Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
292 Reviews
1234.948635
| 1 2 3 4...15 |
Write A Review
April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

I was introduced to Global Links through my son and a friend ( Global Links employee) who had served together in the Peace Corps in El Salvador. As a newly retired nurse/hospital administrator, they wanted me to serve in the Peace Corps, but I was not ready yet to venture that far in focus or foreign lands! Through Global Links, I was able to get involved in redirecting unused, but still good resources to improve the quality of healthcare in other countries, all while reducing waste in my own country, values/goals important to me. I have now become regularly involved in case packing supplies, recruiting new volunteers on college campuses and encouraging the nurses in home care organizations to donate unused supplies. The appreciation they consistently demonstrate for their volunteers is exceptional and the effort to redirect, repurpose or reuse every donated item that comes their way is phenomenal. Global Links is my "commitment to caring" in retirement and I love it and the people I have met since joining this effort!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

I think Global Links is a wonderful place. The work they do is amazing. Their warehouse is full of perfectly good hospital equipment which would end up in a landfill somewhere if global Links didn't recycle , package and ship to clinics and hospitals in South America. It's a shame what we waste and Global Links is doing a terrific job of making use of perfectly good merchindise that would otherwise be discarded. I love volunteering for them , helping to sort and package items. The people are friendly and very compitent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

The dedicated staff and volunteers at Global Links do life-saving work. By collecting and sending perfectly usable but unneeded medical equipment, supplies, and furnishings from U.S. hospitals to under-resourced hospitals and clinics in developing countries, Global Links puts to good use what would otherwise be discarded.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

Global Links recycles everything that is possible to recycle and has it clearly marked so we volunteers know where to put what!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

Global Links is an excellent organization with whom I've personally volunteered and, whenever available, professionally donated surplus medical products. There is ridiculous waste and surplus in the United States, yet dire need in most other parts of the world. Global Links is an extremely well-run, efficient, non-profit, humanitarian organization that truly recognizes this and continues to make a serious difference to best use and re-use for the good of less fortunate others. They also promote a consciousness to recycle and reuse in many other aspects. Anyone spending just one day with them in their very humble building would immediately see, feel and appreciate the spanse of their work! They are "life savers!"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 11, 2010

I wanted to contribute to the work of local non-profits and foundations reaching out to the developing world and responding to disasters. One large foundation did not seem to need/want any volunteers... more

April 24, 2012

Started out just knowing they distributed surplus medical supplies. Found out about the flip-side (environmental stewardship) later. It only reinforced my respect for a well-run agency. They have staying power as evidenced by the quality of young people they attract -- as staff, volunteers. Will continue to give my support as long into my retirement as I am able. Go Global Links. You Rock!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2010

I wanted to contribute to the work of local non-profits and foundations reaching out to the developing world and responding to disasters. One large foundation did not seem to need/want any volunteers. Not so with Global Links. They welcomed me with open arms and quickly responded to my inquiry. I was able to sort, package and pack donated medical supplies at their office. This was several years ago and I was still working full time. I did not fully realize the scope of Global Links' Mission until the Haiti Earthquake. Since I am now retired I was able to volunteer more often and attend a session on their mission. It was only then that I realized that recycling and assessing environmental impact was almost as essential to their Mission as the Medical Equipment and Supplies they shipped. In fact, I realized that they have a DUAL MISSION: SAVING LIVES BY SALVAGING WHAT OTHERS THROW AWAY. They walk the walk which is obvious by watching how they operate their office and operations. Every possible opportunity for recycling waste is utilized. They incorporate environmental strategy into their assessment of what clinics and hospitals they serve actually need and do not use any "shotgun" approach. Rather it is "surgical" (pun intended) and precise -- to try to fill specific needs. They realize that they lack massive resources to fill great needs. But by only collecting/salvaging the equipment and supplies that are needed and can be used, they are reducing waste on both ends of the transaction. And, saving lives in the process. I will always support this organization. What a simple and productive Mission. And such hard workers

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering. Being educated in its Mission. Watching a video of the difference their work makes in people's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their outreach in order to increase donations in order to further their Mission.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The spirit evidenced by the volunteers and staff. They want to do everything they can and contribute in as many ways as possible. E.G. by recycling absolutely everything they can and taking every opportunity to reduce waste in their entire ops.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Very energetic and enthusiastic. They have been doing this for over 20 years and are committed and dedicated.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Intensify it's Methods in carrying out their dual Mission. They could get their message out to a wider audience; travel more to their beneficiaries to better understand their needs and better target their efforts. Also reward their staff and expand.

Ways to make it better...

There were no negatives that I experienced. This is not being facetious. I cannot honestly think of anything that the staff could do to make volunteers feel more welcome or valued.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Limited resources in terms of funding and fund-raising.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Not really, I've said it already

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

I first found out about Global Links approximately a year ago. The hospital I work for participates in supply items and supplies to your organization. They also had an inservice for staff and found out that I was able to volunteer. So, I signed up and asked a few friends to join and we gave ourselves a name and started getting involved. What a wonderful idea to collect unwanted hospital items and supplies and gifting them to others in order to live. What a sharing, caring heart to be shared throughtout the world. I hope you can expand to other countries as time goes on. Keep up the good work and God Bless you with continued success.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, everyone is very friendly and decicated.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Meeting new friends and knowing that what I was doing was helping someone in need. When my mom passed away, I knew execatly where to donoate her medical supplies. It also, movited me into starting my own org. referral as to where items that you don't accept should go so others can benefit.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great about myself and what little part I played in helping others.

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

In volunteering with Global Links you really do feel like you're are directly affecting peoples lives all over the world. The organization goes above and beyond to try and suit the experience of the volunteer to match their experience and ability. Most one time volunteers go in and pack medical supplies, which is a remarkable experience because you literally are providing essential goods for medical clinics abroad. Everything that is packed is typically shipped out quickly, the equipment that is sent could be used by needy medical personnel only a few days later. Personally, I normally work fixing medical devices and wheelchairs. When a device is finished, the feeling of success lingers, as I know that the product I was working on will be in the hands of someone in need within a couple days. Global Links is also one of the most sustainable organizations I have ever worked with. Everything we use is recycled, or re purposed. It is rare when anything goes to waste. Wheel chairs are fixed by ripping apart severely broken wheel chairs and integrating parts into less damaged chairs. We literally are taking products which easily could be in a landfill and redirect their purpose. Most supplies that come into Global Links would have been thrown in the trash if global links had not stepped in and taken them. This is easily the best non-profit humanitarian group I have ever worked with, in terms of sustainability, effort in recycling, overall competency, and importance of volunteering. Global Links should be considered as a model for other non-profits around the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to allow for more volunteering opportunities, this would be done by getting in more supplies from medical hospitals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Again, have more volunteering, it is an established group, so getting volunteering for non device fixing activity can be an issue.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have had experience working with electronics and mechanical systems prior. But you really learn an extra level when you physically take apart devices trying to solve problems within the device.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

After I am done I always feel very satisfied with myself, knowing the impact I am having on others.

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

I gather with a few friends for a few hours once a month to sort medical supplies and pack them into cartons for mailing to countries where they are desperately needed. I imagine someone opening the box and finding exactly what was needed at that particular moment, and it is as if I had actually put that item directly into an outstretched hand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

Global Links provides volunteers with the opportunity to help sort and package medical supplies to send to developing countries. One of the nice things about Global Links is that they have built a strong rapport with area hospitals and they are able to recycle a lot of material that would otherwise be discarded. It feels really good to know that the waste material is limited and is able to be recirculated to those who would otherwise not have these supplies. Global Links provides their volunteers with publications that show actual relief that is gained by their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a practical contribution to our operations while at the same time learning about global health inequities; pack boxes of needed medical supplies; clean and prep hospital furnishings for an upcoming shipment; clean and match crutches to send to Haiti; lead a collection for needed supplies at their workplace, school, or place of worship; attend a tour of our facilities to learn more about our mission and operations. Volunteer