Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
292 Reviews
1234.948635
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 16, 2014

more

May 16, 2014

I volunteered a few times at Global Links before through the Pittsburgh East Rotary Club and really enjoyed my time helping them out. However, I never realized the impact of their services until starting my new job at the FOCUS Pittsburgh Free Health Center. From the moment that the doctors tat my organization connected me to Global Links for our equipment needs, I knew it would be a wonderful partnership.

They invited me over to their new facilities so I could really get a grasp on their wonderful work and the help they provide to local and international partners. They opened their doors to some of my students as well, so they could see where and who we got all of our equipment from for our clinic. Global Links took all of our requests and fulfilled our equipment needs quickly and provided us with everything we needed. Without them, our clinic would not be functioning and open! They are a wonderful organization!
February 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The BIG FIX Uganda is an organization which has been fortunate to receive help from Global Links. Working in one of the most impoverished areas in the world, we provide free veterinary services (including spay/neuter) and animal welfare education in Northern Uganda's remote villages. It might be difficult to believe that an expired suture can make so much difference but to us, that one suture is the means to allow us to sterilize 3 male dogs or to stitch up a serious wound or to remove an infected eye. Sutures are difficult and costly to obtain in Uganda and if we did not receive suture donations from Global Links, we would have great difficulty serving the hundreds of animals we help every month. We are extraordinarily grateful to Global Links for their kindness, responsiveness to our communications and for working with us as valued partners as we seek to relieve the suffering of animals in Uganda.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

Global links has greatly helped out my organization for two years. Each year we go on a medical mission trip to Honduras and the donations by Global links have been instrumental in making our brigade a success. All the staff I worked with were incredibly motivated and caring.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I am a volunteer in Nicaragua where health supplies are direly needed. As a Global Llinks client for the past 15 years, I am pleased to recall that my many requests for needed donations have always been filled immediately and with great care. The staff is well aware of my particular work and many times will add extra supplies that they feel can be used here. Their personal interest in my work is refreshing and greatly appreciated. Submitted by Donna Tabor, Building New Hope, Nicaragua

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

I have made a few trips to India and Africa and three times Global Links has provided me with medical equipment to assist the small clinics visited. I know that this is a very small part of their overall activity but it's clear that they have the resources, and use them, to assist in providing very needed healthcare supplies around the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

GlobalLinks has helped us to assemble and send birthing kits to a hospital in Kenya - by recycling good but disgarded materials such as gloves through Gl;obalLinks we have been able to provide thousands of kits to enable women in Kenya to have health births with midwives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

The CEO of global links, Kathleen Hower, has assembled a passionate staff of 23 employees and over 9,000 volunteer hours from almost 2,000 individuals. They do an amazing job of recoveriing medical supplies that would otherwise end up in a landfill and distributing them to countries in-need. Their regional material recovery efforts top 250 tons annually and are distributed primarily in 9 countries including Nicaragua, Guatemala, Jamaica, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Dominican Republic, Cuba and Bolivia. Since 1989, Global Links has provided over $172 million in aid – plus materials to Pittsburgh nonprofits including free-care clinics, animal welfare groups and schools.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

Global links is a WONDERFUL non-profit. They provided me with useful medical supplies for my pediatric free clinic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

Global Links partners with Zonta Club of Pittsburgh to provide birthing kits to a hospital in rural Kenya which has few basic supplies . The kits provide basics for a clean birth. Not only has Global Links provide us with hundreds of pairs of clean gloves that would have been disposed of in an American landfill, they have assisted with ways to more effectively develop the project and to safely ship kits. We, in return, have helped with their work in Haiti by providing kits to them. The result--appropriate, targeted use of discarded but useable medical equipment; providing kits both allows mothers to use midwifery services because they have the required materials and provides a way to have a clean birth. Mother, baby and caregiver benefit and we protect the environment by using available goods not getting new ones!! Global Links was incredible in freely offering their considerable experience. Elizabeth Stifel M.D., Zonta Club of PGH

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

more

April 22, 2012

I GOT CONNECTED TO GLOBAL LINKS OVER FIVE YEARS AGO. AS A MEDICAL PROVIDER WHO DOES MEDICAL MISSIONARY TRIPS THREE TIMES A YEARS, I AM ALWAYS IN NEED OF SUPPLIES/ MEDICATIONS/PAPER PRODUCTS. OVER THE LAST NINE YEARS, MANY ORGANIZATIONS HAVE CUT BACK ON ACCESS TO THIS PRODUCTS AND AS MEDICAL DIRECTOR IN CHARGE OF SECURING THESE SUPPLIES, I HAVE FOUND GLOBAL LINKS TO BE FAITHFUL CONTRIBUTORS. I AM ALSO GRATEFUL FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO VOLUNTEER ON SAT MORNINGS TO HELP PACKAGE THESE SUPPLIES. THEY HAVE BEEN INSTRUMENTAL IN CONNECTING THOSE ESSENTIAL SUPPLIES TO THIRD WORLD COUNTRIES. WHAT WOULD WE DO WITHOUT THIS MISSING LINK THAT GLOBAL LINKS PROVIDES? I AM BLESSED TO HAVE MEET THEM AND I WILL ALWAYS SUPPORT THE WORK THAT THEY HAVE BEEN CALLED TO FULFILL. DO YOU HAVE A MOMENT TO ASSIST THEM IN THEIR FUTURE ENDEAVORS? SUPPORT GLOBAL LINKS WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY, KNOWING THAT IT WILL BE WELL SPENT. THE TWO HOURS VOLUNTEER SESSION IS WELL ORGANIZED AND CARRIED OUT IN EFFICIENT MANNER, GETTING SUPPLIES TOGETHER QUICKLY FOR TARGETED MEDICAL GROUPS. I GIVE THEM TOP STARS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a practical contribution to our operations while at the same time learning about global health inequities; pack boxes of needed medical supplies; clean and prep hospital furnishings for an upcoming shipment; clean and match crutches to send to Haiti; lead a collection for needed supplies at their workplace, school, or place of worship; attend a tour of our facilities to learn more about our mission and operations. Volunteer