Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
299 Reviews
1234.949835
Write A Review
April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

Global links is a WONDERFUL non-profit. They provided me with useful medical supplies for my pediatric free clinic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Global Links partners with Zonta Club of Pittsburgh to provide birthing kits to a hospital in rural Kenya which has few basic supplies . The kits provide basics for a clean birth. Not only has Global Links provide us with hundreds of pairs of clean gloves that would have been disposed of in an American landfill, they have assisted with ways to more effectively develop the project and to safely ship kits. We, in return, have helped with their work in Haiti by providing kits to them. The result--appropriate, targeted use of discarded but useable medical equipment; providing kits both allows mothers to use midwifery services because they have the required materials and provides a way to have a clean birth. Mother, baby and caregiver benefit and we protect the environment by using available goods not getting new ones!! Global Links was incredible in freely offering their considerable experience. Elizabeth Stifel M.D., Zonta Club of PGH

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

I GOT CONNECTED TO GLOBAL LINKS OVER FIVE YEARS AGO. AS A MEDICAL PROVIDER WHO DOES MEDICAL MISSIONARY TRIPS THREE TIMES A YEARS, I AM ALWAYS IN NEED OF SUPPLIES/ MEDICATIONS/PAPER PRODUCTS. OVER THE LAST NINE YEARS, MANY ORGANIZATIONS HAVE CUT BACK ON ACCESS TO THIS PRODUCTS AND AS MEDICAL DIRECTOR IN CHARGE OF SECURING THESE SUPPLIES, I HAVE FOUND GLOBAL LINKS TO BE FAITHFUL CONTRIBUTORS. I AM ALSO GRATEFUL FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO VOLUNTEER ON SAT MORNINGS TO HELP PACKAGE THESE SUPPLIES. THEY HAVE BEEN INSTRUMENTAL IN CONNECTING THOSE ESSENTIAL SUPPLIES TO THIRD WORLD COUNTRIES. WHAT WOULD WE DO WITHOUT THIS MISSING LINK THAT GLOBAL LINKS PROVIDES? I AM BLESSED TO HAVE MEET THEM AND I WILL ALWAYS SUPPORT THE WORK THAT THEY HAVE BEEN CALLED TO FULFILL. DO YOU HAVE A MOMENT TO ASSIST THEM IN THEIR FUTURE ENDEAVORS? SUPPORT GLOBAL LINKS WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY, KNOWING THAT IT WILL BE WELL SPENT. THE TWO HOURS VOLUNTEER SESSION IS WELL ORGANIZED AND CARRIED OUT IN EFFICIENT MANNER, GETTING SUPPLIES TOGETHER QUICKLY FOR TARGETED MEDICAL GROUPS. I GIVE THEM TOP STARS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

Global Links has been instrumental in helping my program the Medical Equipment Recycling Program in Farrell, PA meet our mission. We take in durable medcial equipment, clean it, refurbish it and then lend it to those who do not have the insurance or means to obtain the equipment they need to maintain their independence in daily living. We also take in items that can be sent overseas. These items go to Global Links who makes sure someone benefits from the items but Global Links also collects in items that my program desperately needs. It has been a beneficial partnership that has allowed both organizations to meet their missions and touch numerous lives in the US and all over the world!! We are honored to work with Global Links and they have gone out of there way to assist us!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

Global Links has been supplying my organization for the past three years now. With their help, we've been able to set up clinics in parts of rural Honduras and Panama that otherwise wouldn't have access to medical care. Global Links also hosts regular talks about health disparities across the world that renew my passion for serving central america, and open my eyes to the complexities of the issues we're working together to overcome.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

Recently we treated a patient from the Vaik region of Armenia. He recovered 25 days after cystectomy with ileocystoplasty . In operating on this patient, we used sutures from the Global Links Suture Program, which generously decided to make donations to our hospital 5 years ago. For the past five years we have been receiving sutures and have used them in more than 70 major surgical procedures similar to this one, as well as in more than 2,000 smaller operations. We have never had any complications when using the sutures. All the types of sutures donated were exactly the same as those used in our regular work. We can say that the vast majority of those operations performed wouldn’t have been possible without the donated sutures. That is why we have let all our patients know how much they owe to the Global Links Suture Program for their successful treatment, and they are extremely grateful. This patient, in particular, wanted to express his thanks to Global Links and all US clinics participating in the Global Links Suture Program.
Here are this patient’s words: ”I was informed that our surgeons used sutures from Global Links when operating on me. I want to send my warm thanks to Global Links Suture Program and their suppliers for the great job which they constantly do for patients in many different countries. I will remember their help for the rest of my life.
Victor.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Conocia el trabajo de de Global Links porque los aportes de esta organizacion han tenido un impacto muy posotivo en la atencion de pacientes en el oriente de Cuba con patologias neuroquirurgicas, pero en esta primera visita a la sede cetral de Pittsburgh he visto que detras de todos estos aportes a pacientes de paises en desarrollo hay un impresionante equipo de personas maravillosas consagradas a su trabajo y muchos voluntarios de alma y corazon para estas nobles tareas.
Gracias Global Links por existir y por contribuir en la mejoria de la calidad de vida ya atencion de tantas personas.
Ustedes demuestran en la practica que un mundo mejor tambien es posible.

I learned about Global Links because the support this organization has provided to the western part of Cuba has had a positive impact on the medical care of patients with neurosurgical pathologies. But in this, my first visit to their headquarters in Pittsburgh, I have seen that behind all this support to countries in development is a wonderful group of people dedicated to their work and many volunteers dedicated in heart and soul to this noble work.

Thanks Global Links for existing and contributing to the improvement of the quality life and medical care of so many people. You are proof that a better world is possible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my home hospital in Cuba.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. Keep doing the work your doing. Many people need your services.

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

Not many times you are blessed with opportunities to help out. In working with High School students you get to see the best side of teenagers. Here at Fox Chapel High School, we have established a Spanish Club that has gone strong for over 10 years. The students in the club have made the focus of our efforts to help children in Uruguay (my country of origin). It is effortless for me to be passionate about this cause but this idea would not have had the impact it had if it had not been for the patience and humbleness of Global Links. Global Links is no longer for me a Pittsburgh based organization (my hometown since 1992) that makes us proud. To me it is the group of caring and understanding (needless to say, bilingual) people led by Kathy whom I met personally a couple of years ago when she helped load a 10 foot container of medical supplies. Destination: small town's only hospital in Trinidad, Uruguay.
Despite many ups and downs GL worked around difficulties and differences and helped me make this happen. Everybody benefited but the most valuable lesson I hope was learned by our students at FC. Thanks Global Links. Myriam Fontes (Spanish Teacher and Spanish Club Sponsor at Fox Chapel High School, Pittsburgh PA)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

going to Uruguay and seeing where the donations went and how happy were the workers and patients and the entire town (participated in town hall meeting where GL was thanked for donations/people in the streets, friends, relatives) were.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do not fix something that is not broken

March 8, 2011

more

March 8, 2011

Global Links has continually donated much needed supplies for the community projects of Building New Hope (also a Pittsburgh-based NGO)
that is at work in Nicaragua. THeir donations help to serve individuals in need, small clinics, and an animal health care center. They do so willingly and with
an "eye" for our needs --- often contributing very useful material that we are not aware of but indeed useful.

Because of GLobal Links we are able to manage our small budget that is kept afloat by indiviudal donations. We serve countless more people in need that we ever expected.

DOnna Tabor, Project Coordinator
Building New Hope
Granada, Nicaraga

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Granada, Nicaragua

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

campaign heavily for more volunteers for them so that they could expand their work even more.

March 8, 2011

more

March 8, 2011

I have been affiliated with the Schweitzer Hospital in Haiti for over 20 years as a physician. during much of that time we have had the good fortune of having a relationship with Global Links in Pittsburgh Pa. The organization has provided us with vital supplies including sutures and other essential equipment. They are well organized, efficient and always send durable functioning equipment which can immediately be put to use.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Haiti

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more money

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a practical contribution to our operations while at the same time learning about global health inequities; pack boxes of needed medical supplies; clean and prep hospital furnishings for an upcoming shipment; clean and match crutches to send to Haiti; lead a collection for needed supplies at their workplace, school, or place of worship; attend a tour of our facilities to learn more about our mission and operations. Volunteer