Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.573775
Write A Review
November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

Because Bill Gates had some years ago made a positive reference to GVN, I felt it must be a legitimate organization and applied to volunteer. I volunteered in Kenya for 2 weeks in August 2014 with an HIV support organization called Living Positive Mlolongo which was supposed to be sponsored by GVN. None of my program fee went toward supporting the work of this organization; a "middleman" organization in Nairobi had provided LPM with about $ 50 worth of food in early 2013, and they planned another equal distribution before the end of the year. All of the needs other interns and I encountered ($$ for medicines and food for HIV+ women, dressings, a leg brace, clinic transportation, schoolbooks for the school GVN operated in a nearby slum, an xray) were covered by us four volunteers. When we contacted program staff about this we were reissued a few densely obscure pages of policy in which it was stated that our program fees were applied to a fund to benefit certain organizations for orphans and other Kenyans in need, but NOT NECESSARILY the organizations we would be serving during our volunteer time. We poured a tremendous amount of our own money into supporting projects and clients associated with Living Positive Mlolongo and where our fees actually went I have no idea. What a scam!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them clarify in simple direct language that volunteers will be funding any work they do in association with the aid organizations GVN claims to sponsor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Recently widowed, I was looking for direction for a non-profit my late husband had founded to promote technical education in Latin America. Happening upon the Global Volunteer Network website, I felt intuitively the GVN Be the Change Program would be a good place to begin anew after the loss of the energy, technical expertise, and love for humanity I had spent the past 45 years supporting. The week in New Zealand with the GVN staff was truly a vision-changing experience for me.

I made certain commitments in the Be the Change program, and it was impossible for me to return to my home in the western United States without a plan of action to implement some of the BTC strategies I was exposed to in New Zealand. Through the website, I learned about the Distribution Trip scheduled for June 2014 in Uganda and signed on to further learn how GVN gets the funds they raise to the actual programs on the ground. It was important to me that the organization itself was not a "Fat Cat", with personnel enjoying the good life while a few dollars trickle to token projects for real people who suffer.

Seeing first hand how GVN-supported projects such as Eat So They Can are at work in Uganda, I can vouch for the integrity and work ethic of the folks at GVN. They are personally invested in their projects and provide hands-on support. They are NOT living high on donated money and giving what's left over to token projects. These people are living and breathing with the people in Africa, Asia and South America who are genuinely able to better themselves through GVN projects. I love these people!

JoAnne Summers
Ammon, ID USA
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I was lucky enough to go on the GVN Distribution Trip to Uganda in June this year. To say that the trip was an experience of a lifetime is an understatement. To see first-hand how GVN Support and fund projects in Uganda is amazing, it’s all about starting at the Grassroots of a project and ensuring that the community have the skills and knowledge to help the projects thrive and be self-sufficient. GVN have made a huge difference to so many communities in Uganda and throughout the world.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Travelling to Uganda with the GVN Foundation was an experience of a lifetime.

My role on the trip was to photograph the projects and people that the foundation supports for a 2015 Charity Calendar.

I was very glad to see that rather than hand outs, GVN's focus is on projects
that empower the communities to be self sufficient. This is achieved though education and careful consideration of new partnerships.

It was a pleasure to be photographing the projects in action and I hope that I was able to capture the sprit that the GVN Foundation is fostering.
March 18, 2014

more

March 18, 2014

Working for GVN changed my life! I was an International Intern for Eat So They Can for two years and I believe anyone who is interested in social justice, international development or getting involved in making the world a better place should definitely be part of this fantastic NGO. I have gained invaluable experience, fantastic skills, great network and contributed to global communities - the best part of GVN is anyone can do this, all you need is passion and dedication and the will to make a positive change. This opportunity will open up many doors - I have been very fortunate to be the grand winner of one of ESTC distribution trips, I will be traveling to Uganda in June. I can guarantee you with commitment, GVN will be a life transforming journey! Get onboard, everyone! :)
March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

Working with GVN through their Eat So They Can (ESTC) Foundation as a volunteer intern was a blessing. The experience on a whole gave informed me on the various programs within the organisation while also addressing the main issues surrounding them. The support and information I received about conducting my own fundraiser was also invaluable. I can't wait to continue my support and watch this growing foundation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2014

more

March 16, 2014

GVN foundation is my favorite non profit organization. Initially I heard it from my university adviser, they focus on helping the two most love-needed group- women and children, so I started the international volunteer experience with GVN. No matter the training guidance or hands on help from the current stuffs were very good. They are very very nice, I really enjoy working with a group of people who have the same goal with me and got along with each other pretty well. During the fund raising party I made in my university in the U.S. and my hometown China, they mailed many important materials to me and kept contacting me for knowing more details events then gave me relative advice. The most exciting time was when I mailed them the photos of my events and my suggestions about the future fundraising plan. After finishing the volunteer program, they still contacted with me and helped in many things like my graduate school application, they gave me lots of advice and also recommendations. I really appreciate. If I want to do next volunteer program or visiting any non-profit organization, I will also choose them without any hesitations. :)
March 14, 2014

more

March 14, 2014

I had always wanted to make a difference in people. I believe God created me for this purpose, that is serving the right cause for humanity especially for the challenged ones in the world. GVN gave me the opportunity to live that purpose and reach out as a mouthpiece for men, women and children in developing world. Volunteering as an international intern with the GVN's Eat So They Can opened my horizon in another perception; and as a lover of exploring different food from different parts of the world, it was so candid to get people involve for a good cause as simple as sharing a meal, having a cooking competition or a tea party....Hey, there's always someone who will eat. In Nigeria where I volunteered and as my home country, it is generally believe that 'the way to the heart of man is through his stomach'.....So why not eat so that others can equally feed. GVN gave me something so real, yet so simple.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hope they have representative office in most countries especially in Africa, Asia and Latin America. Most especially my country Nigeria, so that we easily remit funds received during the volunteer fundraising drive; or offer other less complicated means of remitting funds for the many projects of the foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2014

more

March 12, 2014

I have been a volunteer, donor, and international intern with the GVN Foundation and Eat So They Can! I love the work they do in many countries to help communities with SUSTAINABLE solutions. That old saying "give a man a fish and he will eat for a day, but teach a man to fish and he will eat for life" is always in the back of my mind when I am doing work with them. Their approach to solving world hunger is in my opinion the best way.

As a volunteer in Ecuador I saw up close how they are helping the reforestation of the cloud forest, the removal of invasive species and creating sustainable food solutions at the various projects for schools and communities. They were also supporting me throughout my entire stay in Ecuador, checking in to make sure I was satisfied with the experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

One problem I have had getting people to donate in Canada is that it is not considered a tax benefit charitable donation. It is more difficult to get people to donate larger sums of money without a tax receipt. Other than that I think the organization is doing a great job!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2014

more

March 12, 2014

My association with GVN Foundation was primarily based upon the great results they have generated over the years, their reputation and recently blossomed association with the United Nations really showed me that this foundation can make a difference in the world we live in today. I worked for them as an International Intern working from Auckland, New Zealand helping to fund raise for the Eat So They Can campaign. GVN throughout my internship provided support and constantly helped to ensure I stayed on track so that their goals of supporting communities across the world was achieved. I've not been involved within another non-profit organization which provided such a great support and goal orientated network like the GVN Foundation. You have the opportunity to have face-to-face conversations with those making the "clutch" decisions and your opinions, view and ideas are taken on board. Working with the GVN Foundation provided me with a great outlook and tool to help the global community, something I was previously not possible to do. Thanks GVN!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host an Eat So They Can dinner party for friends and family to raise funds and awareness for our nutrition programs. All our Eat So They Can hosts are provided with a party pack including our DVD, balloons and stickers! Volunteer