Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
292 Reviews
1234.948635
| 1 2 3 4...28 |
Write A Review
August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

My relationship with Global Links started when I attended a fund raising event in December, 2009. I was impressed with the work of this charity in donating medical supplies to developing countries in the Caribbean and Africa. I became a volunteer and donate my time about once a month.
Due to
my volunteer work, I was surprised to see the mount of medical supplies discarded in the US that still can be used. Global Links saw the need and collects the excess medical supplies and distribute the materials to under serviced countries. If Global Links didn’t collect these materials, it would end up in landfills. Therefore, I commend Global Links for its charity work in assisting Caribbean and African countries with their medical needs.
I was able to secure a generous donation of medical supplies to Grenada (my homeland) of $111,000 in December of 2011. The donation was based on their needs and included furnishings, equipment, medical supplies and instruments. Global Links did an excellent job and the donated supplies have helped the citizens of Grenada.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I have a long standing partnership with the medical department at Kamuzu Central Cemtral Hospital in Malawi, and I coordinate service-learning rotations for medical students and residents in Pittsburgh. We get requests from KCH for medical supply, anything from microscopes, centrifuges, syringes, glucometers and various catheters. Global Links has always been very helpful and responsive to KCH and our needs often clarifying its specific use and making suggestions for alternatives to fit the low resource environment and adapting to users that are also learning the tools. GL always asks for feedback and ready for future trips and challenges. I'm grateful that we have them in our city but I know that distance is NOT a problem for GL! Our group of learners volunteer with GL to sort medical supplies and to transport sutures to other hospitals in Malawi.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Angela and David of Global Links provided clinical equipment and furniture for a new health center and resident facility located on the South Side in Pittsburgh. These items provided a cost savings of more than $10,000. The items will be utilized by patients who experienced significant hardships such as homelessness, illness and economic problems.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 5, 2012

more

May 5, 2012

I was in awe at the amount of medical surplus that we discard in America, that could still be used. I was happy to hear that this charity helps to redistribute these medical supplies to under-serviced communities, so that they do not get dumped in landfills. I really enjoyed learning about all the amazing work this organization has done, and it was an honor to be able to help sort medical supplies that might one day save someone's life! And on top of that, we had a lot of fun too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 4, 2012

more

May 4, 2012

I became involved with Global Links when I moved to Pittsburgh about a year ago. I have been extremely pleased with volunteering at this organization! I have had great experiences with all of the staff and fellow volunteers. I love how you can actually see the difference being made each shift. Various items are sorted and packed and by the time you leave you've finished tons of boxes that are all set, just waiting to be shipped to hospitals in need. I also really appreciate their scheduling flexibility! My schedule is constantly changing, never the same each week. When I moved here there were other places I had looked into that required a very set schedule. Global Links has been amazing to accommodate me, which I was very happy with as I really enjoy helping out. It was also great to work with the staff to help set up donations through the hospital I work at. I'm excited that now my unit can help contribute our unused supplies as well!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 3, 2012

more

May 3, 2012

AliMed had a large inventory of surplus surgical insturments, and orthopedic products. We contacted Angela Garcial and sent the lists of the products for review. Global links quickly responded to our extensive list and has been very resposive to additonal lists of products.They are easy to do business with and understands the business side of our operation. It is very satisfying know the products we donate will be used to help others throughout the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Excess, non selling inventory

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Gain space in our whse

What would you tell others about this organization?

Global links is very easy to do business with and uses products to assist 3rd workl countries in a very positive way.

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

I first learned about medical supply recovery in the Fall of 2010 and then began researching other organizations involved in this effort. I currently volunteer with MEDworld at UNC and REMEDY at Duke, which are much smaller, hospital-based nonprofits in North Carolina doing similar work to GL. As helpful and inspiring as those programs are, however, I often find myself comparing them to Global Links, which I consider a model organization. Global Links' reach goes far beyond one hospital's surplus -- they collect usable medical supplies and equipment from many different sources in numerous states. Their dedication to making sure that the collected supplies go to areas in most need and where they will be most useful is impressive. I visited Global Links' offices in October of 2011 and found their staff very personable, helpful, and knowledgeable. They patiently answered my questions about their organization and explained the many ways it is possible to support their efforts such as through their suture and nebulizer donation programs. I have contacted the staff since that visit and plan to use them as a resource again in the future. CEO and co-founder Kathleen Hower generously gave of her time to discuss many of the issues I am interested in regarding expanding medical supply recovery efforts in the Research Triangle area of NC. I also find the Global Links website to be very helpful, up-to-date, and informative. Global Links makes a huge difference in the lives of many people around the world with their medical surplus; its involvement and outreach in the greater Pittsburgh area in other environmental and humanitarian issues is equally inspiring. I am a proud supporter of Global Links.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

I first got involved with Global Links as a member of a graduate student group that wanted to do something for the local community. Global Links has been able to accommodate our busy schedules, staying open late so that we can still volunteer and help their cause. They make every effort to reduce waste and save energy, and have really pushed us to be aware of excess of resources in our community. There is a lot of "waste" in medical research that can be put to a better cause, so they have made us students much more conscientious in our work life as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

I initially began working with Global Links in 2005, as a medical student working in subsaharan Africa for a year. Global Links provided suture as well as requested medical equipment for a maternity hospital that badly needed supplies. Over the years, GL has continued to provide professional, timely, and much-needed care to this facility. They always seek feed-back from the clinicians working abroad and only provide that which is requested. I can honestly say the donations they have coordinated have saved countless numbers of women's lives. I have only had positive experiences working with this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I am a volunteer in Nicaragua where health supplies are direly needed. As a Global Llinks client for the past 15 years, I am pleased to recall that my many requests for needed donations have always been filled immediately and with great care. The staff is well aware of my particular work and many times will add extra supplies that they feel can be used here. Their personal interest in my work is refreshing and greatly appreciated. Submitted by Donna Tabor, Building New Hope, Nicaragua

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a practical contribution to our operations while at the same time learning about global health inequities; pack boxes of needed medical supplies; clean and prep hospital furnishings for an upcoming shipment; clean and match crutches to send to Haiti; lead a collection for needed supplies at their workplace, school, or place of worship; attend a tour of our facilities to learn more about our mission and operations. Volunteer