Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.614045
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
July 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have four years experience working as a volunteer in developing countries across the world. I understand the needs of children in orphanages as I have witnessed these and learned from many wonderful children. When I first volunteered with GVN organisation, the volunteer organisation connected to GVN Foundation, I raised many thousands of dollars, given by good people, for the children and in good faith. I left these funds in the hands of the GVN Foundation and through them the local organisation who ought to distribute these funds to the children who are very desperately in need of basic care. To my knowledge, this money never reached the children. I am by no means the only donor who has sent money and found that it did not reach the children. In the last two years, enough volunteers have been concerned about the way funds were being spent, or rather not spent, that the issue was raised with GVN Foundation, in detail. The Foundation were sent repeated evidence that the local partner to whom funds are sent were not reaching the children. Evidence of false accounting was extensive. Volunteers on the ground reported serious discrepancies in money known to have been sent by donor that never reached the orphanages. The specifics were sent to GVN Foundation. Despite this, GVN as an organisation continues to work with the local partner and the children continue to struggle. GVN Foundation chose, after pressure from volunteers, to stop sending Foundation funds to the partner, but continue working with the individual in a volunteer programme. Many volunteers, when they realise they have been massively overcharged and drawn into working with an organisation with serious allegations of corruption, have been extremely upset and disappointed. GVN Foundation told concerned volunteers that a representative would be sent, spending money that should go to the children on what would be essentially a feel good trip by an individual with little or no knowledge of the children or their immediate and long term needs on the ground, to distribute funds. As yet, this has not happened. The children then suffer. Many volunteers are now gravely concerned for the future of the children. It is possible that GVN Foundation, faced with the reports of corruption by the local partner, will decide to close the project in question down. Doing so would take from the children, already abandoned and suffering, a comfort and support many have known for their whole lives. This is simply not acceptable. An orphaned child is not a commodity and any foundation or organisation which becomes involved long term with vulnerable children has an obligation not to abandon them. I am extremely concerned about the children, the damage that would be done to them should GVN Foundation not take their responsibilities and commitment to these children as seriously as it should, the further abandonment in their lives that may befall them and the repeated instances of funds not reaching the children. From a humanitarian standpoint, such treatment of these children is a disgrace. This Foundation needs firstly to take positive action, not stand back and watch as the children suffer unnecessarily. Secondly, those running this foundation must consider very seriously the commitment made to the children, the morally questionable profits generated for GVN itself and the local partner, through the children. Finally and most importantly GVN Foundation must recognise that a commitment has been made to these children, already abandoned, relinquished, orphaned and pained in their short lives. This commitment must be fulfilled and the children must not be abandoned. Funds intended for the children do not reach them, either in their entirety or at all. Until this is addressed seriously, GVN Foundation does not qualify for a name as a humanitarian or nonprofit organisation, let alone a great one. I remain, as always, very concerned for the children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Orphanages for children of all ages

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Overhaul, consider the moral and humanitarian obligation to the children, ensure funds intended for them get to them, stop allowing corruption to take place, do not abandon the children as this will cause significant upset, difficulty and deterioration of their lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Abandoned and orphaned children living in extreme povetry

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Desperate need

What would you tell others about this organization?

Do not donate, your money may not reach those in need and the organisation has not, despite knowledge of this problem, taken steps to improve and sustain the lives of the children.

July 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

GVN is a wonderful organization that focuses on productive project throughout the world. It's also led by incredibly passionate and dedicated people who are committed to social change on an global level. I first encountered GVN when I was teaching English in Cusco, Peru, and decided to volunteer as a teacher through one of their programs. Having had such a good experience, I continued to fundraise for GVN's "Eat So They Can" campaign every year. One year ago, I attended the ESTC distribution trip in Cusco, and seeing all the projects firsthand was inspiring and assured me that great work is being done by this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The passion of the people behind the Global Volunteer Network Foundation is palpable. I went to Peru with Eliza Raymond from GVN Foundation and my experience with her and our whole volunteer group was so positive that is really set the bar high for any similar trip I'll take in the future. Not only was it logistically executed beautifully, but Eliza's relationships with the locals and the projects in Cusco and Pampallacta made all the difference in the depth of experience she was able to offer us as volunteers. The result was a weeklong trip that significantly changed how I view the world (honestly, this is not hyperbole!), and certainly how I think of Peru and the issues many Peruvians face--from malnutrition to pronounced gender inequality. Most importantly, I felt that I left Peru not only having learned a great deal, but feeling like I made a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was priviledged to be asked to join the GVNF Board of Directors a year ago and have enjoyed my experience supporting the organization. I have witnessed many positive changes in the past year and the social impact continues to grow. I'm excited about the future and some of the new programs and projects that have been implemented. We are committed to ensuring that the donations are applied in order to create sustainability for the projects selected. The grants/partnerships are evaluated and adjusted as needed to ensure the Vision of GVNF is carried through. It is a great feeling to know that I am a participant in impacting the lives of others in a positive way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I decided to donate to the Global Volunteer Network Foundation because they make an effort to provide funding for a wide variety of causes. I like that GVN not only supports orphans but also education for children, health supplies, food, and basic necessities. This makes for a good approach to better the lives of people in many different ways all over the world. I have had no problems with GVN in terms of the donation process. They run smoothly and are always helpful and prompt in their responses. I will continue to donate because I really believe in their cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I research over 50volunteer organizations to find GVN the best at meeting the needs of a challanging world with a very positive, honest approach. The project fundraising treks have been very inspirational and to see the direct benefit to those in need was heart warming. They have developed a way of making sure you are safe, understand effort and looked out for all involved over and beyond any other organization. For these reasons I have continued to do treks, Everest Sept 2012, and work with them on other volunteer efforts. The are the best!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Direct contact, experiencing challanging situations handled very personally and professional. I have been on 2 treks and work with them on local and international volunteer efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them with more support to expand into sustainable programs centeral locations to provide a more continues presence to more places in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I am pretty picky and they have it covered, especially the challanges of working with people all over the world.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Life changing!! I have meet and made some ongoing friendships, able to use my sustainable architectural experience to direct good use, allowed me to meet some amazing people/kids and understand the many cultures we have worldwide. Life Changing!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

About as good as anything I have felt in my 60years. Right next to my children and grandchildren.

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was privileged to be an intern at GVN Foundation as part of my Masters in Development Studies course. It was amazing to work with such positive, focused and fun individuals who totally believed in their work and the possibility that they can effect change in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hello I'm currently an International Intern for GVN Foundation with their campaign Eat So They Can. Originally I wanted to travel with them in their volunteer programs but as I wasn't able to skip classes and leave my country Brazil wasn't feasible at this time. Fortunately, GVN gives us a number of opportunities to interact and participate in their projects. So I got to enter their new International Intern team that was greatly formed with a group of proactive, energetic and enthusiastic people from all over the world! We're still in progress since it has been a couple of months of working together and distance is in fact an issue. However, they are able to promote webseminars covering time zones with a difference of 15 hours, as well as send our International Intern packs even to Brazil. For me especially it has been amazing since I'm - and they are also - dealing with another language and culture. And to manage to promote a universal campaign against poverty and hunger in countries other than our own can be quite a challenge. So sincerely I have to congratulate and thank them for their care, patience and warming to welcome a group that is so diverse and distance! Ando most importantly: always keeping us motivated and focused on our main goal: helping others!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

GVN is a delligent agency that meets their Mission statement and is a legitimate financial institution of donor funds. Both are necessary to serve clients. I have watched GVN evolve over five years with programs that offer a wide range of services to their clients, volunteers, staff etc. GVN is a global leader in the non-profit world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have taken part in every Eat So They Can since it began - I've hosted on a cruise ship in the middle of the Atlantic between Southampton & New York, in London, Wellington and Antarctica. The ESTC team are amazing. What impresses me is their dedication and genuine love for the work they do and the people they are helping. Having watched the distribution films, it is evident that the money raised goes directly where it is needed and is life-changing to the recipients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host an Eat So They Can dinner party for friends and family to raise funds and awareness for our nutrition programs. All our Eat So They Can hosts are provided with a party pack including our DVD, balloons and stickers! Volunteer