Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
294 Reviews
1234.948985
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

As a healthcare professional with over 40 years experience in the operating room, I know the importance of having the necessary supplies and equipment to save lives. Our hospital has been donating to Global links for over a decade and we are proud to support their tireless efforts to help those less fortunate than us. This organization truly makes a difference in thousands of people's lives all around the world. Thank you to all who work and volunteer for this wonderful organization. What they can't use, they recycle at their expense.
Paul Feight RN CNOR

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am in Boston for second time in my professional career.

I am at the Children Hospital Boston receiving training with in the department of pediatric neurosurgery.

I live in a developing country also it isn’t easy for me to travel over here. I am a Cuban
physician.

Thanks to the wonderful work of Global Links and their help to developing countries everything is possible and when I travel back my patients will receive a medical care of the first level, Global links became dream true.

Dr. Julio S Brossard Alejo.
Head and Principal Professor
Neurosurgery
Hospital Infantil Sur
Santiago de Cuba

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Angela and David of Global Links provided clinical equipment and furniture for a new health center and resident facility located on the South Side in Pittsburgh. These items provided a cost savings of more than $10,000. The items will be utilized by patients who experienced significant hardships such as homelessness, illness and economic problems.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

I first learned about medical supply recovery in the Fall of 2010 and then began researching other organizations involved in this effort. I currently volunteer with MEDworld at UNC and REMEDY at Duke, which are much smaller, hospital-based nonprofits in North Carolina doing similar work to GL. As helpful and inspiring as those programs are, however, I often find myself comparing them to Global Links, which I consider a model organization. Global Links' reach goes far beyond one hospital's surplus -- they collect usable medical supplies and equipment from many different sources in numerous states. Their dedication to making sure that the collected supplies go to areas in most need and where they will be most useful is impressive. I visited Global Links' offices in October of 2011 and found their staff very personable, helpful, and knowledgeable. They patiently answered my questions about their organization and explained the many ways it is possible to support their efforts such as through their suture and nebulizer donation programs. I have contacted the staff since that visit and plan to use them as a resource again in the future. CEO and co-founder Kathleen Hower generously gave of her time to discuss many of the issues I am interested in regarding expanding medical supply recovery efforts in the Research Triangle area of NC. I also find the Global Links website to be very helpful, up-to-date, and informative. Global Links makes a huge difference in the lives of many people around the world with their medical surplus; its involvement and outreach in the greater Pittsburgh area in other environmental and humanitarian issues is equally inspiring. I am a proud supporter of Global Links.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

I initially began working with Global Links in 2005, as a medical student working in subsaharan Africa for a year. Global Links provided suture as well as requested medical equipment for a maternity hospital that badly needed supplies. Over the years, GL has continued to provide professional, timely, and much-needed care to this facility. They always seek feed-back from the clinicians working abroad and only provide that which is requested. I can honestly say the donations they have coordinated have saved countless numbers of women's lives. I have only had positive experiences working with this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

Coming from a country where many necessary things for health are difficult to find for most of the population, and having a firsthand experience of how these same things are disposed in USA, I support the labor of Global Links in making available these resources to those who need and can use them. Most of the time the problem is the collection and transportation of the resources to the specific areas where they are needed. The labor of Global Links provides this needed "link" to the benefit of the people receiving the resources, and to the people of USA avoiding the pile-up of dis-carted items in our communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

They are outstanding in everything area of their work. They have a gret group of people helping to make them a success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

I have worked with Global Links when we needed supplies for Haiti in an emergency situation. They were fantastic to work with. I also worked with them when a 100 bed facility was 'going out of business and needed to have their beds and supplies removed relatively quickly. Again they were wonderful to work with.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 8, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 8, 2011

My personal experience with Global Links goes back 15 years. Global Links provided surgical sutures to hospitals I worked at in the Democratic Republic of Congo and Malawi. These hospitals were serv... more

March 8, 2012

Global Links is a non-profit that specializes in supplying medical equipment and supplies to developing countries. I worked at a mission hospital in Malawi that received sutures and other supplies from Global Links. The uniquely wonderful thing about Global Links is that they only supply what you ask for and need. They do not send just any medical donated junk, but only what you have asked for. This means that they spend a lot of time sorting through what they have to find what you need. Their donated sutures have saved hundreds of lives in Africa.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2011

My personal experience with Global Links goes back 15 years. Global Links provided surgical sutures to hospitals I worked at in the Democratic Republic of Congo and Malawi. These hospitals were serving the poorest of the poor. Global Links always responded to requests in a specific and useful manner, always coming up with what we needed. Global Links does not send junk, does not serve to unload surplus supplies from pharmaceutical companies, and does respond to real needs and requests. I worked as an American, board-certified obstetrician/gynecologist missionary doctor. The sutures from Global Links helped real people and saved lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the Democratic Republic of Congo and in Malawi, a small, poor landlocked country in southern Africa.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to help them contact every hospital and clinic in the United States to donate useful supplies and equipment to Global LInks.

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

I am Lois Weeks, a retired nurse, who, along with a team of American nurse midwives and nurses have been working with the comadronas in Santa Avelina. Today we went to the Puesto de Salud in San Juan Cotzal to learn what resources would be available for our comadronas and the mothers and babies they care for. We were impressed beyond anything we had expected! The doctors and nurses seemed to be very vested in the clinic, the care they are giving, and the improvements that are happening. They have started some very needed programs to teach comadronas and families in the rural areas. They have improved their facilities and equipment, much due to your organization. They (and we) are very excited about the higher level of care they now can give. Their decision to move outside the clinic walls and go to the communities to teach families and comadronas is dramatic. I want to thank-you for your support for this area! We have come to love the people here, and rejoice with them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a practical contribution to our operations while at the same time learning about global health inequities; pack boxes of needed medical supplies; clean and prep hospital furnishings for an upcoming shipment; clean and match crutches to send to Haiti; lead a collection for needed supplies at their workplace, school, or place of worship; attend a tour of our facilities to learn more about our mission and operations. Volunteer