisation has not, despite knowledge of this problem, taken steps to improve and sustain the lives of the children.

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I decided to donate to the Global Volunteer Network Foundation because they make an effort to provide funding for a wide variety of causes. I like that GVN not only supports orphans but also education for children, health supplies, food, and basic necessities. This makes for a good approach to better the lives of people in many different ways all over the world. I have had no problems with GVN in terms of the donation process. They run smoothly and are always helpful and prompt in their responses. I will continue to donate because I really believe in their cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have supported projects of GVNF since 2007 and I have been impressed by their professionalism, their progress, their achievements and their processes every time. They work with amazing partners, many of whom I have had the opportunity to visit myself. They offer transparency and afford you the knowledge of how and where your funds are being used. They are brilliant with their follow-up and they link you to their causes so that you are able to adopt them as your own and understand why it is so important that we support them. The staff are informative, pleasant and professional and I love working with them. I have also visited their offices and met many other donors and volunteers of their programs. They have changed countless lives and should be supported.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host an Eat So They Can dinner party for friends and family to raise funds and awareness for our nutrition programs. All our Eat So They Can hosts are provided with a party pack including our DVD, balloons and stickers! Volunteer