Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.620695
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Travelling to Uganda with the GVN Foundation was an experience of a lifetime.

My role on the trip was to photograph the projects and people that the foundation supports for a 2015 Charity Calendar.

I was very glad to see that rather than hand outs, GVN's focus is on projects
that empower the communities to be self sufficient. This is achieved though education and careful consideration of new partnerships.

It was a pleasure to be photographing the projects in action and I hope that I was able to capture the sprit that the GVN Foundation is fostering.
March 18, 2014

more

March 18, 2014

Working for GVN changed my life! I was an International Intern for Eat So They Can for two years and I believe anyone who is interested in social justice, international development or getting involved in making the world a better place should definitely be part of this fantastic NGO. I have gained invaluable experience, fantastic skills, great network and contributed to global communities - the best part of GVN is anyone can do this, all you need is passion and dedication and the will to make a positive change. This opportunity will open up many doors - I have been very fortunate to be the grand winner of one of ESTC distribution trips, I will be traveling to Uganda in June. I can guarantee you with commitment, GVN will be a life transforming journey! Get onboard, everyone! :)
March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

Working with GVN through their Eat So They Can (ESTC) Foundation as a volunteer intern was a blessing. The experience on a whole gave informed me on the various programs within the organisation while also addressing the main issues surrounding them. The support and information I received about conducting my own fundraiser was also invaluable. I can't wait to continue my support and watch this growing foundation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

GVN foundation is my favorite non profit organization. Initially I heard it from my university adviser, they focus on helping the two most love-needed group- women and children, so I started the international volunteer experience with GVN. No matter the training guidance or hands on help from the current stuffs were very good. They are very very nice, I really enjoy working with a group of people who have the same goal with me and got along with each other pretty well. During the fund raising party I made in my university in the U.S. and my hometown China, they mailed many important materials to me and kept contacting me for knowing more details events then gave me relative advice. The most exciting time was when I mailed them the photos of my events and my suggestions about the future fundraising plan. After finishing the volunteer program, they still contacted with me and helped in many things like my graduate school application, they gave me lots of advice and also recommendations. I really appreciate. If I want to do next volunteer program or visiting any non-profit organization, I will also choose them without any hesitations. :)
March 14, 2014

more

March 14, 2014

I had always wanted to make a difference in people. I believe God created me for this purpose, that is serving the right cause for humanity especially for the challenged ones in the world. GVN gave me the opportunity to live that purpose and reach out as a mouthpiece for men, women and children in developing world. Volunteering as an international intern with the GVN's Eat So They Can opened my horizon in another perception; and as a lover of exploring different food from different parts of the world, it was so candid to get people involve for a good cause as simple as sharing a meal, having a cooking competition or a tea party....Hey, there's always someone who will eat. In Nigeria where I volunteered and as my home country, it is generally believe that 'the way to the heart of man is through his stomach'.....So why not eat so that others can equally feed. GVN gave me something so real, yet so simple.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hope they have representative office in most countries especially in Africa, Asia and Latin America. Most especially my country Nigeria, so that we easily remit funds received during the volunteer fundraising drive; or offer other less complicated means of remitting funds for the many projects of the foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2014

more

March 12, 2014

I have been a volunteer, donor, and international intern with the GVN Foundation and Eat So They Can! I love the work they do in many countries to help communities with SUSTAINABLE solutions. That old saying "give a man a fish and he will eat for a day, but teach a man to fish and he will eat for life" is always in the back of my mind when I am doing work with them. Their approach to solving world hunger is in my opinion the best way.

As a volunteer in Ecuador I saw up close how they are helping the reforestation of the cloud forest, the removal of invasive species and creating sustainable food solutions at the various projects for schools and communities. They were also supporting me throughout my entire stay in Ecuador, checking in to make sure I was satisfied with the experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

One problem I have had getting people to donate in Canada is that it is not considered a tax benefit charitable donation. It is more difficult to get people to donate larger sums of money without a tax receipt. Other than that I think the organization is doing a great job!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2014

more

March 12, 2014

My association with GVN Foundation was primarily based upon the great results they have generated over the years, their reputation and recently blossomed association with the United Nations really showed me that this foundation can make a difference in the world we live in today. I worked for them as an International Intern working from Auckland, New Zealand helping to fund raise for the Eat So They Can campaign. GVN throughout my internship provided support and constantly helped to ensure I stayed on track so that their goals of supporting communities across the world was achieved. I've not been involved within another non-profit organization which provided such a great support and goal orientated network like the GVN Foundation. You have the opportunity to have face-to-face conversations with those making the "clutch" decisions and your opinions, view and ideas are taken on board. Working with the GVN Foundation provided me with a great outlook and tool to help the global community, something I was previously not possible to do. Thanks GVN!
March 11, 2014

more

March 11, 2014

Having been a donor and attended an Eat So They Can ball, I am extremely impressed with GVN, and the dedication the team has to achieving their own set goals. While there are a lot of NFP out there, I feel like I know where my money is going. Instead of being an organisation that brings awareness through "sympathy" imagery, it celebrates what it can achieve through sociable and interesting events. Ace work guys.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 10, 2014

more

March 10, 2014

I am not surprised that there are so few bad reviews of GVN. The administrators are practiced at discouraging any feedback that does not include the words, 'amazing', 'fantastic' 'life changing'. Although I must admit GVN have changed the last three months of my life (since I returned to a placement with them in Nepal). I've spent hours writing to them and receiving condescending replies and utter inaction in terms of dealing with the concerns I expressed -- elements of neglect of basic care for the children in a children's home. I still don't know what happens to the volunteer program fee. I found out the very small percentage that goes to care and feeding of volunteers and I found that none goes to the kids in the home! I expect after I post this to receive a response from one of the teflon coated staff -- who will it be Colin? or Erin?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them to develop a mission statement that reflects a real commitment to serving impoverished people and developing meaningful placements for volunteers in place of the lucrative voluntourism program -- that helps no one except the executives of GVN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm currently working as an intern for the GVN Foundation and I have found the experience to be incredibly rewarding and I've loved every moment of it. There is a very supportive work environment, I've had so many learning opportunities and they've given me the kick-start to my career I needed. Everyone here is so passionate about what they do and we all love to have a bit of fun aswell! It's so awesome to be a part of something that is so incredibly positive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host an Eat So They Can dinner party for friends and family to raise funds and awareness for our nutrition programs. All our Eat So They Can hosts are provided with a party pack including our DVD, balloons and stickers! Volunteer