Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
292 Reviews
1234.948635
| 1 2 3...28 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Global Links is AWESOME!!!! They worked very closely with us in trying to get a dental clinic set up and stocked in Honduras. They even had a local dentist come in and help us decide what we needed since we are medical, not dental. They are a wonderful source of supplies and assistance for our medical work in Honduras!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow even bigger! So wonderful to see medical equipment recycled to others who desperately need it instead of filling the dumps & landfills!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I initially volunteered with Global Links for its healthcare efforts in developing countries. Since then I have found a whole other side to its mission; i.e. environmental stewardship/sustainability. I have also discovered that the staff are essentially committed to this mission (Sharing Surplus/Saving Lives) and live it. The result? A very well run organization that keeps trying to make itself better (less wasteful, more efficient, more collaborative to name just a few traits). Having spent the better part of my 40 year career in either non-profits or government, I recognize the extreme difficulty of paying attention to and developing such things as governance (structure, risk-management, legality, etc) while also pursing a mission. Global Links does this extremely well from what I can see. Example: Over the last year or so, they have consolidated three facilities into one new location -- with their own staff and volunteers -- while also maintaining the work of the organization. They have their values , as well as their heads and hearts and efforts, in the right place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the donor and volunteer base. They are attempting to fill a vast void with very meager resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I was required to do volunteer hours after an alternative spring break trip with my university. We had initially visited global links for educational purposes, but then I decided I wanted to volunteer there as well. I had a fantastic experience learning about the amazing projects Global Links did across the world and talking with other volunteers. I felt so comfortable around all the volunteers and enjoyed talking and working together. I recommend this to all college students who need volunteer hours because it doesn't even feel like work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change the hours for volunteering, they do not always work with my schedule.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

Global links has greatly helped out my organization for two years. Each year we go on a medical mission trip to Honduras and the donations by Global links have been instrumental in making our brigade a success. All the staff I worked with were incredibly motivated and caring.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Global links is a great non-profit! All of the staff really care about what they're doing and making a difference to the hospitals and communities they work with. As a regular volunteer, I really feel like I'm making a difference too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 23, 2012

I'm a University of Pittsburgh retiree(25 yrs. in international depts.) now residing in NC and make a donation when I can afford it. When I lived in Pittsburgh, I regularly volunteered to sort medica... more

April 13, 2013

Before I retired from the University of Pittsburgh twelve years ago, I helped recruited staff members to join a small group of volunteers on a regular basis to sort medicals supplies. I moved to NC and have kept in touch via newsletters and emails and watched the growth of this remarkable organization. I regularly make a contribution whenever I can to support their continued success. It is amazing how other states have asked for their assistance and advice in setting up such an organization. I have fond memories of my physical support while living in Pittsburgh. L. Butera

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2012

I'm a University of Pittsburgh retiree(25 yrs. in international depts.) now residing in NC and make a donation when I can afford it. When I lived in Pittsburgh, I regularly volunteered to sort medical supplies with a group organized by Pitt. My experience with global links has always been a positive one and I am happy to see that the organization keeps growing and reaching out to meet as manyinternational clinics and hospitals with the medical supplies that are desperately needed. Even though I can't be active as a volunteer, global links keeps me informed of their current needs and progress. I can't think of an originally grass roots Pgh. group that deserves recognition more. Good luck to future successes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

March 10, 2011

Years ago I served as a volunteer with a group from University of Pittsburgh on a monthly basis. Since I am retired and have moved to a different state, I can not serve as a volunteer, but help by making a monetary donation for the suture program.

When I read the stories in the global
link newsletter, I realize the importance of sutures that make surgery possible for unfortunate people. I know that every dollar of my contribution is put toward aid with a very small percentage toward the operation of global links.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

for many years when I worked at the University of Pittsburgh and experienced a dedicated group that ran global links

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

only like to see other hospitals throughout the United States made aware of what a difference can be made in keeping unused medical supplies out of the landfills while aiding clinics in other countries. Global Links is first rate and achieving two goals at one time.

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Global Links is an incredible non-profit. The staff arduously works to strategically send medical supplies directly to medical facilities in Latin America. Their model is ecologically responsible because they work to ensure that useful supplies are not wasted and ensure that they only send supplies that the Latin American medical professionals request.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Every year for the past 30 years I have taken a group of undergraduate students from Notre Dame of Maryland University to learn about socio-economic development and to volunteer their services in San Lucas Toliman, Guatemala. This year, I heard about Global Links and their ability to supply medicines and medical equipment to people on medical and other missions in the developing world. I contacted them, provided them with information about the 65 bed clinic in San Lucas, which is a part of an integral development project started by Father Greg Schaeffer from the Diocese of New Ulm, Minnessota, and within weeks I had the supplies. I really appreciated the immediate response and the lack of bureaucracy of Global Links. Dr. Tum, the cakchiquel doctor, who was trained in Minnessota, couldn't believe that we, as non-medical volunteers had brought sutures, syringes, needles, gloves to his clinic. Payment for services and medications at the San Lucas Clinic is based on need. Since the average income of patients is between $1,000 and $2,000 a year, most services are provided free of charge. It was particularly significant for our group to have brought the medical donations this year, as Father Greg, the creator of the project, had died only a few months earlier.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2012

more

December 6, 2012

In March 2012 I co-led a group of 25 volunteers to the Dominican Republic. In addition to medical clinics we conducted construction projects, children's programs, evangelism and (for the first time) dental services! Every time I've traveled abroad for mission work Global Links has miraculously met our requests for supplies. The year prior we had a request for an X-ray light box and sure enough they found one for us to take!! This past year Global Links provided us nebulizers & supplies. Because of the poor living condition we frequently run into people with breathing problems. Yearly we provide a medical clinic for a local prison. The prisoners sleep on dirt or cement floor with no blankets or mattresses unless provided by family. Many of them have breathing problems that are worsened by their living conditions. Multiple families have benefited this year from the breathing treatments we were able to provide. One prisoner who has chronic asthma received much relief when we showed up with our nebulizer. Thanks to Global Links ongoing support we were able to leave 2 nebulizers with supplies at the prison for use as needed by the inmates. This past year we were able to provide medical services to over 1000 men, women and children over 4 clinic days. Thanks again to our friends from Global Links!! Steel City Mission Group

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I recently traveled to Honduras with a group of 20 other medical personnel to provide care in a rural village. We left with numerous supplies from Global Links including gloves, gauze, lancets to name a few. Global Links was very willing to provide everything we had requested for our trip and gathered our supplies so quickly. We were able to use these supplies as part of our Child Health Initiative to improve preventive care with the children in San Jose El Negrito and surrounding areas. We make these trips twice annually and have enough remaining supplies to help us provide care for our next visit. I really enjoyed working with Global Links as everyone was so friendly and accommodating and hope we can work together for future trips.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a practical contribution to our operations while at the same time learning about global health inequities; pack boxes of needed medical supplies; clean and prep hospital furnishings for an upcoming shipment; clean and match crutches to send to Haiti; lead a collection for needed supplies at their workplace, school, or place of worship; attend a tour of our facilities to learn more about our mission and operations. Volunteer