Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.633335
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
March 10, 2014

more

March 10, 2014

I am not surprised that there are so few bad reviews of GVN. The administrators are practiced at discouraging any feedback that does not include the words, 'amazing', 'fantastic' 'life changing'. Although I must admit GVN have changed the last three months of my life (since I returned to a placement with them in Nepal). I've spent hours writing to them and receiving condescending replies and utter inaction in terms of dealing with the concerns I expressed -- elements of neglect of basic care for the children in a children's home. I still don't know what happens to the volunteer program fee. I found out the very small percentage that goes to care and feeding of volunteers and I found that none goes to the kids in the home! I expect after I post this to receive a response from one of the teflon coated staff -- who will it be Colin? or Erin?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them to develop a mission statement that reflects a real commitment to serving impoverished people and developing meaningful placements for volunteers in place of the lucrative voluntourism program -- that helps no one except the executives of GVN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm currently working as an intern for the GVN Foundation and I have found the experience to be incredibly rewarding and I've loved every moment of it. There is a very supportive work environment, I've had so many learning opportunities and they've given me the kick-start to my career I needed. Everyone here is so passionate about what they do and we all love to have a bit of fun aswell! It's so awesome to be a part of something that is so incredibly positive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having the opportunity to volunteer and help contribute to the work the GVN Foundation is doing has been a remarkable experience. The team in the office are incredible friendly but also excellent at their roles which has been an amazing help. The work that GVN Foundation does globally in empowering communities is amazing and incredibly worthwhile, I would have no qualms volunteering again and helping out where I could.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

I am currently interning at GVN helping to coordinate their 2013 New Zealand Live Below the Line campaign. The experience has been so much fun and the staff have been extremely supportive. When I walk into the office I am greeted by the smiling faces and positive attitudes of a team of people passionate about what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 18, 2013

Right from day one I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience working with the GVN team. I can remember the intern induction on day one and being impressed beyond words with the genuine commitment of the... more

August 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

By far my favorite non-profit because GVN supports communities to achieve THEIR own set goals. GVN connects people who want to lend a hand with people that need a hand and work to create sustainable methods of doing so. I was lucky to see all the behind the scenes work that GVN does and what a brilliant community of people they have behind them. We'll done !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make myself a permanent role working there !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

Right from day one I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience working with the GVN team. I can remember the intern induction on day one and being impressed beyond words with the genuine commitment of the staff toward GVN's work. Every aspect of the GVN Foundation is focused on supporting the initiatives of grassroots organisations rather than intervention or aid-focused development. I have felt that this is a critical way in which GVN acts as an advocate for the individual voices of people and the different causes they support.

I cannot believe I am now nearing the end of my 10 week internship with GVN Foundation focusing on coordination and advocacy of the Live Below The Line USA campaign. Time flies! I will be back to work alongside GVN without a doubt - their professionalism, commitment and passion is too contagious not to! Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

GVNF has been WONDERFUL every time when I take part in their annual fundraiser Eat So They Can. Highly organised, excellent staff with detailed, consistent help all along the way. I feel very privileged to be a part of the great work they do, and trust they will go a long, long way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

GVN is a well organised company...... I decided to do the fundraising trip to Nepal where you raise money then trek to Base camp Mt Everest.
It was a trip of a life time for me .... loved ! Every moment ! Elisa and Fiona where such lovely people .... you felt welcome from the beginning! And
the company they used for our trek called Himalayan quests are amazing well organised company... from guides who are such friendly people .... to where we stay everything ran smoothly! We even had a flight problem and we were still one of the frist groups to take a plane back to Katmandu!
I highly recommend GVN and will go through them for many more volunteering adventures

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

GVN has always far exceeded my expectations. I was apart of a cycling trek in Vietnam, back in 2010, and took part in the Everest base camp trek in 2012. Because of the most unforgettable experiences I had during these adventures, GVN will always be my number one go-to organisation (by a long shot). GVN has not only given me memories that I will never forget, they have also given me life long friendships not only with my fellow trekkers, but with the GVN representatives themselves who were there with us every step of the way. I will continue to go on adventures organised by this incredible organisation and would rally whole-heartedly for them if anyone is ever in doubt in choosing an organisation that is right for them.

- NJ

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In 2012 I had the wonderful opportunity to be involved in some of GVN's programs. I was a volunteer in the Nepali village of Bistachhap, and was able to experience two different placements during my time there (Children's Homes and Teaching English). After my volunteer placement I also participated in the fundraising trek to Everest Base Camp. During the time leading up to my placement, GVN was extremely helpful. Being only 18 at the time, the prospect of travelling to another country by myself was very daunting. They (particularly Fiona) made me feel totally assured and I never had any doubts about my safety. Once in Nepal, all my programs were everything I hoped for and more. The transition between GVN and their partner organisation in Nepal (VSN) was flawless. The programs were great and the kids in both were wonderful. The teaching was a bit challenging at first but extremely rewarding. The Everest Trek was amazing, meeting Eliza and Fiona from GVN was great (they were just as lovely as I expected). Climbing to Everest Base Camp is something I'll treasure for the rest of my life and I can't imagine better people to have done it with. I will be doing more programs with GVN in the future and highly recommend it for anyone who wants to step outside their comfort zone and try something new.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of GVN and their amazing staff. Having recently volunteered as part of the Everest Base Camp Trek I was constantly impressed with their professionalism, organisation and above all else, their passion for the work they do. I feel as though 5 out of 5 stars is still short changing them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host an Eat So They Can dinner party for friends and family to raise funds and awareness for our nutrition programs. All our Eat So They Can hosts are provided with a party pack including our DVD, balloons and stickers! Volunteer