Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.614045
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Interning at GVN Foundation is definitely the greatest experience I've had so far in a non profit environment. Interning at GVN Foundation increased my passion that is to fight poverty issues. Working with other passionate people such as Kelly another intern here and the executive director, Eliza have really inspired and motivated me to keep doing this amazing work. working with inspiring people such as Kelly and Eliza really keeps me going and I've always loved going to the office every Monday and Thursday. I am having an awesome time here and I recommend GVN Foundation to all those who want to make a difference in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Global Volunteer Network Foundation is the fundraising branch for the Global Volunteer Network Charitable Trust. The organization raises money for GVN's various global partners. I was drawn to GVN Foundation both because of their creative fundraising efforts and because of the ways in which they distribute the funds. When discussing the annual distribution of funds to support specific partner organizations with the foundation's Executive Director, Eliza, she explained that the foundation believed in affecting a few programs deeply as opposed to several programs superficially. I saw this firsthand as a volunteer for GVN Foundation's Peru Distribution Trip in 2011. Together with other volunteers, we traveled to Peru to support the distribution of funds raised the previous year. One project we supported was a community center for women and children. The women in the community center were honing their jewelry making skills but lacked the skills necessary to make marketable products. They also lacked business expertise. As such, GVN Foundation provided additional jewelry making tools and materials. They also funded jewelry classes, marketing classes, and classes on how to save and invest money. In this way, the women from the community center will be better equipped to earn sustainable income for their families. GVN Foundation was able to provide for the community center's specific needs thanks to its strong partnership with the Peruvian organization. The Foundation is committed to forming lasting relationship with local organizations that are dedicated to initiating social change in their communities. In general, I have been incredibly impressed with GVN Foundation's organization and professionalism. It truly has been an honor to work with them and I hope to work with them again in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been following the work of GVN for a few years, and have been impressed with what they're doing - so much so, that I'm now part of the volunteer team for the ESTC project. The support from the team and the connections being made with others volunteering is tremendous - not only are people who GVN work with benefiting, but the many people assisting GVN are also gaining new skills, experiences and bonds - GVN is truly Global in all senses. They work globally, they connect globally and globally they're helping people join them to gain and in turn help others. a real win - win - win.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The 2012 distribution trip to Peru was an amazing experience that allowed me to bond with other members of the group while visiting orphanages, schools and community centers. The opportunity to meet and speak with community leaders helped broaden my understanding of the socioeconomic challenges that the people of Cusco and Urubamba. I will be joining GVN on many future distribution trips as it has changed my approach to living.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been supporting the GVN Foundation for a number of years now. My family and I take part in their annual Eat So They Can fundraiser, and we have made a number of one-off donations to causes that are close to our heart. I appreciate the time taken to provide updates on the projects we support, and like that we can be part of something bigger which really does make a difference to a child in need. Over the years I've been associated with the GVN Foundation and GVN I have been impressed with the organizations and their staff, who have answered a range of questions I've had on occasion regarding my donations. I look forward to continuing to support them and their projects. Keep up the great work!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the impact they have with the donations they allocate. I like the Distribution Trips too - an opportunity to see first hand how donations are spent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like a few more options with the Christmas gifts - perhaps a family type option - from 'my family to yours'

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Re the IDP camp - there was a huge need for housing... the bit my family could give certainly had an impact on a family there.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Yes

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

GVN foundation is a small but most efficient organisation. I always feel confident that most of the money I give or raise goes straight to the great projects I want to help. They are always thinking of new imaginative ways to help raise money for their project: the Eat So They Can initiative has now developed into a well established yearly global event not only raising funds but also awareness of the causes the host has chosen to support. The gifts of change are a great idea for potential donors who want to know exactly what they are giving to: from chickens to medical supplies to bricks... Allowing small donations to "make a difference". Another aspect I really like about GVN is that they always focus on the positive side. The distribution trip is a great way of following the effect of donations on the ground. This can be followed on the eatsotheycan website. The team of people working there are all motivated and inspiring.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

GVN supports a corrupt organization in Vietnam whose director pockets thousands of dollars in donations meant for orphanages in Tam Ky and Da Nang. GVN has known of this for nearly two years but refuses to disassociate itself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have attended Eat So They Can events organized by the GVN Foundation for the past three years. All the events have been fun and informative. I also think it's great that donors are kept informed on how funds are used through the Eat So They Can facebook page and blog. There is great follow-up and transparency on how funds are used.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I am a medical doctor who has been on one 'tour' with GVN in 2007 to Vietnam and returned to work with their 'partner' in 2011. I do feel that their overhead is too high and that not enough of the funds make it to the children. This is in part due to their lack of oversight over their partner, not implementing systems that require a high level of transparency and accountability for all funds given. In this age of cloud-based technologies it would do them well to invest in on-line reporting and accounting systems so as to reduce administrative overhead leading to less administrative manpower being paid for out of the volunteer's 'fees' thus leaving more monies for the children and forcing partners to account for use of funds. ALSO ... reviews should NOT be written by those who volunteer to raise money for GVN or work with GVN's administrative side, nor by their partners who 'profit' by their funding, but by those who are actually in the field working with the children!! That is what this is all supposed to be about!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I like how GVN not only caters the need of one type of adversity we have globally but its mission is to help all-round. I attended one of GVNs eat so they can eat dinner fund raiser functions couple of years ago & was touched. What GVN has done to bring smile the innocent & helpless around the world is priceless.
I wish more & more volunteers/donors join this cause & help make the world a better place that we can truly be proud of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host an Eat So They Can dinner party for friends and family to raise funds and awareness for our nutrition programs. All our Eat So They Can hosts are provided with a party pack including our DVD, balloons and stickers! Volunteer